حدث خلاصة: 2015 السنة الجديدة - حزب البدايات الجديدة

حفلة البدايات الجديدة للعام الجديد 2015

حفلة بدايات العام الجديد

تاريخ الحدث: 27 يناير 2015

للسنة الرابعة على التوالي ، أقام مؤتمر SCWIST العام الجديد - حفل البدايات الجديدة في نادي النساء بجامعة فانكوفر. لم يكن هذا الحدث متعلقًا بالبدايات الجديدة فحسب ، بل كان أيضًا يتعلق بالاحتفال واستمرار العمل الرائع من السنوات السابقة. والأهم من ذلك ، كان الأمر يتعلق بتذكيرنا بأن عددًا هائلاً من النساء المحترفات والملتزمات والمشاركات يقمن ببناء شبكة من الدعم والنمو والشراكات في SCWIST منذ عام 1981.

كان القصر الإدواردي الرائع (The Hycroft) موقعًا رائعًا للحدث ، مع محيط هادئ وتصميم داخلي أنيق ، وهو مكان مثالي للمناسبة الخاصة. أتيحت الفرصة للحاضرين للاختلاط والتواصل أثناء الاستمتاع ببعض الأطباق اللذيذة.

بدأت الأجندة الرسمية للأمسية بنظرة عامة من رئيس SCWIST حول المعالم التي تم الوصول إليها في عام 2014 ، بما في ذلك الأحداث التي عقدت خلال العام ، وتوسيع سلسلة Brown Bag إلى SFU - Burnaby Campus ، ونجاح العديد من ورش العمل وسلسلة ورش العمل (Tools for Transitions ) ، والأكثر إثارة من ذلك كله ، دعوة SCWIST للظهور في ملف مجلس العموم نوفمبر الماضي لمعالجة الفجوات بين الجنسين في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات والإجراءات اللازمة لتضييق الفجوات.

كانت إحدى المبادرات التي اتخذها SCWIST لتضييق هذه الفجوة والنهوض بالمرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات هي تطوير اجعل شبكة التوجيه ممكنةبتمويل من الحكومة الكندية لوضع المرأة. من خلال العمل مع مجتمع SCWIST ، قامت Make Possible ببناء منصة على الإنترنت فائقة النعومة وسهلة الاستخدام لتسهيل الاتصالات بين الموجهين والمتدربين بناءً على المهارات التي يجب أن يقدمها كل منهم ويريده. منذ إطلاق "Make Possible Mentoring Network" ، هناك أكثر من 180 عضوًا ، مع أكثر من 1271 مهارة معروضة للتوجيه ، و 121 محادثة جرت على الشبكة حتى الآن. تريد الانضمام؟ اشتراك اليوم ، إنه مجاني.

اقتربت الليلة من نهايتها بمزيد من الاختلاط لإعادة الاتصال وبناء روابط جديدة ، والتأكد من أن هذا العام سيكون مليئًا بالتحديات والفرص والنمو.

 

تم تنظيم وقيادة الحدث من قبل لجنة أحداث SCWIST. يتم نشر الصور من الحدث على صفحة الفيسبوك SCWIST.

بقلم أولغا زاموديو برييتو وفلاديميركا بيريولا ، لجنة أحداث SCWIST

حرره كريستيانا تشنغ

Event Recap: 2015 New Year – New Beginnings Party

New Year New Beginnings Party 2015

New Year New Beginnings Party

Date of Event: January 27, 2015

For the fourth year in a row, SCWIST held their New Year – New Beginnings Party at the University Women’s Club of Vancouver. This event was not only about the new beginnings, it was also about celebration and continuation of the wonderful work from previous years. Most importantly, it was about reminding us that an overwhelming number of professional, committed and engaged women have been building a network of support, growth, and partnerships at SCWIST since 1981.

The gracious Edwardian mansion (The Hycroft) was the delightful site of the event, with peaceful surroundings and classy interior, just a perfect venue for the especial occasion. Attendees had the opportunity to mingle and network while enjoying some delicious treats.

Official Agenda for the evening started with SCWIST President’s overview of the milestones reached in 2014, including the events held during the year, the expansion of the Brown Bag series to SFU – Burnaby Campus, the success of numerous workshops and workshop series (Tools for Transitions), and most exciting of all, the invitation for SCWIST to appear in the House of Commons last November to address gender gaps in STEM and the actions needed to narrow the gaps.

An initiative that SCWIST has undertaken to narrow this gap and to advance women in STEM was the development of the Make Possible Mentoring Network, funded by the Government of Canada’s Status of Women. Working with the SCWIST community, Make Possible has built an ultra-sleek, user-friendly online platform to facilitate the connections between mentors and mentees based on the skills each have to offer and want.  Since the launch of the Make Possible Mentoring Network, there are more than 180 members, with over 1271 skills offered for mentoring, and 121 conversations took place on the network to date. Want to join? Sign up today, it’s free.

The night approached its end with more mingling to reconnect and build new connections, and the certainty that this year will be full of challenges, opportunities and growth.

 

Event was organized and led by the SCWIST Events Committee. Photos from the event are posted on SCWIST Facebook page.

Written by Olga Zamudio Prieto and Vladimirka Pereula, SCWIST Events Committee

Edited by Christiana Cheng