工资部长Monsef会见SCWIST和社区合作伙伴,以促进全加拿大的性别平等!

STEM专业知识和人数优势:SCWIST前任主席与Monsef部长(从左至右):Hiromi Matsui,Hilda Ching,Monsef部长,Fariba Pacheleh,Christine Wiedemann,Maria Issa和Penny LeCouteur

26年2019月XNUMX日,尊敬的部长玛丽安·蒙塞夫(Maryam Monsef)加入SCWIST团队,了解我们的``使多样性成为可能''项目的最新信息,以及我们可以推动女性充分参与科学,技术,工程和数学(STEM)的方式的最新信息。 蒙塞夫(Monsef)是国际发展与妇女与性别平等联邦部长(工资),后者是SCWIST的“使多样性成为可能”项目的主要资助者。 SCWIST目前处于其三年项目的最后一年, 使多样性成为可能 通过与STEM组织紧密合作,开发工具来访问多样化的人才库,并创建包容各方的工作场所文化,使每个人都能蓬勃发展和繁荣。

加入SCWIST的是我们的两个行业测试合作伙伴:泛加拿大工程咨询公司Associated Engineering和卑诗省大型生命科学组织Genome British Columbia。 会议聚集了30多名STEM妇女,包括20多名SCWIST董事会成员,前任总裁,志愿者和工作人员。 参加活动的SCWIST社区合作伙伴包括BC的ISS,MOSAIC,IWS Network,IEEE-Women in Engineering和Lighthouse Labs。

SCWIST总裁Kelly Marciniw致开幕词,分享了SCWIST在过去38年中的影响,因为我们致力于消除阻碍女孩和女性在STEM中的兴趣,教育和职业的障碍。 接下来是“使多样性成为可能”项目经理Cheryl Kristiansen,他概述了“使多样性成为可能”项目和迄今为止的成果。

使多样性成为可能的项目测试合作伙伴:来自Genome BC(L)的Jessica Lu和来自相关工程(R)的Lianna Mah与Monsef部长(C)

“使多样性成为可能”项目的测试合作伙伴各自分享了他们的组织如何接受“多样性意识工具”,“按设计进行多样性”研讨会,“成功路线图”以及 成为可能 在线指导平台。 这些组织中已经融入了多样性和包容性实践,包括他们如何招募和培养人才,以及如何为研究项目提供资金。

Christin Wiedemann,SCWIST在加拿大两性平等网络中的三位领导人之一 (GENC),分享了她 积极的经验 与由150名妇女组成的GENC泛加拿大网络一起,为促进性别平等制定政策建议(该计划也通过WAGE资助)。 Maria Issa,使多样性成为可能的项目主席,分享了通过性别视角审视项目和研究的重要性,并强调了STEM中女性为解决全球挑战所带来的专业知识。

Monsef部长强调了合作伙伴关系的重要性和好处– SCWIST将重点放在新的SCALE项目中,以建立,倡导和利用专业知识,以在整个加拿大扩展STEM多样性和经济赋权。 部长还讨论了长期持续供资的重要性,例如SCWIST从WAGE获得的多年赠款,以及新的 平等基金 这将使投资者,慈善家和社区组织汇聚一堂。

特别感谢所有加入我们的人员,我们的WAGE计划经理Barbara Lazcano和Cheryl Kristiansen,感谢他们安排了在SCWIST网络中以及通过社区合作伙伴在社交媒体上广受赞誉的机会。 特别感谢尊敬的部长玛丽安·蒙塞夫(Maryam Monsef)和加拿大政府为在加拿大和国际上促进性别平等提供的长期战略和长期支持。

WAGE Minister Monsef Meets SCWIST & Community Partners to Advance Gender Equality Across Canada!

STEM Expertise and Strength in Numbers:  SCWIST Past Presidents with Minister Monsef (L to R) : Hiromi Matsui, Hilda Ching, Minister Monsef, Fariba Pacheleh, Christine Wiedemann, Maria Issa and Penny LeCouteur

On August 26, 2019, Honourable Minister Maryam Monsef joined the SCWIST team for an update on our Make DIVERSITY Possible Project and ways we can advance women’s full participation in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM).  Monsef is the federal minister for both International Development and Women and Gender Equality (WAGE), the latter of which is a major funder of SCWIST’s Make DIVERSITY Possible Project. SCWIST is currently in the final year of its three-year project to Make DIVERSITY Possible by working closely with STEM organizations to develop tools to access a diverse talent pool and to create inclusive workplace cultures where everyone can thrive and prosper.

Joining SCWIST were two of our industry test partners, Associated Engineering, a pan-Canadian engineering consulting firm, and Genome British Columbia, a large life-sciences organization in BC.  The meeting brought together a diverse group of over 30 women in STEM, including 20+ SCWIST board members, past presidents, volunteers and staff. SCWIST community partners who participated in the event included ISS of BC, MOSAIC, IWS Network, IEEE-Women in Engineering and Lighthouse Labs.

Opening remarks started with SCWIST President Kelly Marciniw sharingSCWIST’s impact over the last 38 years as we worked to remove barriers to girls’ and women’s interest, education and careers in STEM. Next was Make DIVERSITY Possible Project Manager Cheryl Kristiansen who gave an overview of the Make DIVERSITY Possible project and results to date.

Make DIVERSITY Possible Project Test Partners:  Jessica Lu from Genome BC (L) and Lianna Mah from Associated Engineering (R) with Minister Monsef (C)

The Make DIVERSITY Possible Project test partners each shared how their organizations are embracing the Diversity Awareness Tool, Diversity By Design workshops, Roadmap to Success and the Make Possible online mentoring platform. Diversity and inclusion practices are being embedded into these organizations, including how they recruit and advance talent, as well as how research projects are funded.

Christin Wiedemann, one of SCWIST’s three leaders in the Gender Equality Network of Canada (GENC), shared her positive experience with the GENC pan-Canadian network of 150 women working on policy recommendations to advance gender equality (a program also funded through WAGE).  Maria Issa, Make DIVERSITY Possible Project Chair, shared the importance of viewing projects and research through a gender-lens and highlighted the expertise that women in STEM bring to solving global challenges.

Minister Monsef stressed the importance and benefits of working in partnership – a  SCWIST focus in the new SCALE project to Connect, Advocate and Leverage Expertise to expand STEM diversity and economic empowerment across Canada.  The Minister also discussed the importance of long-term sustained funding like the multi-year grants SCWIST receives from WAGE, and the new Equality Fund which will bring together investors, philanthropists and community organizations.

Special thanks to everyone who joined us, to our WAGE Program Manager Barbara Lazcano, and to Cheryl Kristiansen, for arranging the opportunity which was widely celebrated on social media among the SCWIST network and through community partners.  A special thank you goes to Honourable Minister Maryam Monsef and the Canadian government for their continued strategic and long-term support of advancing gender equality in Canada and internationally.