“梦想,成为现实”女孩支持职业会议

ms无限计划协调员Ashley van der Pouw Kraan代表SCWIST出席了17年2018月XNUMX日在萨里市Panorama Ridge中学举行的“梦想,成为现实”女孩职业支持大会。三角洲。

居住在萨里或三角洲地区的100多个年龄在13至18岁(8至12年级)的敏锐而热切的女孩参加了第四届年度女孩大会,该论坛由论坛和职业博览会组成,他们从中了解了她们所使用的工具和资源。需要帮助塑造他们的未来职业。

该活动由卡普里·埃弗里特(Capri Everitt)表演“我心中的纽约”开幕。 卡普里(Capri)是一名14岁的女孩,她在80多个国家/地区唱歌,以提高对孤儿的筹款和认识,并在活动中被《赫芬顿邮报》评为“改变世界的16个女孩”之一。

在职业博览会上,女孩们有机会结识来自各种职业/职业/行业/体育的职业女性,谈论她们的职业选择,她们如何到达那里,克服了哪些障碍以及对他们的教育和职业的概述旅程。

当天的闭幕式是作者和社区法律援助协会成员Michelle Kim的演讲,他给女孩们留下了一些鼓舞人心的话,这可能适用于任何寻求STEM职业的人:“无论我在做什么或有多不确定是的,我从来没有告诉自己我做不到。

“Dream It, Be It” Career Support for Girls Conference

Ashley van der Pouw Kraan, ms infinity program coordinator,  represented SCWIST at the “Dream It, Be It” Career Support for Girls Conference at Panorama Ridge Secondary School in Surrey on Nov 17, 2018. The event was organized by Soroptomist International of Surrey-Delta.

Over 100 keen and eager girls between the ages of 13 – 18 (grades 8 – 12) living in the Surrey or Delta area participated in  fourth annual Girls Conference, which consisted of forums and a Career Fair where they learned about the tools and resources they need to help shape their future careers.

The event was opened by Capri Everitt performing ‘New York on my Mind.’ Capri is a 14 year old girl who has sang in over 80 countries to raise money and awareness for orphaned children,  and recognized as one of Huffington Post’s ‘16 Girls Who Changed the World’ at the event.

At the Career Fair, the girls had the opportunity to meet professional women from a variety of careers/occupations/trades/sports to speak about their career choices, how they got there, what obstacles they overcame, and an overview of their education and career journey.

The day closed with a speech by Michelle Kim, Author and Community Legal Assistance Society Member, who left the girls with some inspiring words, that could be applied to anyone looking for a STEM career: ‘No matter what I was doing or how uncertain I was, I never told myself I couldn’t do it.’