从秘鲁到加拿大:为成功的生物技术事业铺平道路

 

伊丽莎白_维拉斯克

1)是什么激发您从事生命科学/生物技术事业的?

我来自健康科学,因此我转向生命科学的动力是结合紧迫的生物技术问题进行更新并追随制药行业趋势的渴望。

在秘鲁,我是一家公司的药剂师,在那里我有机会审查了用于药物的新活性成分的专利申请。 做到这一点后,我意识到生物制药是专利的趋势,因此我进行了研究,并对加拿大等其他国家的生物制药行业的先进状态着迷。 因此,我制定了一个计划,以迁移到加拿大和生物技术行业。 到达这里后,即使我专注于健康生物技术行业,我也发现生物技术也被应用于其他行业,例如农业和环境。 这些信息使我对自己的职业未来有了更广阔的视野。

我认为,专业人士通常会不时寻找发展和重塑自己职业的方式。 这正是我发生的事情; 转向生物技术的时代到了,我转向职业的时候到了。

2)您目前在一家生物技术公司担任项目经理。 您在秘鲁的家乡如何获得教育和经验,为您目前在生物技术行业的工作做好准备?

如果您来自制药业等受到严格监管的行业,则您知道技术知识之间并没有很大差异。 科学无处不在。 但是,我相信您必须定期升级您的知识。 就我而言,我决定首先在BCIT(不列颠哥伦比亚理工学院)参加生物技术方面的实践培训课程,然后在SFU接受生物技术管理硕士学位课程,最后获得项目管理专业人员(PMP) )认证。

此外,如果您检查发布在受信任的网站(例如Biotalent,lifesciencesontario.ca,lifesciencesbc.ca,公司的网站等)上的职位资料,则可以通过识别您拥有哪些技能以及需要哪些技能来创建个性化清单。从事于。 就我而言,我在秘鲁的时候就做了这个练习。 例如,在移居加拿大之前,我提升了在MS Project中的知识,因为这是行业所寻找的一项技能。

除了技术技能外,我还从事我的软技能工作。 在我之前在秘鲁的职位上,我有机会环游拉丁美洲,见证了做生意如何因国家/地区而不同,即使它们可能使用相同的语言。 因此,我参加了卑诗省移民服务协会(ISSofBC)关于加拿大软技能的讲习班,参加了由科学移民妇女(IWIS)组织的活动,并与大温哥华地区基督教女青年会的导师一起工作。 我认为上述所有要素都帮助我成功地将我的专业经验和教育从秘鲁转移到加拿大,从制药业到生物技术,从助理职位转变为经理职位。

3)您认为目前没有哪些资源或可以进一步开发以支持科学界的妇女,特别是移民的资源?

根据2009年石田真由(Mayu Ishida)撰写的《科学界的女性移民(IWIS)信息包》,技术移民通常在加拿大发展职业时面临六个主要障碍:

•专业协会和教育机构的认证程序
•缺乏支持适当就业机会的衔接计划
•缺乏相关的语言培训计划
•再培训过程缺乏灵活性
•对加拿大工作经验的需求
•缺乏专业网络

尽管政府机构,大专院校和其他组织提供了旨在提高我们的语言技能,认可我们的教育并更新我们的专业培训的计划,但我认为它仍然缺少针对移民的有偿实习计划,以克服剩余的三个上述障碍。

例如,神达提供了很多实习机会; 但是,您必须是研究生才能有资格。 就我而言,当我进入Mitacs Accelerate计划并在一家生物技术公司获得带薪实习时,我是一名硕士生。 在实习期间,我回到了劳动力队伍中,其他专业人员也与我一起工作(从而建立了我的网络),当然,我获得了难以捉摸的“加拿大工作经验”。 根据我的经验,我认为实习是移民的绝佳资源。 但是,我还没有看到针对目前不在研究生阶段学习的移民的实习计划。

4)在向加拿大雇主传达您的资历和经验时,您是否遇到过挑战? 您对遇到同样挑战的人有什么建议?

是的,我有。 我的第一份简历未正确传达我的学历和经验。 我认为关键是使您的原始简历适应加拿大的风格和术语。 例如,您所在国家的职位有时在加拿大具有不同的含义,因此您需要找到相同的职位以帮助雇主一目了然地了解您以前的职责。 我建议阅读简历样本或在受信任的网站(如biotalent,servicecanada等)上发布的工作简介。您还可以通过支持您或您所受高等教育的移民服务组织参加有关简历/求职信和面试技巧的研讨会参加。别忘了问您的导师对他们的简历改善情况的看法。

5)您认为哪些技能对磨练才能成为科学界的成功女性至关重要? 我认为软技能至关重要,例如沟通技巧。 我不是在谈论英语或法语技能,而是在面试中我们如何交流想法或肢体语言。 我鼓励大家注意他们的软技能。 在加拿大,过去三年来我一直在从事我的工作,但仍然需要继续从事一些软技能。

6)您对其他渴望在科学技术上取得成功的女性有何建议? 我的第一个建议是定义成功对您的意义,因为每个人都有不同的愿望和期望。 根据您的远见,制定短期目标(不到1年即可实现),中期目标(1-5年)和长期目标(> 5年)。 作为科学/技术专业人员,我们知道如何做好研究,因此您的研究也是如此,以找到并制定适合每个目标的行动计划。 我的第二个建议是对您创建的计划保持灵活和开放的态度。 注意市场和趋势如何变化。 很好的信息来源是例如biotalent.ca编制的《 2013年劳动力市场信息报告》或政府或加拿大服务部开发的任何其他更新的劳动力市场信息/预测。

我的最后一条建议是了解接受国际培训的专业人员在加拿大发展自己的职业所面临的六个障碍(如前所述),并利用现有资源克服这些障碍。

撰写:Simran Dhunna https://www.linkedin.com/pub/simran-dhunna/58/b2/451

From Peru to Canada: Paving a Successful Career in Biotechnology

 

Elizabeth_Velasque

1) What inspired you to pursue a career in life science/biotechnology?

