活动回顾:2015年XX晚

xxheader020514

XX晚2015回顾

活动日期:3年2015月XNUMX日

加拿大科学技术妇女协会与TELUS科学世界的科学世界合作,共同举办了年度XX晚会联谊活动。 从未参加过我自己,我也不知道会发生什么。 晚上充满乐趣,精力充沛! 与我交谈的每个人都说他们度过了愉快的时光,很高兴他们来了……我也是! XX晚会为年轻女性提供了与在STEM(科学,技术,工程和数学)工作的成功女性见面的机会,并了解他们的职业和经验。 这些荣誉的客人被称为神奇女侠。

今年的活动创纪录地吸引了约200名女性参加,其中包括35多名神奇女侠,170名嘉宾,SCWIST董事会,科学世界的员工,SCWIST志愿者以及我们最小的参与者–一个3个月大的女婴以及STEM中的未来女性! 当天晚上简要介绍了《神奇女侠》,她们的各种职业包括土木工程,软件开发,环境科学,生物医学视觉传达以及独立顾问和企业主。 由仪式主持人桑迪·埃克斯(Sandy Eix)主持的小组讨论包括杰奎琳·休德(Jacqueline Huard),玛乔莉·罗宾斯(Marjorie Robbins),安娜·斯托卡斯(Anna Stukas)和波黑(Poh Tan)。 这些成就卓著的女性分享了有关她们如何首先受到STEM启发以及她们的职业如何演变并继续发展的故事。 他们职业生涯中的共同点是有很多曲折和颠簸,甚至有180度的转弯,但是关键是要抓住机遇,并勇于接受并说“是”! 小组讨论后,来宾有时间在非常随意和平易近人的氛围中与《神奇女侠》一对一交谈。 我有幸偷听并参加了许多有趣的讨论,这些话题包括教育,求职,工作与生活的平衡以及当今职场女性面临的挑战。 傍晚时分,每个人都聚集在我们的狐猴专家Bronwyn McNeil的IMAX影院中观看“狐猴岛:马达加斯加”。 我谨代表SCWIST和所有与会人员,感谢我们今年的《神奇女侠》门奖品,他们的时间和鼓舞人心的职业!

没有Sandy Eix和她在Science World上的团队(包括Iain Fraser和Andreas Dracopol等人)的努力,不可能实现这个精彩的活动。 桑迪本身就是一位神奇女侠,我代表SCWIST感谢她的辛勤工作。 2015年XX晚会的成功也归功于SCWIST志愿者的努力,这些志愿者包括Jianjia Fan,Samaneh Khakshour,Stephanie McInnis,Mila Putrkenko和Maria Thunoe。 最后,特别感谢SCWIST活动负责人Suzana Djordjevic-Stajic。 Suzana对于2015年XX晚(和我们的义工们的奋斗!)的计划和执行至关重要。 感谢您无数的工作时间,无穷的精力,支持和鼓励的性格以及对SCWIST的奉献!

 

 由梅利莎·丹尼斯(Melissa Dennis)贡献

 

阅读活动组织者Suzana Djordjevic-Stajic的感谢信, 这里

Event Recap: XX Evening 2015

xxheader020514

XX Evening 2015 Recap

Date of Event: March 3, 2015

The Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology, in partnership with Science World at TELUS World of Science, hosted their annual XX Evening networking event. Having never attended myself, I had no idea what to expect. The evening was lots of fun and very high energy! Everyone I spoke to said they were having a great time and were so glad they came…and so was I! The XX Evening gives young women the opportunity to meet with successful women who work in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) and learn about their careers and experiences. These guests of honor are called Wonder Women.

This year’s event saw a record turnout of approximately 200 women including over 35 Wonder Women, 170 guests, the SCWIST board, Science World employees, SCWIST volunteers and our youngest attendee – a 3 month old baby girl and future woman in STEM! The evening began with brief introductions to the Wonder Women whose diverse careers included civil engineering, software development, environmental science, biomedical visual communication, and independent consultants and business owners. The panel discussion, led by our master Master of Ceremonies Sandy Eix, included Jacqueline Huard, Marjorie Robbins, Anna Stukas and Poh Tan. These accomplished women shared stories of how they first got inspired by STEM and how their careers evolved and continue to evolve. A common thread in their careers was that there were many twists and bumps and even some 180 degree turns, but the key is to recognize opportunity when it comes and have the courage to take it and say YES! Following the panel discussion the guests had time to talk one-on-one with the Wonder Women in a very casual and approachable atmosphere. I had the opportunity to eavesdrop and participate in many interesting discussions on such topics as education, job searching, work-life balance, and challenges for women in the workplace that still exist today. At the end of the evening everyone gathered to watch “Island of Lemurs: Madagascar” in the IMAX theatre with Bronwyn McNeil, our lemur expert. On behalf of SCWIST and all attendees I would like to thank our Wonder Women this year for their door prize gifts, their time and their inspiring careers!

This wonderful event would not have been possible without the efforts of Sandy Eix and her team at Science World including Iain Fraser and Andreas Dracopol and others. Sandy is herself a Wonder Woman and on behalf of SCWIST, I would like to thank her for all of her hard work. The success of the XX Evening 2015 was also due to the efforts of the SCWIST volunteers which included Jianjia Fan, Samaneh Khakshour, Stephanie McInnis, Mila Putrkenko, and Maria Thunoe. And finally, a special thank you to the SCWIST event leader Suzana Djordjevic-Stajic. Suzana was central to the planning and execution of the XX Evening 2015 (and the wrangling of us volunteers!). Thank you for your countless hours of work, your boundless energy, your supportive and encouraging nature, and your dedication to SCWIST!

 

 Contributed by Melissa Dennis

 

Read Thank You Letter from Event Organizer, Suzana Djordjevic-Stajic, HERE