حصل برنامج MS infinity Outreach على تمويل NSERC PromoScience

 

MS إنفينيتي NSERC

18 مارس 2015 - لندن ، أونتاريو

أعلن صاحب السعادة إد هولدر ، وزير الدولة (العلوم والتكنولوجيا) ، الذي انضمت إليه سوزان تروب ، عضو البرلمان عن مركز شمال لندن ، اليوم عن 3.6 مليون دولار في دعم PromoScience لـ 66 مستفيدًا يشاركون أكثر من مليون شاب كندي. يقدم PromoScience ، وهو برنامج يديره مجلس أبحاث العلوم الطبيعية والهندسة (NSERC) ، الدعم المالي لمجموعة واسعة من المنظمات التي تحفز الشباب على الاهتمام بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM). من خلال عمل هذه المنظمات ، يتعرف العلماء والمهندسون الناشئون على الأساليب العلمية ويلتقون بالقدوة ويطورون مهارات التفكير النقدي القيمة.

الصور للوزيرة إد هولدر والنائبة سوزان تروب في متحف لندن للأطفال في أونتاريو أثناء إعلانهما عن برنامج PromoScience يوم الأربعاء 18 مارس 2015 (Photos by Images Assignment Service،  الصحافة الكندية)

مزيد من المعلومات حول PromoScience Funding ، اقرأ بيان إعلامي رسمي.

 

حقائق سريعة عن SCWIST السيدة اللانهاية برنامج

تقدم برامج ms infinity للفتيات خيارات وظيفية مثيرة ونماذج إيجابية لدور الإناث في العلوم والتكنولوجيا ، وتشجع الشابات على مواصلة دراسة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. تشمل أنشطتنا:
  • برامج التذوق - دعم الفتيات عند تحديد كيفية زيادة اهتمامهن بالعلوم بمساعدة الموجهين عبر الإنترنت.
  • جوائز معرض العلوم - تُمنح للفتيات اللاتي يتفوقن في STEM طوال فترة BC رعاية معرض العلوم المرح
  • ورش عمل ومؤتمرات توعية - أقيم في جميع أنحاء كولومبيا البريطانية وفي جيلف لتقديم الأنشطة والقصص والمعلومات حول المهن من جميع مجالات العلوم. (ورشة العمل القادمة ، قفزات نوعية في برنابي في 28 مارس 2015)
  • فرص التطوع - لكل من النساء في المهن ذات الصلة بالعلوم والفتيات اللواتي يتطلعن إلى الوصول إلى هناك في المستقبل. البريد الإلكتروني مدير التواصل إذا كنت مهتمًا بالتطوع.

يقتبس

"في SCWIST ، يسعدنا تجديد تمويلنا من خلال برنامج NSERC PromoScience. يعني دعمهم المستمر الكثير لمنظمتنا ويسمح لنا بتعزيز جهودنا للوصول إلى المزيد من الفتيات في جميع أنحاء كولومبيا البريطانية من خلال برامج مثل 'مؤتمرات قفزات الكم'و'XX مساء". تشجع هذه البرامج الفتيات على تخيل العلوم والهندسة والتكنولوجيا كجزء من مستقبلهن ومساعدة الشابات على التعرف على الفرص والخيارات الوظيفية من النماذج النسائية التي يحتذى بها. نحن ممتنون جدًا لدعم NSERC! "

—فاريبا باتشيلش ، رئيس SCWIST

"تلتزم حكومتنا بخلق الوظائف والفرص للكنديين ، وهذا هو السبب في أننا نقوم باستثمارات قياسية لتطوير وجذب والاحتفاظ بالباحثين الأكثر موهبة في العالم. سنزيد استثمارنا في PromoScience لإلهام الجيل القادم من الباحثين الكنديين الرائدين مع ضمان حصول الكنديين الشباب على مهارات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات المطلوبة لمهن مجزية في الاقتصاد الكندي الحديث.

-صاحب السعادة إد هولدر وزير الدولة (العلوم والتكنولوجيا) ،
عضو البرلمان (غرب لندن)

"تدرك حكومتنا أن الشركات والجامعات والكليات الكندية تتطلب من الكنديين الشباب ذوي المهارات القوية في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات أن يكونوا ناجحين في المضي قدمًا. من خلال PromoScience ، ندعم ثلاث منظمات مقرها لندن لتطوير معسكرات وأنشطة علمية توفر لشباب لندن الفرصة لتطوير شغفهم بالعلوم التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى وظائف مرضية وذات رواتب عالية في وقت لاحق في الحياة ".

- سوزان تروب ، السكرتيرة البرلمانية لوزيرة شؤون المرأة ،
عضو البرلمان عن مركز شمال لندن

"المعرفة العلمية هي جزء أساسي من تعليم كل مواطن في العالم الحديث اليوم. تهدف PromoScience أولاً إلى إثارة شغف الطلاب بالعلوم والهندسة وتعزيز الاستفسار الأكاديمي عن مستقبل هذه المجالات ".

- ب. ماريو بينتو ، رئيس NSERC

 الفائزون الآخرون بجائزة PromoScience

ديسكفري ويسترن 76,500،XNUMX دولار لتطوير برامج لتشجيع الشابات على استكشاف الهندسة كمسار وظيفي مستقبلي. فعل 510,000،XNUMX دولار أمريكي لتطوير برامج علمية تستهدف الشباب المعرضين للخطر ، بما في ذلك شباب السكان الأصليين والفتيات والكنديين الجدد. لنتحدث عن العلم سوف تتلقى 102,000 دولار للمشاريع المتعلقة بالفضاء التي تلهم البحث العلمي في الشباب.

ms infinity Outreach Program Received NSERC PromoScience Funding

 

ms infinity NSERC

March 18, 2015 – London, Ontario

The Honourable Ed Holder, Minister of State (Science and Technology), joined by Susan Truppe, Member of Parliament for London North Centre, today announced $3.6 million in PromoScience support to 66 recipients engaging over a million young Canadians. PromoScience, a program managed by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), offers financial support to a wide variety of organizations that motivate youth to take an interest in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). Through the work of these organizations, budding scientists and engineers learn about scientific methods, meet role models and develop valuable critical thinking skills.

Photos are of Minister Ed Holder and MP Susan Truppe at London Ontario Children’s Museum announcing the PromoScience Program on Wednesday, March 18, 2015. (Photos by Images Assignment Service,  The Canadian Press)

More information on the PromoScience Funding, read the official media release.

 

Quick Facts about SCWIST ms infinity Program

ms infinity programs introduce girls to exciting career options and positive female role models in science and technology, and encourage young women to continue studying STEM. Our activities include:
  • Ementoring Programs – Support girls when deciding how to take their interest in science further with help from mentors online.
  • Science Fair Awards – Given to girls who excel at STEM throughout BC; sponsorship of Science Fair Fun Run
  • Outreach Workshops & Conferences – Held all over BC and in Guelph to provide activities, stories and information on careers from all areas of science. (The upcoming workshop, Quantum Leaps Burnaby is on March 28, 2015)
  • Volunteering Opportunities – For both women in science-related careers and girls looking to get there in the future. Email Director of Outreach if interested in volunteering.

Quotes

“At SCWIST, we are thrilled to have our funding renewed by the NSERC PromoScience Program. Their continued support means a lot to our organization and allows us to advance our effort in reaching out to more girls all over BC with programs such as ‘Quantum Leaps Conferences’ and ‘XX Evening’. These programs encourage young girls to imagine science, engineering and technology as part of their future and help young females to learn about opportunities and career options from female role models. We are so grateful for NSERC’s support!”

—Fariba Pachelech, President, SCWIST

“Our Government is committed to creating jobs and opportunities for Canadians, which is why we are making record investments to develop, attract and retain the world’s most talented researchers. We will increase our investment in PromoScience to inspire the next generation of leading Canadian researchers while ensuring young Canadians have the sciences, technology, engineering and mathematics skills required for rewarding careers in the modern Canadian economy.

The Honourable Ed Holder, Minister of State (Science and Technology),
Member of Parliament (London West)

“Our government understands that Canadian businesses, university and colleges require young Canadians with strong skill sets in sciences, technology, engineering and mathematics to be successful going forward. Through PromoScience, we are supporting three London-based organizations to develop science camps and activities providing young Londoners with the opportunity to develop a passion for the sciences that can lead to fulfilling, high-paying jobs later on in life.”

Susan Truppe, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for the Status of Women,
Member of Parliament for London North Centre

“Science literacy is an essential part of the education of every citizen in the modern world today. PromoScience aims first to spark the passion of students for science and engineering and further boosts scholarly inquiry for the future of these fields.”

— B. Mario Pinto, President, NSERC

 Other PromoScience Award Recipients

Discovery Western will receive $76,500 to develop programs to encourage young women to explore engineering as a future career path. Actua will receive $510,000 to develop science programs that target at-risk youth, including Aboriginal youth, girls and new Canadians. Let’s Talk Science will receive $102,000 for space-related projects that inspire scientific inquiry in youth.