庆祝人日

周三,22十月,2014 | 11:30 - 1:30

上午11:30社交; 中午12点午餐和演讲者

“董事会妇女:个人,实践和政治思想”

主讲人: 安妮·贾迪尼

西蒙·弗雷泽大学大臣

1929年,五名加拿大妇女 着名五,提倡成功拥有女性申报人。 我们每年十月庆祝他们 人节。 多亏了他们,今天的妇女可以被任命为法官或参议院议员,成为我们大学的校长和校长,并欢迎他们坐在公司,组织和非营利组织的董事会席位。

这样的当今女性是 安妮·贾迪尼,于2014年2008月被任命为SFU的校长。她拥有SFU(经济学)学士学位,UBC的法学学士学位和剑桥大学(三一学堂)的法学硕士学位。 她是现任或过去担任各种董事会的成员,并于2014年至XNUMX年XNUMX月担任Weyerhaeuser Company Limited的总裁。她还获得了法律和企业领导力奖,并且是两本小说的作者。

在2013-14年度,Anne曾在加拿大政府晋升理事会顾问委员会中任职。 来Hycroft聆听她的个人,实践和政治思想,并庆祝她的成就。

门票:午餐会和演讲者

一般$ 45 +税〜UWCV会员$ 36 +税

在线预订 或致电604-731-4661在17月XNUMX日之前注册

(请注意,此活动的地点尚无法进入轮椅。)

该活动由妇女地位和联邦委员会组织

人节海报PDF

A CELEBRATION of PERSONS DAY

Wednesday, 22 October, 2014 | 11:30 – 1:30

11:30 a.m. Social; 12 Noon Luncheon and Speaker

“Women on Boards: Personal, Practical and Political Thoughts”

Speaker: Anne Giardini

Chancellor of Simon Fraser University

In 1929, five Canadian women, known as the Famous Five, advocated successfully to have women declared persons. We celebrate them each October on Persons Day. Thanks to them, women today can be appointed as judges or to the Senate, are made Presidents and Chancellors of our universities and are welcomed to sit at board room tables of our corporations, organizations and non-profits.

One such present-day woman is Anne Giardini, appointed as Chancellor of SFU in June 2014. She holds a BA from SFU (Economics), LLB from UBC, and LLM from Cambridge University (Trinity Hall). She is a current or past member of boards across a wide spectrum and served as President of Weyerhaeuser Company Limited from 2008 to June 2014. She is also the recipient of awards in legal and corporate leadership and is the author of two novels.

In 2013-14, Anne served on the Government of Canada’s Advisory Council for Promoting Women on Boards. Come to Hycroft to hear her personal, practical and political thoughts and to celebrate her achievements.

Admission: Luncheon and Speaker

General $45 + tax ~ UWCV Members $36 +tax

Book Online or phone 604-731-4661 to register by 17 October

(Please note that the location for this event is not yet wheel chair accessible.)

This event is organized by the Status of Women and Federation Committees

Persons Day Poster PDF