Natalia Stakhanova和计算机科学领域的女孩

娜塔莉亚(Natalia Stakhanova) 是新不伦瑞克大学网络安全的助理教授和新不伦瑞克大学创新研究主席。 她的工作围绕构建安全系统而展开,包括入侵检测,恶意软件以及安全评估和评估。 娜塔莉娅(Natalia)获得了联合国开发银行优异奖,麦凯恩青年学者奖和安妮塔博格学院教职员工奖。 她是Cyber​​Launch学院的联合创始人兼总裁。 纳塔利娅(Natalia)与工业界在各种研发项目上紧密合作,她开发了许多技术,这些技术已被高科技公司采用。 Natalia目前在计算机安全领域拥有三项专利。

 

网络发射学院是一家非营利性组织,于2016年XNUMX月成立,旨在在新不伦瑞克省提供网络教育和培训。 Cyber​​Launch学院的主要目标是协助全省在校学生中促进科学技术发展,减少该领域的性别不平衡,并在其受训者中提高计算机科学水平。 Cyber​​Launch学院为儿童和成人提供有关计算机编码,网页设计,机器人技术,虚拟现实和网络安全的培训课程和讲习班。

 

今年早些时候,SCWIST与Natalia取得了联系,向她询问了有关她的职业道路以及促使她创办Cyber​​Launch学院的一些问题。

是什么促使您从事计算机科学和网络技术事业的?

我从没打算当计算机科学家。 实际上,很长一段时间以来,我一直在与科学和技术无关的领域建立专业知识。 我最初在本科学校攻读法律学位,并学习外语。 当我获得研究生学位时,我首先专注于教育。 没有人认为我会成为计算机科学家,甚至没有我的父母。

 

不过,我认为有一种特殊的经历影响了我对计算机科学的兴趣,并因此影响了我在该领域的当前职业。 二十多年前,当我还在读高中时,我有一个邻居,他拥有一台计算机,并且知道如何制作游戏,即使计算机拒绝并且抱怨内存不足也是如此。 对我来说,这不只是魔术,我当然想学习如何做。 因此,我的邻居向我展示了一些简单的技巧,后来当我父母给我买了一台计算机时,他教了我编码基础。 从那时起,我一直在学习计算机科学。 按照我父母的计划,我去了大学学习法律,然后秘密申请了附近的计算机科学学院。 我最初的目的只是要了解有关计算机的更多信息。

 

我从没想过我会成为那些计算机专家之一,但是我生动地记得,总是喜欢解决各种与计算机相关的问题-无论是我正在攻读法律学位还是在地方检察官办公室进行律师助理研究。 因为我对计算机的了解使我成为非常有价值的员工,所以我在DA的办公室可能会做得很好。 但是,我对IT的迷恋以及后来的生活经历最终使我改变了职业道路。

 

您是否有成长中的女性榜样鼓励您考虑从事STEM工作?

 

我一生中有几个。 这听起来很有趣,但我的第一个榜样是安吉丽娜·朱莉(Angelina Jolie)……恩,不是女演员,而是电影《黑客》中的角色。 这部电影不是我从事计算机科学事业的理由,但它让我第一次“哇”地意识到计算机很酷,而成为“计算机女孩”则酷了两倍。 我知道我的小表白可能会让一些人大笑,但老实说,我们中的许多人可能会以自己的兴趣爱好或生活中所做的事情追踪我们的终生事务,而这些经历似乎可以追溯到微不足道的童年经历。 就我而言,我的经验鼓励我学习一些有关计算机的简单知识,然后享受被我的朋友完全不了解计算机的朋友视为计算机大师的满足感。

 

我在爱荷华州立大学攻读计算机科学硕士学位的地方,还有两次与人交往的经历,我认为这是榜样。 两位都是我的计算机科学女教授。 第一位是Robyn Lutz博士。 当时她的故事给我留下了深刻的印象。 不用说她的故事在某种程度上引起了我的亲身经历。 我最初在爱荷华州立大学申请教育系。 Lutz博士的大学本科学历是英语。 然而,她完全扭转了自己的职业生涯,将重点转移到计算机科学上。 她不仅是一位杰出的科学家,而且还是从事太空任务的美国宇航局喷气推进实验室的首席研究员。

 

另一个人是国际知名的科学家Wallapak Tavanapong博士。 她系的所有学生都对她在相对较短的时间内撰写高质量研究论文的能力着迷。 在这两位教授的带领下学习的经历改变了我自己的观点。 我的野心从“我希望我能够做这两位教授可以做的事情”逐渐发展到“我也将做他们做的事情!” 很好的榜样,你不觉得吗?

 

是什么促使您启动Cyber​​Launch学院计划?

