مؤتمر "احلمي كنه" الدعم الوظيفي للفتيات

مثّلت آشلي فان دير بو كران ، منسقة برنامج إنفينيتي MS ، SCWIST في مؤتمر "Dream It ، Be It" للدعم الوظيفي للفتيات في مدرسة Panorama Ridge الثانوية في Surrey في 17 نوفمبر 2018. تم تنظيم هذا الحدث من قبل Soroptomist International of Surrey- دلتا.

شاركت أكثر من 100 فتاة حريصة ومتحمسة تتراوح أعمارهن بين 13 و 18 (الصفوف 8-12) تعيش في منطقة ساري أو دلتا في مؤتمر الفتيات السنوي الرابع ، والذي يتكون من منتديات ومعرض وظائف حيث تعلمن عن الأدوات والموارد بحاجة إلى المساعدة في تشكيل حياتهم المهنية في المستقبل.

افتتح كابري إيفريت الحفل وهو يؤدي "نيويورك في ذهني". كابري هي فتاة تبلغ من العمر 14 عامًا وغنت في أكثر من 80 دولة لجمع الأموال والتوعية للأطفال الأيتام ، وتم الاعتراف بها كواحدة من "16 فتاة غيرت العالم" في هافينغتون بوست في هذا الحدث.

في معرض التوظيف ، أتيحت للفتيات فرصة مقابلة نساء محترفات من مجموعة متنوعة من المهن / المهن / الحرف / الرياضة للتحدث عن خياراتهن المهنية ، وكيف وصلن إلى هناك ، والعقبات التي تغلبن عليها ، ونظرة عامة على تعليمهن وحياتهن المهنية رحلة.

اختتم اليوم بكلمة ميشيل كيم ، المؤلفة وعضو جمعية المساعدة القانونية المجتمعية ، التي تركت الفتيات ببعض الكلمات الملهمة ، والتي يمكن تطبيقها على أي شخص يبحث عن مهنة في مجال العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات: `` بغض النظر عما كنت أفعله أو إلى أي مدى أنا غير متأكد كان ، لم أخبر نفسي أبدًا أنني لا أستطيع فعل ذلك.

“Dream It, Be It” Career Support for Girls Conference

Ashley van der Pouw Kraan, ms infinity program coordinator,  represented SCWIST at the “Dream It, Be It” Career Support for Girls Conference at Panorama Ridge Secondary School in Surrey on Nov 17, 2018. The event was organized by Soroptomist International of Surrey-Delta.

Over 100 keen and eager girls between the ages of 13 – 18 (grades 8 – 12) living in the Surrey or Delta area participated in  fourth annual Girls Conference, which consisted of forums and a Career Fair where they learned about the tools and resources they need to help shape their future careers.

The event was opened by Capri Everitt performing ‘New York on my Mind.’ Capri is a 14 year old girl who has sang in over 80 countries to raise money and awareness for orphaned children,  and recognized as one of Huffington Post’s ‘16 Girls Who Changed the World’ at the event.

At the Career Fair, the girls had the opportunity to meet professional women from a variety of careers/occupations/trades/sports to speak about their career choices, how they got there, what obstacles they overcame, and an overview of their education and career journey.

The day closed with a speech by Michelle Kim, Author and Community Legal Assistance Society Member, who left the girls with some inspiring words, that could be applied to anyone looking for a STEM career: ‘No matter what I was doing or how uncertain I was, I never told myself I couldn’t do it.’