活动回顾:5月XNUMX日,不列颠哥伦比亚大学棕色袋–使成为可能

SCWIST棕色袋午餐系列

UBC棕色袋午餐系列:使指导网络研讨会成为可能

活动日期: March 5, 2015

主讲人: 谢丽尔·克里斯蒂安森和格温·纳兹多斯基

SCWIST已启动其 建立可能的指导网络是加拿大政府提高妇女地位倡议的一部分,旨在提高妇女的科学技术水平。 为了介绍这种指导网络,UBC布朗袋午餐系列于5月XNUMX日举办了一次会议, 2015年,使成为可能的项目协调员, 谢丽尔·克里斯蒂安森(Cheryl Kristiansen)演示了如何通过STEM中的专用指导网络进行连接,协作和领导。 作为该计划的一部分, 格温·纳兹多斯基一次对话 进行了动手指导讲习班,并促进了交互式小组讨论,从而创建了支持性的学习环境,并在与会者之间建立了信心和协作感。

使可能的徽标谢丽尔·克里斯蒂安森(Cheryl Kristiansen)通过在辅导网络上作简短介绍开始了会议。 她描述了使用约XNUMX名从事STEM工作的女性的调查结果以及她们确定的指导需求来构建指导网络原型的过程。 后来,该工具在各个车间进行了测试。 成为可能的指导网络是一个平台,可以解决在STEM工作的女性经常面临的这些已识别挑战中的几个,并提供了联系,协作和共同领导的机会。

一次对话在会议的后半部分,来自一次对话的Gwen Gnazdowsky谈到了指导的意义以及成功的导师与受助者之间的关系。 交互式讲习班的一部分是进行小组介绍,鼓励所有参与者做一分钟的介绍,陈述他们的姓名,工作以及对导师和学员的期望。 在小组介绍的最后,每个人都简短地了解了自己的身份以及参加会议的目标。 这帮助他们在当时和那里确定了潜在的合作。 后来,与会者被分成三个人组成的较小的小组,以练习网络杀人活动并建立关系。 两位发言者都强调,指导是一条双向的街道,建立在指导者和受指导者之间的信任关系之上。 双方可以通过真诚,开放和诚实相处来最大化机会。 与导师自由沟通,分享想法和疑虑可以建立成功的协作,这种协作可以持续到指导网络计划之外。

演讲者背景:

SCWIST的Cheryl Kristiansen 在项目管理,工程创新和STEM的领先变革方面拥有丰富的专业知识。 她拥有机械工程学位,在替代燃料技术领域的动手工程经验以及在石油和天然气领域的高级领导经验。 作为米切尔·奥德赛基金会(Mitchell Odyssey Foundation)的董事总经理,谢丽尔(Cheryl)通过创新计划开发了有效的奥德赛网络,为整个不列颠哥伦比亚省的学校提供​​支持,这些计划激励并激发高中学生从事STEM的职业。 使成为可能的计划与SCWIST的目标高度吻合,以在科学,工程和技术领域赋予妇女和女孩权力。 它还利用独特的SCWIST计划,例如IWIS –科学技术中的女性移民–以及MS Infinity计划,该计划向女孩介绍令人兴奋的职业选择和积极的女性榜样。 www.scwist.ca

ONE会话辅导与促进的Gwen Gnazdowsky 在过去25年中,我们一直在帮助人们实现个人,专业和人际关系目标–一次对话! 她是国家领导计划的开发者和领导妇女基金会的协调员。 Gwen最近为TEDxBCIT进行了一场关于“幸福是范式转变”的Ted演讲,并为BCIT护士举办了自信研讨会。 她在兰加拉学院和温哥华教育局教授传播和公共演讲课程。 Gwen为YWCA的指导计划,UBC人类学学生,SCWIST,克罗夫顿豪斯学校,温哥华亚洲传统学会,电影和电视女性,人力资源管理协会,注册管理会计师协会和基斯兰奴商会发表了主题演讲和讲习班,很少。 Gwen致力于帮助人们实现生活中想要的东西。 www.oneconversation.com

