活动回顾:加拿大的替代卫生职业

24年2014月XNUMX日,IWIS与Back in Motion和西蒙弗雷泽大学(Simon Fraser University)在SFU萨里校区合作组织了一次活动。 虽然席位在一天前全部售完,但当天仍有很多感兴趣的观众到场,并且座无虚席的是研究生,新移民和有兴趣的参与者,他们希望了解有关卫生部门现有职业的更多信息。

据统计,在移民加拿大之后,只有10%的卫生专业人员从本国恢复工作。 这些专业人士中有30%完全忘记了他们的职业,而60%的人在这个领域寻找替代品时费劲。 来自学术界和工业界各个领域的九位发言人组成的小组进行了演讲,分享了成功的故事,并就加拿大现有的巨大替代方案向观众进行了指导。 小组成员包括以下发言人和主题:

Beedie商学院的Sarah Lubik博士和SFU机电系统工程系的Carolyn Sparrey博士分享了有关创新大道的深刻见解,该大道是由研究所,研究人员,大学,公司和有才华的人士组成的网络他们致力于改善患者的医疗保健结果,倾向于为医疗保健系统实施智能解决方案,并专注于医疗保健技术和服务领域的成长型公司。 然后,Lubik博士和Sparrey博士阐明了创新大道志愿服务的机会,面向商业初学者的各种计划以及感兴趣的专业人员的其他现有机会。

项目管理和获得PMP认证是卫生科学专业人士的另一种选择,目的是获得改善患者医疗服务的技能。 PMP路径及其要求由高级顾问兼项目经理Edoye Porbeni讨论。 阿波罗医疗保健项目管理 公司。

Health Match BC的高级顾问Gordon MacDonald谈到了护士和其他医疗保健专业人员可以使用的指导机会,并提出了多种选择以便利在BC省招聘相关的医疗保健专业人员。 同样,省卫生服务厅人才获取顾问卡罗尔·杰夫斯(Carol Jeffs)介绍了有关卑诗省精神卫生和物质使用服务的信息,该机构是向全省人民提供一对一精神卫生服务的机构。 该机构希望扩大其社区合作伙伴的网络,作为支持服务提供商的资源。 基思·约翰逊(Keith Johnson)是来自多伦多的另一位演讲者,他是独立项目经理和研究员。 Keith讨论了可供具有国际资格证书的专业人员进行评估的方案,这些方案应与监管机构,学院,大学,行业委员会以及各级政府建立联系。

在这个有趣且互动的小组讨论的最后部分,三位演讲者分享了他们获得加拿大学位并扩展加拿大网络的成功故事,并建议听众对可以为他们提供加拿大经验的选择持开放态度,这是适合加拿大就业市场的三大支柱。 该部分的嘉宾是Soudabeh Joolaee博士-伊朗医学大学副教授-现为不列颠哥伦比亚大学的客座研究员Bamdad Bahrani,Nurse Next Door的计算机工程师和数据分析师,以及Manit Patel an企业家,在观众心中闪耀着光芒,思考着如何开展自己的事业。

经过三个半小时的不间断演示和问答,结束了听众的热情交流,精彩的演讲者对问题提出了“充满希望”的答案。

 

热情的听众-Edoye在谈论PMP认证

热情的听众-Edoye在谈论PMP认证

演讲者以及IWIS出色的志愿者。 从右到左:(站立)Gordon Macdonald,Sarah Lubik博士,Carolyn Sparrey博士,Calor Jeffs,Edoye Porbeni博士,Soudabeh Joolaee,Bamdad Bahrani(坐在):Manit Patel,Olga Zamudio(IWIS志愿者),Rachel Nelson(西蒙·弗雷泽大学社区关系与参与协调员,芝拉·皮尔莫拉迪(IWIS志愿者),萨曼妮·卡克斯豪(Samaneh Khakshour)(IWIS志愿者)。

演讲者以及IWIS出色的志愿者。 从右到左:(站立)Gordon Macdonald,Sarah Lubik博士,Carolyn Sparrey博士,Calor Jeffs,Edoye Porbeni博士,Soudabeh Joolaee,Bamdad Bahrani(坐在):Manit Patel,Olga Zamudio(IWIS志愿者),Rachel Nelson(西蒙·弗雷泽大学社区关系与参与协调员,芝拉·皮尔莫拉迪(IWIS志愿者),萨曼妮·卡克斯豪(Samaneh Khakshour)(IWIS志愿者)。

经过3.5个小时的小组讨论,无休止的热情

经过3.5个小时的小组讨论,无休止的热情

渴望与会的参与者正在与演讲者进行社交和交流

渴望与会的参与者正在与演讲者进行社交和交流

Bamdad Bahrani分享成功故事

Bamdad Bahrani分享成功故事

戈登·麦克唐纳(Gordon MacDonald)演讲期间的发言人小组

戈登·麦克唐纳(Gordon MacDonald)演讲期间的发言人小组

热情的听众-Edoye在谈论PMP认证

热情的听众-Edoye在谈论PMP认证

撰写者:Zhila Pirmoradi

照片来源:Samaneh Khakshour和Zhila Primoradi

Event Recap: Alternate Health Careers in Canada

On September 24th, 2014, IWIS organized an event in partnership with Back in Motion, and Simon Fraser University at the Surrey campus of SFU. While the seats were all sold out a day before, still many interested audience showed up at the day and the venue was packed up by graduate students, newcomers, and interested attendees who were looking to find more about careers available in Health sector.

