ملخص حدث IWIS عن: "سرطان الثدي وسرطان المبيض - ليس مرضًا لكبار السن فقط"

في 8 مايو 2014 ، كنا محظوظين بما يكفي لوجود كاتارينا روث كمشرف لدينا لهذا Café Scientifique. كاتارينا مرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه في مختبر تيري فوكس في مركز أبحاث السرطان في كولومبيا البريطانية وهي أيضًا جزء من قسم علم الوراثة الطبية هنا في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية. تركز أبحاثها على فهم الخصائص الأيضية لابيضاض الدم النخاعي المزمن ، وهو سرطان خلايا الدم البيضاء ، بهدف تحسين نتائج العلاج لدى المرضى. إلى جانب حماسها لأبحاث السرطان ، تشارك كاتارينا في العديد من الأنشطة التعليمية والإدارية ، وهي أيضًا رئيسة جمعية الخريجين وزملاء ما بعد الدكتوراه.

د. مارلين بوروجيان، دكتوراه. هو أستاذ مشارك إكلينيكي في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية في كلية السكان وقسم الصحة العامة وكان المتحدث الأول لدينا في هذه الليلة. كجزء من البحث المستمر الذي تقوم به الدكتورة بوروجيان ، تقوم بفحص العوامل الغذائية والعوامل الأيضية وكيف تؤثر هذه العوامل على سرطان الثدي. نصحت في حديثها الجمهور بالتساؤل عن ماهية الدراسات العلمية الجماعية. على سبيل المثال ، هل أجريت الدراسة المعنية على الأطفال أو البالغين أو كبار السن لأن هذا يمكن أن يؤثر على الاستنتاجات التي يتم التوصل إليها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قالت إنها تولي اهتمامًا خاصًا لحجم مخاطر كل دراسة ، مع إيلاء اهتمام خاص لما إذا كان تناول طعام معين ، على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن يزيد من خطر الإصابة بالسرطان بنسبة 10٪ أو 400٪. من الواضح أن 400 ٪ أكثر تأثيرًا ويجب أن تحذر القارئ من توخي الحذر بشكل خاص مع هذا النوع من الطعام. ومع ذلك ، فإن نسبة 10 ٪ أقل خطورة بكثير ، وبالتالي ، لا ينبغي تجنب هذا النوع من الطعام تمامًا.

ثم واصلت وصف عوامل الخطر الخاصة مثل: نمط الحياة ، والوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي ، والضوء في الليل ، وكثافة الثدي. كانت استنتاجاتها الرئيسية: نظامك الغذائي هو جزء من نمط حياتك ، لذا تناول الطعام ، ولكن ليس كثيرًا وتناول المزيد من النباتات. حاول أيضًا تضمين 30-60 دقيقة من النشاط المعتدل في روتينك اليومي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، وصفت كيف أن العمل بنظام الورديات يمكن أن يعرض الناس لخطر أكبر للإصابة ببعض أنواع السرطان مثل سرطان الثدي وسرطان المبيض. أخيرًا ، وصفت 4 فئات من كثافة الثدييات التي تتراوح من منخفضة إلى عالية المخاطر (1-4). يمكن أن تكون العوامل التي تؤثر على هذه الكثافة هي العوامل الوراثية والعمر. في نهاية عرضها ، تركت لنا سؤالًا مثيرًا للتفكير: إذا كان بإمكانك معرفة المخاطر / نتيجة التصوير الشعاعي للثدي ، فهل تريد أن تعرف / تراه؟

المتحدث الثاني كان الدكتور كالفين روسكيللي ، دكتوراه. وهو أستاذ في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية في قسم العلوم الخلوية والفسيولوجية. ألقى الدكتور روسكيللي حديثًا شغوفًا وجذابًا حول التحليل الجينومي اللاحق للجينات البنيوية في بيئة ورم الثدي. ناقش كيف يمكن للعنب (الفصيصات) الموجود في الثدي أن "ينفجر" مع فقدان الجين الكابت للورم BRCA1 (BRالشرق CAncer) كما اكتشفتها الدكتورة ماري كلير كينج. توصل الدكتور كينج إلى هذا الاكتشاف من خلال تحليل كروموسومات العائلات حيث تكون النساء الشابات عرضة للإصابة بسرطان الثدي والمبيض. ومن المثير للاهتمام ، أن رحلة هذا الاكتشاف قد تم تحويلها إلى فيلم بعنوان "Decoding Annie Parker" بطولة هيلين هانت وسامانثا مورتون.

