ملخص الحدث: "الوقاية من السرطان: ليست مجرد جيناتك"

في 3 أبريل 2014 ، استضاف IWIS ثالث مقهى ساينتيفيك لمناقشة عوامل الخطر والاستراتيجيات الوقائية للسرطان.

كان المتحدث الأول لدينا هو الدكتورة كارولين جوتاي ، وهي أستاذة في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية ورئيسة جمعية السرطان الكندية في الوقاية الأولية من السرطان. شاركت حقائق مهمة تتعلق بانتشار السرطان وحدوثه في كندا ، وقارنت المعدلات بين المقاطعات. على الرغم من حقيقة أنه يتم تشخيص المزيد من الأشخاص ، إلا أن هناك المزيد من الناجين من السرطان اليوم. واصلت التعليق على اقتباس من المراجعة السنوية للصحة العامة نُشر عام 2013. في كندا والولايات المتحدة ، 60٪ من الحالات يمكن الوقاية منها ، وفقط 5 إلى 10٪ من السرطانات ترجع إلى الجينات الموروثة. تشمل عوامل الخطر المحتملة ما يلي: التبغ ، والكحول ، والإشعاع المؤين ، والإشعاع الشمسي ، والمهنة ، والعوامل المعدية ، وزيادة كتلة الجسم ، والخمول البدني. وأشار الدكتور جوتاي إلى أن الإقلاع عن التدخين قد تحسن في كندا ، إلا أن أداء بعض المقاطعات أفضل من غيرها. على سبيل المثال ، كان في كولومبيا البريطانية أقل معدل لتعاطي التبغ بينما كانت الأقاليم و Maritimes من بين أعلى المعدلات. أخيرًا ، ناقش الدكتور جوتاي أهداف التعاون بين جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية وجمعية السرطان الكندية ، والتي تشمل تعزيز الروابط بين الباحثين ومقدمي الخدمات وصانعي السياسات ، وترجمة نتائج الأبحاث ، وزيادة القدرة البحثية للوقاية من السرطان ، وزيادة أنشطة أبحاث الوقاية من السرطان.

الدكتور جون سبينيلي ، أستاذ في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية ورئيس قسم في أبحاث مكافحة السرطان ، مركز أبحاث السرطان في كولومبيا البريطانية. بدأ د. سبينيللي عرضه بمعلومات تتعلق بأهمية البيئة في التسبب في السرطان ، مشيراً إلى أن 40-60٪ من حالات السرطان تفسر بأسباب معروفة. وناقش قائمة بالعوامل المسببة للسرطان والتي تضمنت عناصر مثل: الكحول ، وإنتاج الألمنيوم ، والزرنيخ ، والأسبست ، والبنزين ، والفورمالديهايد ، وفيروسات التهاب الكبد B و C ، و Helicobacter pylori ، وفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية ، وفيروس الورم الحليمي البشري. قدم الدكتور سبينيللي لمحة عامة عن تفاعل علم الوراثة والبيئة والنظام الغذائي ونمط الحياة ودور هذه التفاعلات في التسبب في السرطان. وأخيراً ، أوضح عن مشروع الشراكة الكندية من أجل الغد الذي يركز على العوامل المتعلقة بمخاطر الأمراض ، مثل البيئة ونمط الحياة والوراثة ، ومن المتوقع دراسة جميع السرطانات والأمراض المزمنة.

المشرف على هذا الحدث كان أرتيم بابيان وهو طالب دراسات عليا تحت إشراف الدكتور ديكسي ماجرز في مختبر تيري فوكس الواقع في مركز أبحاث السرطان في كولومبيا البريطانية. يركز بحث أرتيم على "الحمض النووي غير المرغوب فيه" في الجينوم البشري وكيفية استخدامه في تطور جينات جديدة.

نود أن ننتهز هذه الفرصة لنشكر المتحدثين والمشرف والمتطوعين لدينا. شكراً لكم جميعاً على المشاركة في هذه المناقشة المثيرة والمثيرة. نتطلع إلى رؤيتكم جميعًا في مقهى ساينتيفك القادم في 8 مايو. سيكون موضوع هذا الحدث "سرطان الثدي والمبيض - ليس مرضا لكبار السن فقط". سيتم فتح التسجيل قريبا. ترقبوا حجز مساحتك !.

بقلم: بلانكا رودريغ
حرره: بام Arstikaitis

2014-04-03 19.17.39 (2)

أتيحت الفرصة للحاضرين للتفاعل مع المتحدثين والحصول على معلومات قيمة حول الوقاية من السرطان.

