哈珀政府支持旨在提高加拿大数字经济中妇女地位的项目

返回帖子

7月XNUMX日,加拿大政府宣布为SCWIST资助一个新项目,以帮助女性在加拿大的技术领域取得成功。 阅读 完整新闻稿在这里 或阅读下面的照片。

卑诗省温哥华–今天,劳动大臣兼妇女地位大臣K. Kellie Leitch博士以及西温哥华–阳光海岸–海天之国议会议员约翰·韦斯顿(John Weston)和维州议会议员怀·扬(Wai Young)温哥华南部宣布为加拿大科学技术妇女协会提供资金,以支持一个新项目,以帮助妇女在加拿大技术领域取得成功。

利奇部长说:“我们的政府致力于为所有加拿大人创造就业机会,增长和长期繁荣。” “我很高兴宣布我们对该项目的支持,该项目将使妇女具备成功在数字经济中所需要的技能。”

MP Weston说:“帮助妇女在不列颠哥伦比亚省乃至全国成功是加拿大政府的重要优先事项。” “加拿大妇女具有提供技术领域的巨大潜力。 他们对这一部门的贡献将促进经济发展,并使我们所有人受益。”

MP Young说:“在不列颠哥伦比亚省,妇女有很多机会为我们的经济繁荣和增长做出贡献。” “该项目将为想要在技术领域工作的女性敞开大门,并将提供宝贵的培训和指导,以帮助她们取得成功。”

我们推荐使用 加拿大妇女科学技术协会 正在接收 $285,374 为期36个月的项目,该项目将帮助不列颠哥伦比亚省中下游地区的女性从事技术领域的职业。 该组织将与具有一定技术背景,在教育和职业上处于不同阶段的女性接触,并与三个本地技术公司(Webnames.ca,NetApp和Rhodium Business Services Ltd)匹配。她们将获得指导机会,领导力培训和专业发展。

“解决技术领域的性别差距是一项重要挑战,我们组织致力于鼓励更多女性从事这类职业,”加拿大科学技术女性协会主席Rosine Hage Moussa说。 “这笔资金将使我们能够帮助不列颠哥伦比亚省的才华横溢的女性,不仅加入技术领域,而且发展他们前进所需要的技能。”

该项目正在宣布 妇女历史月 并且是加拿大政府的一部分 妇女参与技术项目 这项倡议旨在为妇女提供机会,使其在加拿大数字经济中发挥更大的作用,而在加拿大的数字经济中,妇女人数仍然不足。

加拿大政府致力于支持使妇女和女童取得具体成果同时加强家庭,社区和国家的项目。 通过加拿大妇女地位,自2006-2007年以来,联邦对社区项目的支持几乎增加了一倍,为加拿大的600多个项目提供了支持。 自2007年以来,妇女方案已批准了超过46万美元用于促进妇女经济安全和繁荣的项目。


页首

Harper Government Supports Project Aimed at Advancing Women in the Canadian Digital Economy

On October 7, the Government of Canada announced funding SCWIST for a new project to help women succeed in Canada’s technology Sector.  Read the full press release here or read below photo.

SCWIST

VANCOUVER, BC– Today, the Honourable Dr. K. Kellie Leitch, Minister of Labour and Minister of Status of Women, along with John Weston, Member of Parliament for West Vancouver–Sunshine Coast–Sea to Sky Country, and Wai Young, Member of Parliament for Vancouver South, announced funding for the Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology in support of a new project to help women succeed in Canada’s technology sector.

“Our government is committed to creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for all Canadians,” said Minister Leitch. “I am pleased to announce our support for this project, which will equip women with the skills they need to succeed in the digital economy.”

“Helping women to succeed in British Columbia and across the country is an important priority for the Government of Canada,” said MP Weston.  “Canadian women have enormous potential to offer the technology field. Their contributions to this sector will strengthen the economy and benefit us all.”

“There are many opportunities for women to contribute to our economic prosperity and growth here in British Columbia,” said MP Young. “This project will open doors for women who want to work in the technology sector, and it will provide valuable training and mentorship to help them succeed.”

The Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology is receiving $285,374 for a 36-month project that will assist women in the lower mainland of British Columbia to pursue careers in the technology sector. The organization will reach out to women with some background in technology, at different points in their education and career, and match them with three local technology companies–Webnames.ca, NetApp and Rhodium Business Services Ltd.  They will be provided with mentorship opportunities, leadership training and professional development.

“Addressing the gender gap in the technology field is an important challenge and our organization is committed to encouraging more women to pursue these types of careers,” said Rosine Hage Moussa, President of the Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology. “This funding will allow us to help talented women in British Columbia, not only to join the technology field, but to develop the skills they need to advance.”

This project is being announced during Women’s History Month and is part of the Government of Canada’s Women in Technology Projects initiative, which aims to provide women with an opportunity to play a greater role in the Canadian Digital Economy, where they remain under-represented.

The Government of Canada is committed to supporting projects that yield concrete results for women and girls while strengthening families, communities and the country. Through Status of Women Canada, federal support for community-based projects has nearly doubled since 2006-2007, supporting more than 600 projects across Canada. Since 2007, more than $46 million has been approved through the Women’s Program for projects that promote women’s economic security and prosperity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.