 

我一直对支持女孩从事计算机科学感兴趣。 我从偶尔的夏令营和免费培训课程开始,教女孩编码和计算机安全。 最终,它们变得如此受欢迎,以至于我在空间不足时不得不拒绝人们。 我无法参加所有想参加的人,真是太可怕了。 因此,扩大这些会议是很自然的事情。 如果我决定开办一所计算机学校,该省表示有兴趣支持一所计算机学校。 这就是Cyber​​Launch学院的诞生方式。 我必须说,到目前为止,这是我一生中最有意义的经历之一。

 

为什么向男孩和女孩提供这个机会对您很重要?

 

老实说,我不知道。 我一直都是这样。 可能仅仅是因为我的基因。 我的家人有几代学校老师。 从小我就听说过我祖父从第二次世界大战返回后成为数学老师的故事。 我长大了,看着妈妈和她的学生们一起工作。 毫无疑问,作为三个孩子的母亲,我也对他们的教育感到担忧。 教我的大女儿计算机科学是教孩子的一个强烈的最初动机。 为男孩和女孩提供学习计算机科学的机会只是教孩子的动机的一部分。 即使向那些不太可能从事IT教育和职业的人提供此机会,也使我有更大的动力去开办计算机科学学校。

 

如果您希望当地社区发生改变,那会是什么?

 

我希望在冰球和体育运动方面对在当地社区进行科学技术教育充满兴趣。 我们经常会指责政府官员和/或企业为我们社区的儿童创造了不足的教育机会,但这并不完全公平。 如果我们不积极寻求这些机会,那么政府和企业都将无动力提供这些机会。

 

您想分享一些针对年轻女性的信息吗?

 

我非常喜欢Facebook的首席运营官雪莉·桑德伯格(Sheryl Sandberg)所说的话:“如果为您提供火箭船上的座位,请不要问哪个座位! 上车吧。 一直以来,我看到女孩在为她们提供新东西时都犹豫不决。 当被问到时,他们经常承认他们可能无论如何都不擅长。 相信我,我知道事情可能会令人生畏,仍然请尝试一下,您可能会发现自己错了。

 

您想分享给年轻人的信息吗?

 

妇女充分发挥自己的力量进入科学技术领域只是时间问题。 欺负他们以阻止他们的兴趣只会减慢这个过程。 但是,如果您这样做,您将始终被视为混蛋。 相反,成为追求STEM学科的女孩的英雄。 他们已经有许多障碍需要克服。 因此,您应该鼓励和支持他们,他们将永远感激不已。 他们会认为您是为他们打开了令人兴奋且美丽的科学技术世界的人。 我知道这一点,因为我仍然感谢那个给了我第一堂电脑课的邻居。 我遇到了许多伟大的计算机科学家,包括我的老师和同事,这些人帮助我成为了今天的我。 但是回想一下我的生活,我可以说,如果没有我的邻居,我将不会在这里与我分享他自己对计算机技术的欣赏,这使我相信我(一个女孩)可以学习计算机科学,并且可以帮助我发展技能为我在该行业的成就奠定了基础。

Natalia Stakhanova and girls in Computer Science

Natalia Stakhanova is an Assistant Professor and the New Brunswick Innovation Research Chair in Cyber Security at the University of New Brunswick. Her work revolves around building secure systems and includes intrusion detection, malicious software, and security evaluation and assessment. Natalia is the recipient of the UNB Merit Award, the McCain Young Scholar Award and the Anita Borg Institute Faculty Award. She is a co-founder and the President of CyberLaunch Academy. Natalia works closely with industry on a variety of R&D projects, and she has developed a number of technologies that have been adopted by high-tech companies. Natalia currently holds three patents in the field of computer security.

 

The CyberLaunch Academy is a non-governmental for-profit organization established in August 2016 to provide cyber education and training in New Brunswick. The primary objective of CyberLaunch Academy is to assist the province in promoting science and technology among school students, reducing gender imbalance in this field and building a high level of proficiency in computer science among its trainees. CyberLaunch Academy offers training courses and workshops for children and adults in computer coding, web design, robotics, virtual reality and cyber security.

 

Earlier this year SCWIST reached out to Natalia to ask her a few questions about her career path, and what motivated her to start CyberLaunch Academy.

What inspired you to pursue a career in computer science and cyber technology?

I never planned to be a computer scientist. In fact, for a long time I was building expertize in areas that have nothing to do with science and technology. In undergraduate school I originally pursued a law degree combined with studies in foreign languages. When I started my graduate degree I first concentrated on education. Nobody thought that I would ever become a computer scientist, not even my own parents.

 

Nevertheless, there is one particular experience that I think had an impact on my interest in computer science and hence my current career in this field. More than twenty years ago, while I was still in high school, I had a neighbor who had a computer and knew how to make a game run, even when the computer refused and complained about insufficient memory. For me it was beyond magic, and I definitely wanted to learn how to do it. So my neighbor showed me a couple of simple tricks and later when my parents bought me a computer he taught me coding basics. Since then I have been on the path of learning computer science. Following my parents’ plan I went to university to study law and secretly applied to the nearby computer science college. My initial intention was only to learn more about computers.

 

I never thought I would become one of those computer experts, but I vividly remember always liking to solve various computer-related problems – whether I was working toward my law degree or doing paralegal research in the district attorney’s (DA’s) office. I would probably have done well in the DA’s office since my knowledge of computers made me a very valuable staff member. But my fascination with IT and several other experiences later in life eventually made me change my career path.

 

Did you have any female role models growing up that encouraged you to consider a career in STEM?

 

There were several in my life. As funny as this may sound my first role model was Angelina Jolie… Well, not the actress, but the character in the movie “Hackers”. The movie was not a reason for me to pursue my career in computer science, but it gave me that first “wow” realization that computers were cool and that being a “computer girl” was twice as cool. I know that my little confession is likely to make some people laugh, but let’s be honest, many of us may track our lifelong affairs with our hobbies or things we do in life back to seemingly insignificant childhood experiences. In my case my experience encouraged me to learn a few simple things about computers, and then enjoy the gratification of being treated as a computer guru by my friends who knew nothing at all about computers.

 

At Iowa State University, where I was doing my MS in Computer Science, there were two other encounters with people that I may consider as role models. Both were my female computer science professors. The first one was Dr. Robyn Lutz. At the time her story really impressed me. No need to say that in someway her story resonated with my own experience. At Iowa State University I initially applied to the Department of Education. Dr. Lutz’s undergraduate degree was in English. Yet she completely turned her career around, switching her focus to computer science. She was not only a distinguished scientist, but also a leading NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory researcher working on space missions.

 

Another person was Dr. Wallapak Tavanapong– also an internationally known scientist. All the students at our department were really fascinated with her ability to produce top quality research papers in a relatively short period of time. The experience of studying under these two professors changed my own perspective. My ambitions slowly progressed from “I wish I could be able to do things these two professors can” to “I will also be doing things they do!” Quite the role models, don’t you think?

 

What drove you to start the CyberLaunch Academy initiative?

 

I always had an interest in supporting girls in computer science. I started with occasional summer camps and free training sessions teaching girls coding and computer security.  Eventually they became so popular that I had to turn people down as I was running out of space. I felt absolutely terrible for not being able to take everyone who wanted to participate. So expanding these sessions was a very natural thing to do. The province expressed interest in supporting a computer science school if I decided to start one. That is how CyberLaunch Academy was born. I must say so far this is one of the most rewarding experiences I had in my life.

 

Why is providing girls, and boys, with this opportunity important to you?

 

Honestly, I don’t know. I have always been this way. May be it just runs in my genes. I have several generations of school teachers in my family. Since childhood I heard stories about my grandfather who became a math teacher after returning from the World War II. I grew up watching my mother working with her students. No question that being a mother of three myself, I am concerned about their education as well. Teaching my older daughter computer science was a strong initial motivating factor in teaching children. Providing boys and girls with opportunities to study computer science is only a part of that motivation to teach children. Providing this opportunity even to those who are less likely to pursue education and careers in IT is what gives me even stronger motivation to run a computer science school.

 

If you could wish for one change in your local community, what would that be?

 

I would like to see as much interest in pursuing education in science and technology in the local community as I currently see in hockey and sports. We often tend to blame government officials and/or business for creating inadequate educational opportunities for children in our communities, but it is not completely fair. If we are not actively seeking these opportunities, neither government nor businesses have incentives to provide them.

 

Do you have a message for young women and girls that you would like to share?

 

I really like what Sheryl Sandberg, COO of Facebook, once said: “If you’re offered a seat on a rocket ship, don’t ask what seat! Just get on”. All the time I see girls hesitate when they are offered something new. When asked, they often confess that they probably won’t be good at it anyways. Believe me, I know how intimidating things can be, still just give it a genuine try and you will probably see how mistaken you are.

 

Do you have a message for young men and boys that you would like to share?

 

It’s only a matter of time before women will enter science and technology field at their full force. Bullying them to discourage their interest may only slow up this process. Yet if you do this you will always be seen as jerks. Instead, become heroes for girls pursuing STEM disciplines. They already have many barriers to overcome. Therefore you should encourage and support them and they will always be grateful. They will think of you as people who opened up an exciting and beautiful world of science and technology to them. I know this, because I am still grateful to that neighbor guy who gave me my very first computer lesson. I’ve met many great computer scientists – my teachers and my colleagues – who have helped me become who I am today. But reflecting back on my life I can say that I wouldn’t be here without my neighbor who shared with me his own appreciation of computer technology, who built my confidence that I – a girl – could learn computer science, and who helped me develop skills that laid the foundation for my accomplishments in this profession.