2014-04-03 19.07.04 (2)

ناقش الدكتور سبينيلي العوامل البيئية التي ثبت أنها مهمة تجاه السرطان.

2014-04-03 18.34.09

شرح الدكتور جوتاي عوامل الخطر والتركيبة السكانية للسرطان في كندا.

IMG_1806

(من اليسار إلى اليمين) Samaneh Khakshour (متطوعة IWIS) ، زيلا بيرمورادي (متطوعة IWIS) ، الدكتور جون سبينيلي (المتحدث ، أستاذ ، كلية السكان والصحة العامة ، جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية) ، أرتيم بابيان (مشرف ، مرشح دكتوراه ، مركز أبحاث السرطان في كولومبيا البريطانية ) ، الدكتورة كارولين جوتاي (أستاذة ، كلية السكان والصحة العامة ، جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية) ، بلانكا رودريغيز (متطوعة في IWIS)

Event Recap: “Cancer Prevention: It’s Not Just Your Genes”

On April 3 2014, IWIS hosted the third Cafe Scientifique to discuss the risks factors and preventive strategies of cancer.

Our first speaker was Dr. Carolyn Gotay, who is a Professor at UBC and Canadian Cancer Society Chair in Cancer Primary Prevention. She shared important facts related to cancer prevalence and incidence in Canada, comparing rates among provinces. Despite the fact that more people are being diagnosed, there are more cancer survivors today. She went on to  comment on a citation from the Annual Review of Public Health published in 2013. In Canada and US, 60% of cases are potentially preventable, and only 5 to 10% of cancers are due to inherited genes. The potential risk factors include: tobacco, alcohol, Ionizing radiation, solar radiation, occupation, infectious agents, excess body mass and physical inactivity.  Dr. Gotay pointed out that smoking cessation has improved in Canada, however, some provinces are doing better than others. For example, British Columbia had the lowest rate of tobacco use whereas the Territories and Maritimes were amongst the highest. Finally, Dr. Gotay discussed the aims of the UBC and Canadian Cancer Society collaboration, which includes promoting connections between researchers, providers, and policy makers, translating research findings, increasing cancer prevention research capacity, and increasing cancer prevention research activities.

Dr. John Spinelli, is a Professor at UBC and Department Head at Cancer Control Research, BC Cancer Research Centre. Dr. Spinelli began his presentation with information regarding the importance of the environment in cancer causation, pointing out that 40-60% of cancer cases are explained by known causes. He discussed a list of carcinogenic agents which included such items as: alcohol, aluminum production, arsenic, asbestos, benzene, formaldehyde, and Hepatitis B and C viruses, Helicobacter pylori, HIV and Human papilloma Virus. Dr Spinelli presented an overview of the interaction of genetics, environment, diet and lifestyle, and the role of these interactions on cancer pathogenesis. Finally, he explained about the Canadian Partnership for Tomorrow Project which focuses on the factors related to disease risk, such as environment, lifestyle and genetics, and it’s expected to study all cancers and chronic diseases.

Our moderator for this event was Artem Babaian and he’s a graduate student under the supervision of Dr. Dixie Mager’s in the Terry Fox Laboratory located in the BC Cancer Research Center. Artem’s research focuses on “junk DNA” in the human genome and how it is used in the evolution of new genes.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank our speakers, moderator and volunteers. Thank you everyone for participating in this stimulating and exciting discussion. We look forward to seeing you all at  our next Cafe Scientifque on May 8. The topic of this event will be “Breast and Ovarian Cancer – Not Only a Disease for Older Women“. Registration will open soon. Stay tuned to reserve your space!.

Written by: Blanca Rodrigue
Edited by: Pam Arstikaitis

2014-04-03 19.17.39 (2)

Attendees had the opportunity to interact with speakers, and receive valuable information on cancer prevention.

2014-04-03 19.07.04 (2)

Dr. Spinelli discussed the environmental factors that are shown to be important toward cancer.

2014-04-03 18.34.09

Dr. Gotay explained the risk factors and demographics of cancer in Canada.

IMG_1806

(L to R) Samaneh Khakshour (IWIS volunteer), Zhila Pirmoradi (IWIS volunteer), Dr. John Spinelli (Speaker, Professor, School of Population & Public Health, UBC), Artem Babaian (Moderator, PhD Candidate, BC Cancer Research Centre), Dr. Carolyn Gotay (Professor, School of Population & Public Health, UBC), Blanca Rodriguez (IWIS volunteer)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *