وزير WAGE منصف يلتقي SCWIST وشركاء المجتمع لتعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين في جميع أنحاء كندا!

خبرة STEM والقوة في الأرقام: SCWIST الرؤساء السابقون مع الوزير منصف (من اليسار إلى اليمين): هيرومي ماتسوي ، وهيلدا تشينغ ، والوزيرة منصف ، وفاريبا باتشيليه ، وكريستين ويدمان ، وماريا عيسى ، وبيني ليكوتور

في 26 أغسطس 2019 ، انضمت الوزيرة المحترمة مريم منصف إلى فريق SCWIST للحصول على تحديث حول مشروع جعل التنوع ممكنًا والطرق التي يمكننا من خلالها تعزيز مشاركة المرأة الكاملة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM). منصف هو الوزير الاتحادي لكل من التنمية الدولية والمرأة والمساواة بين الجنسين (الأجور) ، والذي يعد الأخير ممولًا رئيسيًا لمشروع SCWIST الخاص بجعل التنوع ممكنًا. SCWIST حاليًا في السنة الأخيرة من مشروعها الذي يمتد لثلاث سنوات إلى اجعل التنوع ممكنًا من خلال العمل عن كثب مع مؤسسات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات لتطوير أدوات للوصول إلى مجموعة متنوعة من المواهب وخلق ثقافات مكان عمل شاملة حيث يمكن للجميع الازدهار والازدهار.

انضم إلى SCWIST اثنان من شركائنا في اختبار الصناعة ، وهما Associated Engineering ، وهي شركة استشارات هندسية لعموم كندا ، وشركة Genome British Columbia ، وهي منظمة كبيرة لعلوم الحياة في كولومبيا البريطانية. جمع الاجتماع مجموعة متنوعة من أكثر من 30 امرأة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، بما في ذلك أكثر من 20 عضوًا في مجلس إدارة SCWIST ، والرؤساء السابقين ، والمتطوعين والموظفين. وشمل شركاء المجتمع SCWIST الذين شاركوا في الحدث ISS of BC و MOSAIC و IWS Network و IEEE-Women in Engineering و Lighthouse Labs.

بدأت الملاحظات الافتتاحية بمشاركة رئيسة SCWIST كيلي مارسينيو لتأثير SCWIST على مدار الـ 38 عامًا الماضية حيث عملنا على إزالة الحواجز أمام اهتمام الفتيات والنساء والتعليم والوظائف في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. التالي كان مدير مشروع "اجعل التنوع ممكنًا" ، شيريل كريستيانسن الذي قدم لمحة عامة عن مشروع "اجعل التنوع ممكنًا" والنتائج حتى الآن.

اجعل التنوع ممكنًا شركاء اختبار المشروع: جيسيكا لو من جينوم بي سي (يسار) وليانا ماه من أسوشيتد إنجنيرنج (يمين) مع الوزير منصف (سي)

شارك كل من شركاء اختبار جعل التنوع ممكنًا كيف تتبنى مؤسساتهم أداة التوعية بالتنوع ، وورش عمل التنوع حسب التصميم ، وخريطة الطريق إلى النجاح ، و جعل ذلك ممكنا منصة التوجيه عبر الإنترنت. يتم تضمين ممارسات التنوع والشمول في هذه المنظمات ، بما في ذلك كيفية توظيف المواهب وتطويرها ، وكذلك كيفية تمويل المشاريع البحثية.

كريستين ويدمان ، أحد قادة SCWIST الثلاثة في شبكة المساواة بين الجنسين في كندا (جينك)شاركتها تجربة إيجابية مع شبكة GENC لعموم كندا التي تضم 150 امرأة يعملن على توصيات السياسة للنهوض بالمساواة بين الجنسين (وهو برنامج ممول أيضًا من خلال WAGE). شاركت ماريا عيسى ، رئيسة مشروع "اجعل التنوع ممكنًا" ، أهمية عرض المشاريع والأبحاث من خلال منظور جنساني وسلطت الضوء على الخبرة التي تجلبها النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات لحل التحديات العالمية.

شدد الوزير منصف على أهمية وفوائد العمل في شراكة - تركيز SCWIST في مشروع SCALE الجديد للاتصال والدعوة والاستفادة من الخبرة لتوسيع تنوع العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات والتمكين الاقتصادي في جميع أنحاء كندا. كما ناقش الوزير أهمية التمويل المستدام طويل الأجل مثل المنح متعددة السنوات التي يتلقاها SCWIST من WAGE ، والجديد صندوق المساواة التي ستجمع بين المستثمرين والمحسنين ومنظمات المجتمع.

شكر خاص لكل من انضم إلينا ، لمدير برنامج WAGE باربرا لازكانو ، وشيريل كريستيانسن ، على ترتيب الفرصة التي تم الاحتفال بها على نطاق واسع على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بين شبكة SCWIST ومن خلال شركاء المجتمع. نتوجه بشكر خاص إلى الوزيرة المحترمة مريم منصف والحكومة الكندية على دعمهما الاستراتيجي المستمر وطويل الأمد للنهوض بالمساواة بين الجنسين في كندا وعلى الصعيد الدولي.

WAGE Minister Monsef Meets SCWIST & Community Partners to Advance Gender Equality Across Canada!

STEM Expertise and Strength in Numbers:  SCWIST Past Presidents with Minister Monsef (L to R) : Hiromi Matsui, Hilda Ching, Minister Monsef, Fariba Pacheleh, Christine Wiedemann, Maria Issa and Penny LeCouteur

On August 26, 2019, Honourable Minister Maryam Monsef joined the SCWIST team for an update on our Make DIVERSITY Possible Project and ways we can advance women’s full participation in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM).  Monsef is the federal minister for both International Development and Women and Gender Equality (WAGE), the latter of which is a major funder of SCWIST’s Make DIVERSITY Possible Project. SCWIST is currently in the final year of its three-year project to Make DIVERSITY Possible by working closely with STEM organizations to develop tools to access a diverse talent pool and to create inclusive workplace cultures where everyone can thrive and prosper.

Joining SCWIST were two of our industry test partners, Associated Engineering, a pan-Canadian engineering consulting firm, and Genome British Columbia, a large life-sciences organization in BC.  The meeting brought together a diverse group of over 30 women in STEM, including 20+ SCWIST board members, past presidents, volunteers and staff. SCWIST community partners who participated in the event included ISS of BC, MOSAIC, IWS Network, IEEE-Women in Engineering and Lighthouse Labs.

Opening remarks started with SCWIST President Kelly Marciniw sharingSCWIST’s impact over the last 38 years as we worked to remove barriers to girls’ and women’s interest, education and careers in STEM. Next was Make DIVERSITY Possible Project Manager Cheryl Kristiansen who gave an overview of the Make DIVERSITY Possible project and results to date.

Make DIVERSITY Possible Project Test Partners:  Jessica Lu from Genome BC (L) and Lianna Mah from Associated Engineering (R) with Minister Monsef (C)

The Make DIVERSITY Possible Project test partners each shared how their organizations are embracing the Diversity Awareness Tool, Diversity By Design workshops, Roadmap to Success and the Make Possible online mentoring platform. Diversity and inclusion practices are being embedded into these organizations, including how they recruit and advance talent, as well as how research projects are funded.

Christin Wiedemann, one of SCWIST’s three leaders in the Gender Equality Network of Canada (GENC), shared her positive experience with the GENC pan-Canadian network of 150 women working on policy recommendations to advance gender equality (a program also funded through WAGE).  Maria Issa, Make DIVERSITY Possible Project Chair, shared the importance of viewing projects and research through a gender-lens and highlighted the expertise that women in STEM bring to solving global challenges.

Minister Monsef stressed the importance and benefits of working in partnership – a  SCWIST focus in the new SCALE project to Connect, Advocate and Leverage Expertise to expand STEM diversity and economic empowerment across Canada.  The Minister also discussed the importance of long-term sustained funding like the multi-year grants SCWIST receives from WAGE, and the new Equality Fund which will bring together investors, philanthropists and community organizations.

Special thanks to everyone who joined us, to our WAGE Program Manager Barbara Lazcano, and to Cheryl Kristiansen, for arranging the opportunity which was widely celebrated on social media among the SCWIST network and through community partners.  A special thank you goes to Honourable Minister Maryam Monsef and the Canadian government for their continued strategic and long-term support of advancing gender equality in Canada and internationally.