总裁博客2014年XNUMX月

MakePossible,WEB联盟和SCWIST

推出我们的MakePossible指导Beta版不到一个月,我们已经进行了许多支持其使命的对话和会议。

我将从上个月与BC Web Alliance的会议开始,那时Cheryl(MakePossible项目经理),Maria(SCWIST的前任总裁兼MakePossible指导委员会成员),我加入了Futurpreneur的Jill Earthy,以及一群强大,聪明和有见地的人妇女在温哥华市中心。 我们有机会讨论了联邦政府听取妇女意见并获得重要建议的必要性。

我应该承认,有时候我觉得我应该放弃我的想法,挑战董事会和执行职务中提拔“有口音的女性”的现状。 我在2011年为自己设定了一个目标,并附有5年计划。 我只能说,在与WEB联盟会面之后,我感到更加投入和强大,并且我感到不容忍的力量。

我们还参加了UBC对话:“谁负责:为什么没有更多的女性担任领导职务?” 这是一个梦幻般的,教育性的,有趣的,售罄的活动,有许多男性参与者参加,并讨论了此问题的不同方面。

有了意识,我们正在采取行动解决这一问题,这一事实令人震惊,对我个人而言,这是令人振奋的。

我还参加了WWEST研讨会,讨论如何更战略性地使用社交媒体来支持我们的目标。 感谢UBC的WWEST团队专业地提供了这样一个有趣且有用的主题。

最后,当然也并非最不重要的是,由谢丽尔(Cheryl)策划,埃德娜·达奇(Edna Dach)主持的“成为领导人”研讨会。 我能够分享我在此主题的旅途中学到的一些技巧和想法。 研讨会在SFU市区举行,小组热情,合作且知识渊博。

因此,让我们为24月XNUMX日举行的卑诗省经济论坛做准备,这完全是关于妇女作为促进增长的催化剂。 如果贸易和WEB联盟,它是由温哥华理事会共同主办的。 让我们邀请社区中的男女领导人参与! 如果我们一个人旅行,我们将不会在这个旅程中取得成功。Fab1

President’s blog Sept 2014

MakePossible, WEB Alliance, & SCWIST

Less than a month to launch our MakePossible mentorship beta version and we already have been engaged in many conversations and meetings that support its mission.

I will start with the meeting we had with BC Web Alliance last month when Cheryl (MakePossible Project Manager), Maria (SCWIST past president and MakePossible Steering Committee member) and I joined Jill Earthy of Futurpreneur and a group of powerful, intelligent, and insightful women in downtown Vancouver. We had an opportunity to discuss the need for women to be heard by the Federal Government and to receive great tips.

I should admit that there are times I feel I should let go of my idea of challenging the status-quo for promoting ‘women with accent’ in boardrooms and executive roles; a goal I set for myself in 2011 with a 5 year plan attached to it. I can just say that I felt more engaged and powerful after that meeting with WEB Alliance and I feel the strength to not let it go.

We also joined the UBC Dialogue: “Who’s in charge: Why aren’t there more women in leadership roles?” which was a fantastic, educational, and fun sold out event with many male participants and different aspects of this issue was discussed.

The fact that there is awareness and we are moving toward actions to resolve this issue is striking and for me personally is heart-warming.

I also joined WWEST workshop on how to use Social Media more strategically to support our goals. Thanks to the WWEST team at UBC for delivering such an interesting and useful subject professionally.

And the last, and definitely not the least, was the “Becoming Leaders” workshop orchestrated by Cheryl and delivered by Edna Dach. I was able to share few tips and ideas I have learned through my journey on the subject. The workshop was at SFU downtown and the group was enthusiastic, collaborative, and knowledgeable.

So, let’s gear up toward the BC Economic Forum on October 24 which is all about Women as Catalyst for Growth. It is co-hosted by the Vancouver Board if Trade and the WEB Alliance. Let’s invite the leaders, men and women in your community, to get engaged! We will not be successful in this journey if we travel alone.Fab1