تقرير من G7 Civic Society Outreach Event

في 14 أبريل 2016 ، حضرت مديرة التطوير الاستراتيجي ، مارسيا ماكدونالد ، حدث التواصل مع المجتمع المدني G7 في أوتاوا. نيابة عن SCWIST ، قدمت توصيات بشأن السياسة إلى الحكومة الفيدرالية. أدناه هو تقرير لها من الحدث.

وقد استضاف الحدث بيتر بوهم ، نائب وزير التنمية الدولية ، وديان جاكوفيلا ، نائب وزير الخارجية المساعد. استعدادًا للاجتماع ، قادت Maria GyongyossyIssa تطوير ملف تقديم مكتوب ، والتي تمت مشاركتها علنًا ، ثم شاركت في حدث متابعة في أوتاوا في 4 مايو 2016.

بعد الحدث ، شجعنا على ملاحظة ذلك الفيدرالي قالت وزيرة العلوم كيرستي دنكان ، "أنا ملتزم شخصيًا بالعمل على تحسين تمثيل المرأة في تخصصات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، وأرى أن هذا جزء مهم من ولايتي". البيان من اجتماع G7 في تسوكوبا ، إيباراكي ، اليابان ، 17 مايو 2016 ، ينص على أن وزراء العلوم والتكنولوجيا قرروا:

  • دعم الشبكات الدولية للباحثات والعلماء والمهندسات والطلاب ؛
  • رصد واتخاذ إجراءات ضد التنميط الجنساني والتحيز الموجود غالبًا في تخصصات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) وأماكن العمل ؛
  • تبادل الممارسات الجيدة في تشجيع رائدات الأعمال والباحثات والمهندسات في الأعمال والمنظمات الموجهة نحو العلم والتكنولوجيا ؛ و
  • وضع سياسات وبيئات عمل تتيح فيها تكافؤ الفرص للمرأة ممارسة قدراتها وتعزيز آفاقها المهنية ولعب دور كامل في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والابتكار.

Report from the G7 Civic Society Outreach Event

On April 14, 2016, the Director of Strategic Development, Marcia MacDonald, attended the G7 Civic Society Outreach Event in Ottawa. On behalf of SCWIST, she provided policy recommendations to the federal government. Below is her report from the event.

The event was hosted by Peter Boehm, Deputy Minister of International Development, and Diane Jacovella, Associate Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs. In preparation for the meeting, Maria GyongyossyIssa led the development of a detailed written submission , which was shared publicly, then participated in a followup event in Ottawa May 4, 2016.

Following the event, we were encouraged to note that federal Science Minister Kirsty Duncan has said , “I am personally committed to working to improve the representation of women in STEM disciplines, and view this as an important part of my mandate”. The Communiqué from the G7 Meeting in Tsukuba, Ibaraki, Japan, May 17, 2016 states that the Science and Technology Ministers have decided to:

  • Support international networking of female researchers, scientists, engineers, and students;
  • Monitor and take actions against gender stereotyping and bias that too often exist within Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) disciplines and workplaces;
  • Share good practices in encouraging female entrepreneurs, researchers, and engineers in science and technology oriented businesses and organizations; and
  • Develop policy and working environments in which equal opportunity allows women to exert their abilities, advance their career prospects and play a full role in STI fields.