ثم ذهب الدكتور روسكيللي ليصف مكان الإصابة بسرطان الثدي على وجه التحديد. يحدث غالبًا عندما تلتقي السيقان (قنوات الحليب) بالعنب (الفصيصات). ركزت الأبحاث على تحديد الجينات التي تسبب نمو الورم أو الجينات المسرطنة. الجينات المسرطنة هي سبب الأورام الأولية. بشكل عام ، يمكن علاج هذه الأورام ويحقق المريض نجاحًا كبيرًا في الشفاء التام. ومع ذلك ، فإن الطفرات الجينية BRCA تؤدي إلى أشكال عدوانية من سرطان الثدي حيث تنتشر الخلايا ، تاركة الثدي وتتجه إلى الأعضاء الأخرى. بشكل عام ، تنتقل هذه الخلايا السرطانية عبر الجهاز اللمفاوي أو الدم. يبدأ الورم الخبيث باضطراب في بنية الأنسجة. في الأنسجة مفرطة التنسج ، فقد العنب شكل دونات. مع تقدم الأمراض ، LCIS (Lنعيق Cالأورام In Situ) يوضح كيف أن الورم لا يزال في مكانه ولم تحدث الهجرة إلى الأوعية اللمفاوية. في ILC (Iنفاس Lنعيق Carcinoma) ، تبدأ الخلايا السرطانية في التحرك في خلايا مفردة وتنضم إلى الجهاز اللمفاوي. ووصف هذا الأمر بأن العنب (الفصيصات) ينفجر وينتقل المرض إلى أعضاء أخرى.

أخيرًا ، شارك الدكتور روسكيلي كيف طور طريقة لصنع العنب (الفصيصات) في طبق بتري في مختبره. يتم ذلك عن طريق تعليق الخلايا في مصفوفة بروتينية معزولة عن أنسجة الثدي. على وجه الخصوص ، ناقش الجين "غير المنسق" ، كيناز المرتبط بإنتجرين (ILK) وكيف أنه يعطل التعلق بالمصفوفة ويساهم في انفجار العنب ورم خبيث في الثدي عند البشر. كانت إحدى شرائحه الأخيرة تظهر كيف يمكن لجين معين أن يحفز انفجار العنب في الوقت الحقيقي ، كما هو موضح في أفلام متتابعة حيث تم تصويرها لمدة 24 ساعة. شارك الدكتور روسكيللي الكثير من معرفته بطريقة عاطفية وذات مغزى واستمع الجمهور بحماس وطرح أسئلة مدروسة للغاية. الليلة كانت نجاحا كبيرا!

بقلم: بام أرستيكايتس

الصورة 1

اجتمع ما يقرب من 20 شخصًا في أمسية ممطرة للاستماع إلى اثنين من الباحثين المعروفين يتحدثان عن عوامل الخطر وتطور المرض للإصابة بسرطان الثدي والمبيض. هنا يستمع الجمهور باهتمام بينما تلقي الدكتورة بوروجيان ، أول متحدث لدينا ، ملاحظاتها الافتتاحية.

الصورة 2

يستغرق جمهورنا وقتًا طويلاً لتحديث قهوتهم وإعادة ملء أطباقهم بأطعمة لذيذة وصحية مقدمة من Wicklow Pub. أعضاء آخرون يجلسون بفارغ الصبر في انتظار العرض النهائي للمساء من الدكتور روسكيللي الذي ألقى حديثًا ممتازًا حول التحليل الجيني اللاحق للجينات المعمارية في البيئة الدقيقة لورم الثدي.

الصورة 3

يمكن رؤية أعضائنا هنا وهم يناقشون بعد حديثنا الأخير عن المقهى في Wicklow Pub مساء يوم 8 مايو 2014. كذلك ، يستغرق الأعضاء الآخرون وقتًا لملء نماذج التعليقات / التقييم الخاصة بالحدث والتي تعد بمثابة معلومات قيمة للتخطيط للمستقبل أحداث مشابهة لهذا.

IWIS Event recap for: “Breast and Ovarian Cancer-Not Only a Disease for Older Women”

On May 8 2014, we were fortunate enough to have Katarina Rothe as our moderator for this Café Scientifique. Katharina is a PhD candidate at the Terry Fox Laboratory at the BC Cancer Research Centre and is also part of the Department of Medical Genetics here at UBC. Her research focuses on understanding the metabolic properties of chronic myeloid leukemia, a white blood cell cancer, with the goal of improving treatment outcomes in patients. Besides her enthusiasm for cancer research, Katharina is involved in numerous departmental and teaching activities, she is also the President for the Graduate and Postdoctoral Fellow Society.

