董事长致辞

SCWIST主席Fariba Pacheleh在15年2016月XNUMX日的年度股东大会上提交的年度报告中的信息。

SCWIST经历了令人惊讶的一年:我们已经从一个安静而辛勤的组织转变为一个组织,该组织虽然活动范围不大,但活动一向被抢购一空,尽管它并没有引起太大的轰动,但它已经发展成为拥有令人印象深刻的影响力和不断提高的公众知名度的组织。

我们可以自豪地说我们已经“度过了重要时刻”。

过去一年,我们的会员人数从82个增加到315个,而我们的分发名单中的成员数量从570个增加到1140个,我们希望收到SCWIST的意见。 我们在社交媒体上的存在已大大增加; 包括页面上的Facebook点赞次数增加了25%。 我们甚至在ICTC主持下进行了“ Twitter聊天”,反应非常热烈。

然后是我们所有的常规计划和活动-这些已经非常令人印象深刻。 SCWIST的“上级组织”已与一些相当大的参与者进行了互动,协商,合作,以下是部分列表:

2013年,SCWIST成为该组织的创始成员。 科学宪章 表示了30多个科学促进组织的共同信念–该小组现在拥有 自己的网站 其目的是“通过定义共同的理解和宗旨,促进不列颠哥伦比亚省参与科学促进的组织之间的协调与合作。 每个《宪章》签署人都相信科学和技术对我们的经济,环境,健康和我们生活的许多其他方面至关重要。”

SCWIST还是该组织的合作伙伴和创始成员 WEB联盟 BC省的女性商业网络–事实上,我很荣幸在XNUMX月成为该组织的副主席– WEB联盟是BC省女性商业网络的一个财团,为职业女性团体和从事商业活动的女性提供资源用以连接,提升和教育商业社区的行业。 WEB联盟成员组织共同努力利用现有资源和服务,并进行协作而不是竞争为卑诗省妇女服务。

我们共同努力,使蛋糕变得更大。

您可能知道,WEB联盟负责不列颠哥伦比亚省经济论坛的年度会议“妇女是促进增长的催化剂”。 SCWIST积极参与了会议。 除了作为其他组织的一部分之外,SCWIST还受到省和联邦政府的咨询。

省级–我们与卑诗省技术,创新和公民服务部长Amir Virk建立了联系,并通过他与卑诗省创新委员会首席执行官Greg Caws建立了联系。 并与BCTIA,卑诗省技术产业协会合作。 通过“回头路”的SCWIST联系人,我们还与卑诗省劳动力市场信息办公室建立了联系。

联邦政府-由“加拿大妇女地位”计划资助的MakePossible项目的结果,使我们处于新政府的雷达之下,因此进行了访问-在SCWIST办公室与新的“妇女地位”部长,帕蒂·哈伊杜(Patti Hajdu)和她的团队。 我们的另一个“联邦朋友” Kirsty Duncan博士现在是科学部长Kirsty Duncan阁下。

然后事情变得更加令人兴奋:当我们收到要求为在渥太华举行的G7峰会前的“加拿大全球事务”会议提供意见时,我们不知道如何建立联系。 我们的战略发展总监Marcia MacDonald出席了会议,我们为此准备了一份立场声明–并将其放在闪存驱动器上,交给任何愿意接受的人。 当我们收到第二次会议邀请时,SCWIST和Marcia一定给人留下了深刻的印象。 这次,SCWIST前任主席兼MakePossible指导委员会成员Maria Issa前往渥太华。 据玛丽亚说,虽然会议本身并不算令人兴奋,但它们之间的联系是:将与SCWIST进行协商,并将参加7年加拿大七国集团(G2018)的“ STEM中的女性”部分的计划–并参加讨论与二十国集团

显然,SCWIST在温哥华​​,加拿大乃至全球范围内的影响力都在增加。 我们需要大胆思考,需要战略思考。 要考虑的最重要的战略步骤是将SCWIST(社会)传播到全国的可能性。 MakePossible已经具有国际影响力-我们拥有一些令人印象深刻的CEO和C级执行官作为成员-但是有了上述所有联系,将会有更多越来越多的事情。 因此,董事会投票赞成启动我们的章程中定义的“咨询委员会”,以研究在全国范围内设立SCWIST分会或“姐妹关系”的机制。

是! 我们正在为该团体寻找志愿者! 这是您的社会-因此您的意见和建议对您的未来很有价值-请参与塑造未来。 因此,当我们迈向那个未来时,请考虑与您的朋友,同事和雇主建立联系,相互促进,推广SCWIST和SCWIST计划以及SCWIST专业知识。 永远不要说:“哦,我们找不到具有正确技能的女性” –您拥有的技能–勇往直前!

Message from the President

SCWIST President Fariba Pacheleh’s message in the Annual Report presented at the Annual General Meeting on June 15, 2016.

SCWIST has had an amazing year: we have moved from a quietly hardworking organization with lots of events that are consistently sold out though we don’t make a big splash about it to an organization with an impressive reach and increasing public profile.

We can proudly say that we have “hit the big time.”

We have grown this past year from 82 to 315 in membership and from 570 to 1140 in our distribution list, those who like to hear from SCWIST. Our social media presence has increased significantly; including 25% more Facebook likes on the page. We even had a “Twitter chat” hosted by ICTC – that had a huge response.

Then there are all our regular programs and events – and those are already pretty impressive. SCWIST the ‘parent organization’ has been involved in, consulted with, partnered with some pretty big players and here is a partial list:

In 2013 SCWIST became a founding member of the Science Charter of BC, which expresses the shared beliefs of over 30 science promotion organizations – this group now has its own website and their purpose is to “foster coherence and collaboration amongst organizations involved in science promotion in British Columbia by defining common understandings and purposes. Each of the Charter signees shares a belief that science and technology are pivotal to our economy, environment, health and many other dimensions of our lives.”

SCWIST is also a partner and founding member of the WEB Alliance of women’s business networks in BC – in fact, I am honored to become the Vice Chair of the group in April – The WEB Alliance is a consortium of women’s business networks in BC that serves as a resource for professional women’s groups and women in business and the trades to connect, elevate and educate the business community. WEB Alliance member organizations work together to utilize existing resources and services and collaborate rather than compete to serve the women of BC.

We work together to make the pie bigger.

As you may know, the WEB Alliance is responsible for the BC Economic Forum’s annual conference, “Women as a Catalyst for Growth.” and SCWIST is deeply involved in the conferences. Besides being a part of other organizations, SCWIST is being consulted by both provincial and federal governments.

Provincially – we have connected with the BC Minster of Technology, Innovation and Citizens’ Services, Amir Virk, and through him we have developed contacts with BC Innovation Council CEO Greg Caws; and with BCTIA, BC Technology Industry Association. Through SCWIST contacts from “way back” we are also connected with the BC Labor Market Information Office.

Federally – as a result of our MakePossible project that is funded by ‘Status of Women Canada’, we were on the new government’s radar and thus had a visit – at the SCWIST office with the new Minister for the ‘Status of Women’, the Honorable Patti Hajdu and her team. Our other “federal friend” Dr. Kirsty Duncan, is now the Honorable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science.

Then things got even more exciting: we don’t know how the connections were made, when we received a request to provide input into ‘Canada Global Affairs’ pre-G7 meeting in Ottawa. Marcia MacDonald, our Director of Strategic Development, headed off to the meeting for which we prepared a position statement – and had it on flash drives to be handed to whoever was willing to take them. SCWIST and Marcia must have made an impression as we received a second invitation to another meeting. This time Maria Issa, SCWIST Past President and MakePossible Steering Committee member headed to Ottawa. According to Maria, while the meeting itself was not too exciting, the connections were: SCWIST will be consulted and will participate in the planning of the “Women in STEM” component of the G7 in Canada in 2018 – as well as being participants in discussions with the G20 group.

Obviously, SCWIST’s reach and impact are increasing from Vancouver, across Canada and even globally. We need to think big and we need to think strategically. The most important strategic step to consider is the possibility of spreading SCWIST, the society, across the country. MakePossible already has an international reach – and we have some impressive CEOs and C-Level executives as members – but with all the above connections, there will be more, much more. Consequently, the Board has voted in favor of activating the ‘Advisory Council’ defined in our bylaws, to look at the mechanics of having SCWIST chapters or “sister connections” across the country.

YES! we are looking for volunteers for that group! This is your Society – so your input and ideas are valuable to your future – please participate in shaping that future. So as we head into that future, together – think about making connections , promoting each other , promoting SCWIST and SCWIST programs and SCWIST expertise – to your friends, colleagues and employers. Let it never be said that “oh, we couldn’t find women with the right skills” – you have the skills – go forth and shine!