活动回顾:2015年新年–新起点派对

2015年新年新起点派对

新年新起点派对

活动日期:27年2015月XNUMX日

SCWIST连续第四年在温哥华大学妇女俱乐部举办“新年–新起点聚会”。 这次活动不仅与新的开始有关,而且与往年的精彩作品的庆祝和延续有关。 最重要的是,这是要提醒我们,自1981年以来,SCWIST已有大量专业,敬业和敬业的妇女建立了支持,成长和伙伴关系网络。

雅致的爱德华七世时代的豪宅(The Hycroft)是活动的愉快地点,拥有宁静的环境和优雅的内饰,是举行特殊活动的理想场所。 与会者有机会在享受一些美味零食的同时进行交流和社交。

晚上的正式议程从SCWIST主席对2014年实现的里程碑的概述开始,包括当年举行的活动,将Brown Bag系列扩展到SFU – Burnaby校园,成功举办了许多研讨会和研讨会系列(过渡工具) ),最令人兴奋的是,SCWIST的邀请出现在 下议院 去年XNUMX月解决了STEM中的性别差距以及缩小差距所需采取的行动。

SCWIST为缩小这一差距并提高妇女在STEM中的地位而采取的一项举措是, 建立可能的指导网络由加拿大政府妇女地位基金资助。 与SCWIST社区合作,“使成为可能”已建立了一个超时尚,用户友好的在线平台,可根据各自提供和想要的技能,促进导师和受训者之间的联系。 自“可能的指导网络”启动以来,已有180多名成员,提供了超过1271种指导技能,迄今为止,该网络上进行了121场对话。 想加入? 注册 今天,它是免费的。

夜晚接近尾声时,更多的人重新连接并建立新的连接,并确定今年将充满挑战,机遇和增长。

 

活动由SCWIST活动委员会组织和领导。 活动照片发布在SCWIST Facebook页面上。

由SCWIST活动委员会的Olga Zamudio Prieto和Vladimirka Pereula撰写

郑秀文编辑

Event Recap: 2015 New Year – New Beginnings Party

New Year New Beginnings Party 2015

New Year New Beginnings Party

Date of Event: January 27, 2015

For the fourth year in a row, SCWIST held their New Year – New Beginnings Party at the University Women’s Club of Vancouver. This event was not only about the new beginnings, it was also about celebration and continuation of the wonderful work from previous years. Most importantly, it was about reminding us that an overwhelming number of professional, committed and engaged women have been building a network of support, growth, and partnerships at SCWIST since 1981.

The gracious Edwardian mansion (The Hycroft) was the delightful site of the event, with peaceful surroundings and classy interior, just a perfect venue for the especial occasion. Attendees had the opportunity to mingle and network while enjoying some delicious treats.

Official Agenda for the evening started with SCWIST President’s overview of the milestones reached in 2014, including the events held during the year, the expansion of the Brown Bag series to SFU – Burnaby Campus, the success of numerous workshops and workshop series (Tools for Transitions), and most exciting of all, the invitation for SCWIST to appear in the House of Commons last November to address gender gaps in STEM and the actions needed to narrow the gaps.

An initiative that SCWIST has undertaken to narrow this gap and to advance women in STEM was the development of the Make Possible Mentoring Network, funded by the Government of Canada’s Status of Women. Working with the SCWIST community, Make Possible has built an ultra-sleek, user-friendly online platform to facilitate the connections between mentors and mentees based on the skills each have to offer and want.  Since the launch of the Make Possible Mentoring Network, there are more than 180 members, with over 1271 skills offered for mentoring, and 121 conversations took place on the network to date. Want to join? Sign up today, it’s free.

The night approached its end with more mingling to reconnect and build new connections, and the certainty that this year will be full of challenges, opportunities and growth.

 

Event was organized and led by the SCWIST Events Committee. Photos from the event are posted on SCWIST Facebook page.

Written by Olga Zamudio Prieto and Vladimirka Pereula, SCWIST Events Committee

Edited by Christiana Cheng