Dr. Marilyn Borugian, Ph.D. is a Clinical Associate Professor at UBC in the School of Population and Public Health department and was our first speaker for the night. As part of Dr. Borugian’s ongoing research, she examines dietary and metabolic factors and how these factors influence breast cancer. In her talk, she advised the audience to question what group scientific studies use. For example, was the study in question being conducted on children, adults or the elderly as this could influence the conclusions being made. In addition, she said to pay particular attention to the size of the risk of each study, paying particular attention whether eating a specific food, for example, could increase your risk of cancer development by 10% or 400%. Obviously 400% is more impactful and should warn the reader to be particular cautious with this food type. However, 10% is a far less risk and thus, this food type should not be completely avoided.

She then went on to describe particular risk factors such as: lifestyle, socio-economic status, light at night, and breast density. Her main conclusions were: your diet is part of your lifetsyle so eat, but not too much and eat more plants. Also, try to include 30-60 min of moderate activity in your daily routine. In addition, she described how shift work could put people at greater risk for certain cancers such as breast and ovarian cancers. Finally, she described 4 categories of mammogrpahic density ranging from low to high risk (1-4). The factors that influence this density can be genetics and age. At the end of her presentation, she left us with a thought provoking question: if you could know about your risk/mammogram result, would you want to know/see it?

Our second speaker was Dr. Calvin Roskelley, Ph.D. and he is a Professor at UBC in the Department of Cellular and Physiological Sciences. Dr. Roskelley gave a passionate and engaging talk about the post genomic analysis of the structural genes in the breast tumour environment. He discussed how the grapes (lobules) located in the breast can “blow up” with the loss of the tumour suppressor gene BRCA1 (BReast CAncer) as discovered by Dr. Mary-Claire King. Dr. King made this discovery by analzying the chromosomes of families where young women had a predisposition to breast and ovarian cancers. Interestingly, the journey of this discovery has been made into a movie called “Decoding Annie Parker” starring Helen Hunt and Samantha Morton.

Dr. Roskelley then went on to describe where breast cancer specifically forms. It happens most often where the stems (milk ducts) meet the grapes (lobules). Research has focused on identifying genes that cause tumour growth or oncogenes. Oncogenes are the cause of primary tumours. Generally, these tumours can be treated and the patient has a high success of full recovery. However, BRCA genetic mutations lead to aggressive forms of breast cancer as the cells metastasize, leaving the breast and heading to other organs. Generally, these tumour cells travel through the lymphatic system or blood. The metastasis begins with a disruption of tissue architecture. In hyperplasic tissue, the grapes have lost their donut shape. As the diseases progresses, LCIS (Lobular Carcinoma In Situ) tissue shows how the tumour is still in place and migration to the lymphatics has not occurred. In the ILC (Invasive Lobular Carcinoma) tissue, the tumour cells begin to move in single cells and join the lymphatic system. He described this as the grapes (lobules) blow up and the disease metastasizes to other organs.

Finally, Dr. Roskelly shared how he developed a method of making grapes (lobules) in a petri dish in his lab. This is done by suspending cells in a protein matrix which is isolated from breast tissue. In particular, he discussed an ‘uncoordinated’ gene, integrin-linked kinase (ILK) and how it disrupts attachment to the matrix and contributes to grape explosion and clinical breast metastasis in humans. One of his final slides was showing how a particular gene could induce real-time grape explosion, as demonstrated in a timelapse movies where they were imaged for 24hrs. Dr. Roskelley shared a lot of his knowledge in a passionate and meaningful way and the audience listened enthusiastically and asked very thoughtful questions. The night was a great success!

Written by: Pam Arstikaitis

photo 1

Approximately 20 people gathered on a rainy evening to listen to two well-known researchers speak about the risk factors and disease progression of developing breast and ovarian cancers. Here the audience is listening attentively as Dr. Borugian, our first speaker, gives her opening remarks.

photo 2

Our audience takes time to freshen their coffee and refill their plates with delicious and healthy foods provided by Wicklow Pub. Other members sit eagerly awaiting the final presentation of the evening from Dr. Roskelley who gave an excellent talk about the post genomic analysis of the architectural genes in the breast tumor micro-environment.

photo 3

Our members can be seen here discussing after our final Café talk at the Wicklow Pub on the evening of May8th 2014. As well, other members are taking time to fill out the feedback/evaluation forms for the event which serve as valuable information for planning future events similar to this one.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *