يتلقى SCWIST تمويلًا لتعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات عبر كندا

في الصورة (من اليسار إلى اليمين): رئيسة SCWIST السابقة الدكتورة ماريا جيونغيوسي عيسى ، والرئيسة الحالية كيلي مارسينيو ، والمؤسسون الدكتورة ديانا إس. هيربست والدكتورة هيلدا تشينغ ، هون. مريم منصف ، مديرة مشروع Make Possible ، شيريل كريستيانسن ، عضو مجلس الإدارة ومديرة الاتصالات الدكتورة كريستين كارينيو ، وكاتريل كارينو بابلو.


فانكوفر ، 28 مارس 2019: تفخر جمعية النساء الكنديات في العلوم والتكنولوجيا (SCWIST) بالإعلان عن تلقي تمويل من WAGE (المرأة والمساواة بين الجنسين) - الإدارة الفيدرالية الجديدة التي كانت تُعرف سابقًا باسم وضع المرأة الكندية (SWC). يعد مشروع SCWIST جزءًا من استثمار الحكومة الفيدرالية بقيمة 100 مليون دولار في 250 مشروعًا تعمل على تعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين في جميع أنحاء كندا من خلال بناء دعم قدرات المنظمات.

تأسست في 1981، SCWIST لديها تاريخ فخور في تمكين النساء والفتيات في STEM (العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات) وتوفر التعليم والبرامج وأنشطة التواصل والإرشاد. جديدنا مقياس مشروع - SCWIST Cمتصل ، Advocates و Lدائم Expertise - يوسع تنوع العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات للتمكين الاقتصادي في جميع أنحاء كندا. الهدف هو زيادة التأثير الوطني لـ SCWIST من خلال تحسين الفعالية التنظيمية والاستدامة المالية والوصول إلى الشراكة والدعوة لتعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين في جميع أنحاء كندا. STEM هي القوة الدافعة لمستقبل الاقتصاد: من خلال مشروع SCALE ، ستخلق SCWIST مسارات لنساء STEM المدربين تدريباً عالياً للمساهمة بمعرفتهن ومهاراتهن في هذا المستقبل.

"ترحب SCWIST بهذا الدعم التمويلي حتى نتمكن من تعزيز مهمتنا في إزالة الحواجز التي تعترض النساء والفتيات المهتمات بالتعليم والمهن في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ومتابعتهما ".  تشرح كيلي مارسينيو ، رئيسة SCWIST: "نرغب في تعزيز SCWIST لإنشاء أطر عمل وشراكات إستراتيجية من شأنها توسيع قدرة ووصول SCWIST ، والاستفادة من مساهمات النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في الاقتصاد الكندي."

"كان SCWIST دائمًا كعائلة ، حيث يدعمني خلال مسيرتي المهنية ويلهمني للتطوع ورد الجميل - حتى أتمكن من المساعدة في إزالة الحواجز أمام النساء الأخريات.  MS إنفينيتي لفتيات المدارس الثانوية و ط نظام معلومات المنظمة (النساء المهاجرات في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات) جزء من برامجنا الأساسية ومتطوعونا المتفانون هم ما يجعل هذه المنظمة ناجحة. " تقول هيلدا تشينغ ، أحد مؤسسي SCWIST وداعمة منذ فترة طويلة. تضيف بحماس ، "سيخلق مشروع SCALE هذا المزيد من الفرص للمشاركة في SCWIST لتعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين!"  

سيعتمد مقياس SCALE على إنجازات برامج SCWIST الأخرى التي تشمل جعل ذلك ممكنا و الماركة تنوع ممكن، والتي تم تمويلها أيضًا من قبل SWC. جعل ذلك ممكنا يوفر توجيهًا بزاوية 360 درجة ويربط أكثر من 1000 امرأة ورجل من مختلف قطاعات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في جميع أنحاء كندا لتطوير المهارات وتبادل الخبرات والتعلم من مجموعة متنوعة من وجهات النظر باستخدام منصة عبر الإنترنت منخفضة العوائق. من خلال الصنع تنوع برنامج محتمل ، يعمل SCWIST مع منظمات STEM للوصول إلى مجموعة متنوعة من المواهب وخلق ثقافات مكان عمل شاملة حيث يمكن للجميع الازدهار والازدهار.  

 

بيان صحفي WAGE: https://bit.ly/2K1cLuH   خلفية WAGE الخلفية:  https://bit.ly/2JKEgs4

 

الاتصال SCWIST:

# 311-525 شارع سيمور,  فانكوفر ، BC V6B 3H7 ، Ph: (604) 893-8657

البريد الإلكتروني:  [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]  الموقع على الإنترنت: http://scwist.ca/

SCWIST Receives Funding to Advance Gender Equality in STEM Across Canada

In photo (left to right): SCWIST past president Dr. Maria Gyongyossy-Issa, current president Kelly Marciniw, founders Dr. Diana S. Herbst and Dr. Hilda Ching, Hon. Maryam Monsef, Make Possible Project Manager Cheryl Kristiansen, Board Member and Communications Director Dr. Khristine Cariño, and Katriel Carino-Pablo.


Vancouver, March 28, 2019:  The Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology (SCWIST) is proud to announce the receipt of funding from WAGE (Women and Gender Equality) – the new federal department previously known as Status of Women Canada (SWC).  The SCWIST project is part of the Federal Government’s $100 million investment in 250 projects that advance gender equality across Canada by building organizations’ capacity supports.

Founded in 1981, SCWIST has a proud history of empowering women and girls in STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) and provides education, programs, networking activities and mentorship. Our new SCALE project – SCWIST Connects, Advocates and Leverages Expertise – expands STEM diversity for economic empowerment across Canada. The goal is to increase SCWIST’s national impact by improving organizational effectiveness, financial sustainability, partnership reach and advocacy to advance gender equality across Canada. STEM is the powerhouse of the economy’s future: through the SCALE project, SCWIST will create paths for highly trained STEM women to contribute their knowledge and skills to that future.

SCWIST welcomes this funding support so that we can advance our mission of removing barriers for women and girls interested in and pursuing education and careers in STEM.”  Kelly Marciniw, SCWIST President, explains: “We wish to strengthen SCWIST to create frameworks and strategic partnerships that will expand the capacity and reach of SCWIST, and leverage STEM women’s contributions to Canada’s economy.”

“SCWIST has always been like a family, supporting me during my career and inspiring me to volunteer and give back – so that I can help remove barriers for other women.  MS Infinity for high school girls and IWIS (Immigrating Women in STEM) are part of our core programs and our dedicated volunteers are what make this organization successful.” says Hilda Ching, one of  SCWIST’s founders, and a long-time supporter.  She adds enthusiastically, “This SCALE project will create more opportunities to get involved in SCWIST to advance gender equality!”  

SCALE will build on the accomplishments of other SCWIST programs which include MakePossible and Make DIVERSITY Possible, which were also funded by SWC. MakePossible provides 360-degree mentoring and connects over 1000 women and men from diverse STEM sectors across Canada to develop skills, share expertise and learn from a variety of perspectives using a low-barrier, online platform. Through the Make DIVERSITY Possible program, SCWIST works with STEM organizations to access a diverse talent pool and to create inclusive workplace cultures where everyone can thrive and prosper.  

 

WAGE News Release: https://bit.ly/2K1cLuH   WAGE Backgrounder:  https://bit.ly/2JKEgs4

 

SCWIST Contact:

#311 – 525 Seymour St.,  Vancouver, BC V6B 3H7, Ph: (604) 893-8657

email:  resourcecentre@scwist.ca  website: http://www.scwist.ca/