Event Recap: Brown Bag UBC Mar 5 – Make Possible

SCWIST Brown Bag Lunch Series

UBC Brown Bag Lunch Series: Make Possible Mentoring Network Workshop

Date of Event: March 5, 2015

Speakers: Cheryl Kristiansen and Gwen Gnazdowsky

SCWIST has launched its Make Possible Mentoring Network, part of the Government of Canada’s Status of Women Initiative to advance women in science and technology. To introduce this mentoring network, UBC Brown Bag Lunch Series organized a session on March 5, 2015 where Make Possible Project Coordinator, Cheryl Kristiansen, demonstrated how to connect, collaborate and lead through a dedicated mentoring network in STEM. As part of this program, Gwen Gnazdowsky from One Conversation delivered a hands-on mentoring workshop and facilitated an interactive group discussion that created a supportive learning environment, and built a sense of confidence and collaboration among the attendees.

Make Possible logoCheryl Kristiansen started the session by giving a short presentation on the mentoring network. She described the process of building a mentoring network prototype using about two hundred survey results of women working in STEM and the mentoring needs that they identified. The tool was later tested in various workshops. Make Possible Mentoring Network is a platform that addresses few of these identified challenges that women working in STEM often face and provides an opportunity to connect, collaborate and to lead together.

One ConversationLater part of the session, Gwen Gnazdowsky from One Conversation talked about what mentoring means and how a successful mentor-mentee relationship looks like. Part of the interactive workshop was having a group introduction where all the attendees were encouraged to give one-minute introduction stating their names, their work, and their expectations of mentors and mentees. At the end of the group introduction, everyone got to know briefly about who they were and what their goals were for attending the session. This helped them identify potential collaborations right then and there. The attendees were later grouped into smaller teams of three people to practice their networking kills and to establish relationships. Both speakers emphasized that mentoring is a two way street that is built upon a trusted relationship between a mentor and a mentee. Both parties can maximize the opportunity by being sincere, open and honest with each other. Communicating freely with ones mentor, sharing thoughts and concerns can build a successful collaboration that can last beyond the mentoring network program.

Background of Presenters:

Cheryl Kristiansen from SCWIST brings diverse expertise in project management, engineering innovation and leading transformative change in STEM.  She has a degree in Mechanical Engineering, hands-on engineering experience in the alternate fuels technology sector and senior leadership experience in the oil and gas sector.  As Managing Director of the Mitchell Odyssey Foundation, Cheryl developed an effective network of Odyssey supported schools across BC with innovative programs that motivate and inspire high school students to pursue careers in STEM.   The Make Possible Program is well aligned with SCWIST goals to empower women and girls in science, engineering and technology.  It also leverages unique SCWIST programs like IWIS – Immigrating Women in Science and Technology – and the MS Infinity Program that introduces girls to exciting career options and positive female role models in science and technology.   www.scwist.ca

Gwen Gnazdowsky of ONE Conversation Coaching & Facilitation has been helping people achieve personal, professional and relationship goals for over 25 years – One Conversation at a Time!  She is the National Mentorship Program Developer and Coordinator with the Women in Leadership Foundation.  Gwen recently delivered a Ted Talk on “Happiness is a Paradigm Shift” for TEDxBCIT and an Assertiveness Workshop for BCIT Nurses.  She teaches Communication and Public Speaking Courses at Langara College and Vancouver School Board.  Gwen has delivered keynotes and workshops for YWCA’s Mentoring Programs, UBC Anthropology Students, SCWIST, Crofton House School, Vancouver Asian Heritage Society, Women in Film & Television, Human Resources Management Association, Certified Management Accountant Association and Kitsilano Chamber of Commerce, to name a few.  Gwen is committed to helping people achieve what they want in life. www.oneconversation.com