I come from health science, so my migration to the life sciences was motivated by a combination of the desire to be updated with pressing biotechnology issues and to follow the trends of the pharmaceutical industry.

In Peru, I was a pharmacist working for a company where I had the opportunity to review patent applications of new active ingredients for medicines. Doing that job, I realized biopharmaceuticals were a trend in patents, so I did my research and became fascinated with the advanced state of the biopharmaceutical industry in other countries such as Canada. So I created a plan to move to Canada and to the biotechnology industry. Once here, even though I was focused on the health-biotechnology industry, I discovered that biotech was also applied to other industries such as agriculture and the environment. Such information gave me a broader vision of my professional future.

I think, from time to time, a professional usually looks for ways to evolve and reinvent their careers. This is exactly what happened to me; the time to redirect my career had arrived by moving to biotechnology.

2) You currently work as a project manager at a biotech company. How did your education and experiences back home, in Peru, prepare you for the work you currently do in the biotechnology industry?

If you come from a highly regulated industry such as pharmaceuticals, you know there are not big differences in the technical knowledge. Science is the same everywhere. However, I do believe you have to upgrade your knowledge regularly. In my case, I decided to first take a hands-on training course in Biotech at BCIT (British Columbia Institute of Technology), then I took a Master’s program in Management of Biotechnology at SFU, and finally I got the Project Management Professional (PMP) Certification.

Furthermore, if you check the position profiles posted in trusted websites (e.g. Biotalent, lifesciencesontario.ca, lifesciencesbc.ca, companies’ websites, etc.), you can create your personalized checklist by identifying which skills you have and which ones you need to work on. In my case, I did this exercise when I was in Peru. For example, I upgraded my knowledge in MS Project before moving to Canada because this is one skill the industry is looking for.

In addition to the technical skills, I worked on my soft skills. In my previous position in Peru, I had the opportunity to travel around Latin America and be a witness to how doing business can be different from country to country even though they may share the same language. Hence, I took a workshop about Canadian soft skills through the Immigrant Services Society of BC (ISSofBC), attended events organized by the Immigrating Women in Science (IWIS), and worked with a mentor from the YWCA of Metro Vancouver. I think all the elements described above helped me to successfully transfer my professional experience and education from Peru to Canada, from the pharmaceutical industry to biotechnology, from an assistant position to a manager position.

3) What resource(s) do you believe are currently unavailable or can be further developed to support women in science, particularly immigrants?

Based on the Immigrating Women in Science (IWIS) Information Package written by Mayu Ishida in 2009, there are six main barriers skilled immigrants usually face to advance their careers in Canada:

• Accreditation processes of professional associations and educational institutions
• Lack of bridging programs that support access to appropriate employment
• Lack of pertinent language training programs
• Lack of flexibility in retraining processes
• Demand for Canadian work experience
• Lack of professional networks

Even though government agencies, post-secondary schools, and other organizations are offering programs to improve our language skills, recognize our education, and update our professional training, I think it is still missing a program of paid internships for immigrants to overcome the remaining three barriers described above.

For example, there are great internships offered by Mitacs; however, you need to be a graduate student to be eligible. In my case, I was a Master’s student when I entered the Mitacs Accelerate program and got a paid internship at a biotech company. During the internship I got back into the workforce, other professionals got to work with me (thus building my network), and of course, I got the elusive “Canadian work experience”. Based on my experience, I think internships are an excellent resource for immigrants. However, I haven’t seen any internship program for immigrants who are not currently studying at the graduate level.

4) Have you ever experienced challenges in communicating your credentials and experiences to employers in Canada? What advice do you have for those experiencing the same challenges?

Yes, I have. My first resume didn’t communicate my education and experiences properly. I think the key is to adapt your original resume to the Canadian style and terminology. For example, sometimes a job title in your country has a different meaning in Canada, so you need to find the equivalent title to help employers to understand your previous responsibilities at a glance. I recommend reading resume samples or job profiles posted on trusted websites such as biotalent, servicecanada, etc. You can also take a workshop in resume/cover letters and interviewing skills through the immigrant services organization that is supporting you or the post-secondary school you are enrolled in. Don’t forget to ask your mentor for their opinion on your improved resume.

5) What skills, in your opinion, are essential to hone in order to be successful as an immigrant woman in science? I think soft skills are crucial, such as communication skills. I’m not talking about English or French language skills, but instead how we communicate our ideas or our body language during an interview. I encourage everyone to pay attention to their soft skills. I have been working on mine for the last three years in Canada, and there are still some soft skills I need to keep working on.

6) What words of advice would you give to other women aspiring to become successful in science and technology? My first advice is to define what success is for you, because everyone has different aspirations and expectations. Based on your vision, develop short-term goals (to achieve in less than 1 year), mid-term goals (1-5 years), and long-term goals (>5 years). As science/technology professionals, we know how to do research well, so do your research to find and develop suitable action plans for each goal. My second advice is to be flexible and open-minded with the plan you create. Be aware of how the marketplace and trends are shifting. Excellent sources of information are, for example, the Labour Market Information Report 2013 developed by biotalent.ca or any other updated labour market information/forecast developed by the government or Service Canada.

My last piece of advice is to be aware of the six barriers internationally-trained professionals face to advance their careers in Canada (described previously) and to take advantage of the available resources to overcome each of these barriers.

Written by: Simran Dhunna https://www.linkedin.com/pub/simran-dhunna/58/b2/451