According to the statistics, only 10 percent of the professionals in the health sector resume their job from their home country after immigrating to Canada. 30 percent of these professionals completely forget about their profession, and 60 percent struggle looking for alternatives in this sector. A panel of nine speakers from various areas of academia and industry gave presentations, shared success stories, and guided the audience on the enormous alternatives existing for them in Canada. The panel included the following speakers and subjects:

Dr. Sarah Lubik from the Beedie School of Business, and Dr. Carolyn Sparrey from the Mechatronic Systems Engineering Dept. of SFU shared insightful hints about the Innovation Boulevard, which is a network of institutes, researchers, universities, companies, and the talented individuals who aim at improving the health care outcomes for patients, tend to implement intelligent solutions for the health care system, and focus on growing companies in health care technology and services sectors. Dr. Lubik and Dr. Sparrey then shed light on the opportunities for volunteering with the Innovation Boulevard, the various programs for business starters, as well as other existing opportunities for the interested professionals.

Project management and pursuing a PMP certification is the other alternative for the health sciences professionals, in order to attain the skills to improve health services for the patients. PMP path and its requirements were discussed by Edoye Porbeni, senior consultant and project manager at Apollo Healthcare Project Management Firm.

Gordon MacDonald, a senior consultant at Health Match BC talked about the mentorship opportunities available for the nurses and other healthcare professionals, and presented a variety of options to facilitate recruitment of allied health professionals in BC. Similarly, Carol Jeffs, Advisor at Talent Acquisition at Provincial Health Services presented information about the BC mental Health and Substance Use Services, which is an authority to provide one-on-one mental health services to the people across the province. This agency looks for growing the network of its community partners as resources to support the service providers. Keith Johnson was another speaker coming from Toronto, who is as an independent project manager and researcher. Keith talked about options available for professionals with international credentials to be assessed and be connected to the regulatory bodies, colleges, universities, sector councils as well as all levels of government.

At the final section of this interesting and interactive panel discussion, three of the speakers shared their stories of success to attain Canadian degree and expand their Canadian network, as well as suggesting the audience to be open to options that provide them with the Canadian experience, which are the three pillars of fitting into the Canadian job market. The panelists of this section were Dr. Soudabeh Joolaee- Associate professor in Iran University of Medical Sciences- now visiting researcher at the University of British Columbia, Bamdad Bahrani, a computer engineer and a data analyst at the Nurse Next Door, and Manit Patel an entrepreneur, who lit sparkles in the audience mind to think of ways to start their own business.

Three and half hours of incessant presentation and Q & A ended with enthusiastic networking of the audience and the “full of hope” answers to their questions by the fantastic speakers.

 

Enthusiastic audience- Edoye is talking about PMP certification

Enthusiastic audience- Edoye is talking about PMP certification

The speakers along with the fantastic volunteers of IWIS. From right to left: (Standing) Gordon Macdonald, Dr. Sarah Lubik, Dr. Carolyn Sparrey, Calor Jeffs, Edoye Porbeni, Soudabeh Joolaee, Bamdad Bahrani, (Sitting): Manit Patel, Olga Zamudio (IWIS Volunteer), Rachel Nelson (Community Relations & Engagement Coordinator, Simon Fraser University), Zhila Pirmoradi (IWIS Volunteer), Samaneh Khakshour (IWIS Volunteer).

The speakers along with the fantastic volunteers of IWIS. From right to left: (Standing) Gordon Macdonald, Dr. Sarah Lubik, Dr. Carolyn Sparrey, Calor Jeffs, Edoye Porbeni, Soudabeh Joolaee, Bamdad Bahrani, (Sitting): Manit Patel, Olga Zamudio (IWIS Volunteer), Rachel Nelson (Community Relations & Engagement Coordinator, Simon Fraser University), Zhila Pirmoradi (IWIS Volunteer), Samaneh Khakshour (IWIS Volunteer).

Endless enthusiasm after 3.5 hours of panel discussion

Endless enthusiasm after 3.5 hours of panel discussion

Eager attendees are socializing and networking with the speakers

Eager attendees are socializing and networking with the speakers

The success stories being shared by Bamdad Bahrani

The success stories being shared by Bamdad Bahrani

The panel of speakers, during Gordon MacDonald’s presentation

The panel of speakers, during Gordon MacDonald’s presentation

Enthusiastic audience- Edoye is talking about PMP certification

Enthusiastic audience- Edoye is talking about PMP certification

Written By: Zhila Pirmoradi

Photo Credit: Samaneh Khakshour and Zhila Primoradi