برنامج MS إنفينيتي لقيادة الشباب: رافينا كاور جيل

في الربيع الماضي ، كانت SCWIST / ms infinity فخورة بتقديم منحة تنمية مهارات الشباب. كانت المنحة مفتوحة للفتيات (من سن 16 إلى 21 عامًا) اللائي شاركن في مؤتمر Quantum Leaps أو برنامج MS infinity eMentoring ، ويتم منحهن لتغطية تكاليف التطوير المهني. تقوم إحدى المستفيدين لدينا ، Rauvina Kaur Gill ، بوضع المنحة الدراسية في الدورات التي ستمكنها من المشاركة في برنامج Co-op في UBC. تابع القراءة لمعرفة المزيد عن Ravina وتأثير تجربتها في التوجيه الإلكتروني مع SCWIST: 

"كطالب يتابع مهنة STEM ، لا تأتي المعرفة الأكثر قيمة من المحاضرات الجامعية ، ولكن من الخبرة العملية المكتسبة داخل الصناعة نفسها. غالبًا ما تكون هذه التجربة متاحة فقط بعد التخرج. ومع ذلك ، بعد أن أوصى مدرس الفيزياء 12 بالانضمام إلى برنامج eMentoring في SCWIST ، تعرفت على التعليم التعاوني (Co-op) من قبل معلمتي الرائعة ، جريس. Co-op هو برنامج يتم تقديمه في العديد من الجامعات حيث يمكن للطلاب تطبيق مهاراتهم داخل الصناعة في فترة العمل. في معظم البرامج التعاونية ، يتناوب الطلاب بين شروط العمل والدراسة ، وبالتالي يكتسبون الخبرة الكاملة لمهنة في المجال الذي يرغبون فيه. عند الدخول في eMentoring ، لم أكن أعتقد أنني سأحصل على مثل هذه المباراة الرائعة ؛ تتمتع غريس بخبرة واسعة في الهندسة الميكانيكية وشاركت ابنتيها في رحلات الجامعة. هنا أخبرتني غريس أولاً عن هذا البرنامج ، حيث شاركت ابنتاها في التعاون في جامعاتهما. بعد النظر في البرنامج في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية ، أدركت أن التعاون سيلعب دورًا مفيدًا في مستقبلي بصفتي تخصصًا في علوم الكمبيوتر ".

ستنعقد جلستنا القادمة من eMentoring في الخريف. يمكن ترتيب قفزات كوانتوم للنساء في المؤتمرات المهنية الخاصة بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) في أي وقت من العام بدعم من برنامج MS infinity. قم بزيارة السيدة اللانهاية الصفحة لمعرفة المزيد.

ms infinity Youth Leadership Program: Ravina Kaur Gill

This past spring, SCWIST/ms infinity was proud to offer a Youth Skills Development Scholarship.  The scholarship was open to girls (age 16-21) who have participated in a Quantum Leaps conference or ms infinity eMentoring program, and is awarded to cover costs of professional development. One of our recipients, Rauvina Kaur Gill, is putting the scholarship towards courses that will enable her to participate in the Co-op program at UBC. Read on to learn more about Ravina and the impact of her eMentoring experience with SCWIST: 

“As a student pursuing a STEM career, the most valuable knowledge comes not from university lectures, but from hands-on experience acquired within an industry itself. Too often this experience is only available after graduation. However, after my Physics 12 teacher recommended I join the eMentoring program at SCWIST, I was introduced to co-operative education(co-op) by my amazing mentor, Grace. Co-op is a program offered at many universities where students can apply their skills within the industry on a work term. In most co-op programs, students alternate between work and study terms, thus gaining the full experience of a career in their desired industry. Going into eMentoring, I didn’t think I would be getting such a great match; Grace had vast experience in mechanical engineering and she shared her daughters’ journeys through university. It was here that Grace first told me about this program, as both her daughters have taken part in co-op at their respective universities. After looking into the program at UBC, I realized that co-op would play a beneficial role in my future as a computer science major.”

Our next session of eMentoring will happen in the fall. Quantum Leaps women in STEM career conferences can be arranged at any time of year with support from the ms infinity program. Visit the ms infinity page to learn more.