مدونة الرئيس سبتمبر 2014

MakePossible و WEB Alliance و SCWIST

أقل من شهر لإطلاق إصدارنا التجريبي من MakePossible للإرشاد ، وقد شاركنا بالفعل في العديد من المحادثات والاجتماعات التي تدعم مهمتها.

سأبدأ بالاجتماع الذي عقدناه مع BC Web Alliance الشهر الماضي عندما انضممت شيريل (مديرة مشروع MakePossible) وماريا (الرئيس السابق لـ SCWIST وعضو اللجنة التوجيهية لـ MakePossible) إلى جيل إيرثي من Futurpreneur ومجموعة من الأقوياء والذكاء والبصيرة النساء في وسط مدينة فانكوفر. لقد أتيحت لنا الفرصة لمناقشة ضرورة أن تسمع الحكومة الفيدرالية للمرأة وتلقي نصائح رائعة.

يجب أن أعترف أن هناك أوقاتًا أشعر فيها أنني يجب أن أتخلى عن فكرتي المتمثلة في تحدي الوضع الراهن لتعزيز "النساء اللواتي يتمتعن بلهجة" في مجالس الإدارة والأدوار التنفيذية ؛ هدف حددته لنفسي في عام 2011 مع خطة مدتها 5 سنوات مرفقة به. أستطيع فقط أن أقول إنني شعرت بمزيد من المشاركة والقوة بعد ذلك الاجتماع مع WEB Alliance وأشعر بالقوة لعدم السماح بذلك.

انضممنا أيضًا إلى حوار UBC: "من المسؤول: لماذا لا يوجد المزيد من النساء في الأدوار القيادية؟" الذي كان حدثًا رائعًا وتعليميًا وممتعًا مع العديد من المشاركين الذكور وتمت مناقشة جوانب مختلفة من هذه القضية.

حقيقة أن هناك وعيًا وأننا نتحرك نحو إجراءات لحل هذه المشكلة أمر مذهل بالنسبة لي شخصيًا يثلج الصدر.

انضممت أيضًا إلى ورشة عمل WWEST حول كيفية استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بشكل أكثر استراتيجية لدعم أهدافنا. شكرًا لفريق WWEST في UBC لتقديم مثل هذا الموضوع المثير للاهتمام والمفيد بشكل احترافي.

وآخرها ، وبالتأكيد ليس آخراً ، كانت ورشة عمل "اصبحوا قادة" التي نظمتها شيريل وسلمتها إدنا داش. تمكنت من مشاركة بعض النصائح والأفكار التي تعلمتها خلال رحلتي حول هذا الموضوع. كانت ورشة العمل في SFU في وسط المدينة وكانت المجموعة متحمسة ومتعاونة ومطلعة.

لذلك ، دعونا نستعد للمنتدى الاقتصادي في كولومبيا البريطانية في 24 أكتوبر والذي يدور حول المرأة كمحفز للنمو. ويشترك في استضافته مجلس فانكوفر إذا تريد التجارة وتحالف ويب. دعنا ندعو القادة ، الرجال والنساء في مجتمعك ، للمشاركة! لن ننجح في هذه الرحلة إذا سافرنا بمفردنا.Fab1

President’s blog Sept 2014

MakePossible, WEB Alliance, & SCWIST

Less than a month to launch our MakePossible mentorship beta version and we already have been engaged in many conversations and meetings that support its mission.

I will start with the meeting we had with BC Web Alliance last month when Cheryl (MakePossible Project Manager), Maria (SCWIST past president and MakePossible Steering Committee member) and I joined Jill Earthy of Futurpreneur and a group of powerful, intelligent, and insightful women in downtown Vancouver. We had an opportunity to discuss the need for women to be heard by the Federal Government and to receive great tips.

I should admit that there are times I feel I should let go of my idea of challenging the status-quo for promoting ‘women with accent’ in boardrooms and executive roles; a goal I set for myself in 2011 with a 5 year plan attached to it. I can just say that I felt more engaged and powerful after that meeting with WEB Alliance and I feel the strength to not let it go.

We also joined the UBC Dialogue: “Who’s in charge: Why aren’t there more women in leadership roles?” which was a fantastic, educational, and fun sold out event with many male participants and different aspects of this issue was discussed.

The fact that there is awareness and we are moving toward actions to resolve this issue is striking and for me personally is heart-warming.

I also joined WWEST workshop on how to use Social Media more strategically to support our goals. Thanks to the WWEST team at UBC for delivering such an interesting and useful subject professionally.

And the last, and definitely not the least, was the “Becoming Leaders” workshop orchestrated by Cheryl and delivered by Edna Dach. I was able to share few tips and ideas I have learned through my journey on the subject. The workshop was at SFU downtown and the group was enthusiastic, collaborative, and knowledgeable.

So, let’s gear up toward the BC Economic Forum on October 24 which is all about Women as Catalyst for Growth. It is co-hosted by the Vancouver Board if Trade and the WEB Alliance. Let’s invite the leaders, men and women in your community, to get engaged! We will not be successful in this journey if we travel alone.Fab1