SCWIST受邀参加渥太华下议院

SCWIST应众议院第二次邀请,于23年2015月XNUMX日出席妇女地位常设委员会。

 

桑迪很高兴出席常务委员会

桑迪很高兴出席常务委员会

我们的秘书丹妮尔·利文古德(Danniele Livengood)和前推广总监桑迪·埃克斯(Sandy Eix)前往渥太华下议院,并谈到了在传统上以男性为主的STEM领域中女性代表人数的积极变化,但仍然需要做更多的工作。 以下是一些原因:

  • 与具有类似学位的男人相比,拥有STEM学位的女性更有可能失业或从事不需要学位的领域;
  • 在整个科学领域中,女性仅占全部教授职位的15%,而在工程学中只有8%的女性,而在人文学科中则只有31%;
  • NSERC排名前3.3位的受赠者中,只有25%(按赠款规模衡量)涉及妇女;
  • 在Facebook,LinkedIn和Google等高科技公司中,女性员工占35%,但女性仅占其技术员工的15-17%,而高级员工仅占20-25%。

Danniele和Sandy继续说服常务委员会,为什么性别多样性是创新的关键:

丹妮尔准备好并且有信心出席

丹妮尔准备好并且有信心出席

  • 加拿大会议委员会和公司治理的研究不仅将性别多样性与员工满意度联系在一起,而且还与改善公司的治理,创新和经济利益相关;
  • 在有更多女性的群体中,集体智慧不断增强。
  • 董事会中至少有30%的女性成员减少了“集体思考”,而女性董事则提高了公司处理复杂战略问题的能力。

从这些研究中我们可以了解到,在STEM领导层中缺少女性不仅是雄心勃勃的女性面临的问题,而且是加拿大研究人员和企业蓬勃发展的能力的限制因素。 换句话说,STEM需要女性领导者。

 

为了提高妇女在STEM中的地位,我们需要解决以下障碍:

  1. 我们不能停止支持迄今为止行之有效的倡议。 这包括 支持和宣传网络,例如SCWIST,DAWEG,WWEST,NSERC科学与工程女性主席。  它包括针对女孩和年轻女性的指导计划,例如SCWIST的 毫秒无穷大,以及我们的Double-X联网之夜。 它还包括SCWIST的技能培养机会 科学中的女性移民,女士学习守则以及针对女孩的科学技术营地。
  2. 我们必须 投资于系统以帮助人力资源专业人员和教育工作者 了解并抵消他们的偏见。 这将有助于确保STEM中针对女性的无意识系统偏见不会继续成为障碍。
  3. 我们必须 认可并庆祝多元化的组织  并讲述他们如何受益的故事。 例如,我们知道,董事会中女性人数最多的《财富》 500强公司的表现远远优于人数最少的公司。
  4. 我们必须努力 建立,连接和整合STEM中现有的女性指导和同伴支持网络。 我们需要鼓励将志趣相投的组织聚集在一起以实现共同目标的举措。 例如, 成为可能 与WWEST合作,审查并发布了有关STEM中女性的关键发现。

 

[展开阅读全文...]

在妇女地位常设委员会面前的讲话

丹妮尔·利文古德(Danniele Livengood)和桑德拉·埃克斯(Sandra Eix)

谢谢主席女士。 我叫Danniele Livengood,我叫Sandra Eix。 我们在这里代表着被称为SCWIST的加拿大科学技术妇女协会。

30多年来,SCWIST一直在科学,技术,工程和数学领域为女性提供支持和倡导。 在这段时间里,我们看到了在这些传统上以男性为主的领域中女性代表的许多积极变化。

现在,女性占STEM课程招生人数的39%,就在今年,不列颠哥伦比亚大学的工程课程招收女性人数达到了创纪录的水平,如今,女性占29%,而19年为2010%。 ,女性占生命科学研究员的35%,而在自然科学,计算机科学,工程学和数学领域则占15%。

祝贺自己并说,即使女性在STEM领域还没有完全实现公平的代表,这也很诱人,我们至少已经实施了解决方案的关键部分:鼓励和支持年轻女性参加STEM计划。

但是,仔细观察表明仍然有工作要做。

例如,加拿大统计局报告说,与拥有STEM学位的男性相比,拥有STEM学位的女性更有可能在不需要学位的领域失业或就业。 2011年美国数据显示,在非学历劳动力中,只有26%的STEM工人是女性。 然而,我们知道,总体而言,女性约占劳动力的48%。

更重要的是,无论是在学术研究还是在产业界,领导层中仍然缺少令人震惊的女性。

2013年至2014年的统计数据显示,女性在科学领域的总体教授职位中仅占15%,在工程领域的教授职位中仅占8%,而人文学科则为31%。

此外,在NSERC排名前3.3位的受赠者中(按赠款规模衡量),只有25%的女性。

外面的学术界也有类似的故事。 庞大的科技公司Facebook,LinkedIn和Google展示了令人鼓舞的多样性统计数据-通常约35%的劳动力是女性,但女性仅占其技术员工的15-17%,而高级员工仅占20-25%。

在我们理解并采取行动制止使妇女脱离STEM领导地位的历史和文化力量之前,我们仅解决了部分问题。

在21st 二十世纪及以后,加拿大和世界面临的挑战并不简单,将需要新的思维方式来应对。 认识到这一点,加拿大各地的教育系统都在不断发展,以创造力,创新,沟通,协作,解决问题和批判性思维为重点。

无论是应对气候变化,新疾病,信息经济管理还是为不断增长的人口提供食物,我们都需要有所不同。 那些在具有历史渊源的原型之外进行思考的领导者可以带来新的观点来解决复杂的,相互联系的问题。

超过20年的研究告诉我们,性别多样性是这种创新的关键。 加拿大会议委员会和公司治理的研究不仅将性别多样性与员工满意度联系在一起,而且还与改善公司的治理,创新和经济利益联系在一起。 《哈佛商业评论》上发表的一项研究表明,妇女人数较多的群体的集体智慧有所提高,《商业道德杂志》的研究发现,董事会中至少有30%的女性存在减少了“集体思维”,而女性董事则提高了公司处理复杂战略问题的能力。

从这些研究中我们可以了解到,在STEM领导层中缺少女性不仅是雄心勃勃的女性面临的问题,而且是加拿大研究人员和企业蓬勃发展的能力的限制因素。 换句话说,STEM需要女性领导者。

尽管较新的机构和企业通常更加多样化,但较旧的机构可能会发生变化。 凭借围绕多元化的稳健的公司政策和实践,加拿大皇家银行,不列颠哥伦比亚大学和许多其他大型机构一直在实现巨大的多元化,因此 能够 做完了。

在STEM工作的女性发现了成功的许多障碍。

其中一些是以阻碍它们的基础结构和系统的形式。

有些与组织或工作场所文化有关。

有些与对这些领域中女性能力的态度有关。

随着时间的流逝,在公共政策和法律的支持下,坚强的妇女及其支持者已在这些障碍中最明显的障碍上大刀阔斧,以至于剩下的障碍微妙,有时很难说清楚。 打破这些最终障碍需要我们改变思维方式,并需要一定程度的自我反思。

与30年前相比,关于谁可以参加STEM的社会态度发生了巨大变化。 公认的是,性别与数学或科学能力之间没有天生的联系。 人权立法将歧视性的雇用行为定为非法。

但是,大多数人并不了解隐性偏见,这些偏见会导致他们做出小的假设,而没有意识到这一点。 这是阻碍妇女晋升STEM的关键障碍,因为即使是最有心的老师,指导顾问,教授和招聘经理也存在内隐的偏见。 为了说明内隐偏见对女性晋升领导职位的影响,一项研究向几位理学教授提供了简历,并要求他们评估候选人担任实验室经理的职位。 男性候选人的薪水比女性候选人高12%,受过更多的指导,并且被评为比女性候选人更胜任和更具聘用能力,尽管其简历中唯一的区别是名字靠前。

定期重复使用诸如哈佛内隐偏见测验之类的工具可以帮助教育工作者,管理人员和人力资源专业人员意识到并消除偏见。 意识到是第一步。

榜样在鼓励妇女进入非传统领域方面的重要性已广为人知,这是许多成功计划(如SCWIST的《使成为可能》和ms infinity计划)以及“让我们说话的科学,科学家和创新者”的成功之道。学校,还有更多。

但是,当STEM中的女性在媒体上得到认可和庆祝时,这些故事往往反映出固有的社会刻板印象。 诸如电影的Bechdel测试之类的媒体批判性测试可以帮助识别我们过去经常看到的性别偏见。 Finkbeiner检验是一个类似的检验,用于唤起STEM领域中女性的代表,这些代表定义了她们在性别背景下的成就。 要通过此测试,关于STEM中女性的文章不得(除其他标准外)提及以下事实:她是女性,丈夫的工作,她的育儿安排或她是“第一个……的女性”。这些项目看起来很正常–甚至值得称赞-包括一个关于STEM中成功女性的故事,但我们必须自问:我们是否会针对同一领域的男人讲这些话? 虽然我们需要在媒体上看到更多STEM中的女性代表,但务必要注意她们的形象。

如您所见,在领导层仍然缺少女性在STEM中的代表。 这需要改变,因为加拿大需要满足更多的领导模式21st 世纪挑战。 妇女在STEM中取得成功的许多障碍已被消除,并且仍然存在的一些障碍是微妙的,例如隐性偏见和媒体代表。 为了向前迈进,我们需要继续支持迄今为止在STEM中有高级女性的最佳实践,我们还需要解决剩余的障碍。

首先,我们不能停止支持迄今为止效果良好的倡议。 其中包括SCWIST,DAWEG,WWEST,NSERC科学与工程女性主席等支持和宣传网络。 它包括针对女孩和年轻女性的指导计划,例如SCWIST的ms infinity,以及我们的double-X社交之夜。 它还包括技能培养机会,例如SCWIST的《科学中的移民妇女》,《女士学习法》以及女孩的科学技术营地。

其次,我们必须在系统上进行投资,以帮助人力资源专业人员和教育工作者了解并消除他们的偏见。 这将有助于确保STEM中针对女性的无意识系统偏见不会继续成为障碍。

为专业人员和学者举办的讲习班,在分享最佳做法以消除偏见的支持下,可能会大为改变。 该领域的有希望的举措包括WinSETT研讨会系列,Make Possible的HR​​融合研讨会以及Digital Nova Scotia正在开发的关于多样性的HR工具包。

第三,我们必须承认和赞扬多元化的组织,并讲述其如何受益的故事。 例如,我们知道,董事会中女性人数最多的财富500强公司的表现远远优于人数最少的公司。 当广泛理解多元化的业务案例时,在成熟的机构和公司中促进变革将变得更加容易。

最后,我们必须努力建立,连接和整合STEM中现有的女性指导和同伴支持网络。 我们需要鼓励将志趣相投的组织聚集在一起以实现共同目标的倡议。 例如,“可能”与WWEST合作审查和发布了有关STEM中女性的关键发现。 创建连接是在大温哥华地区举行的一次会议,大学和学院的STEM学生与支持STEM中的女性的组织会面,“将所有性别的人聚集在一起……讨论个人和职业发展,网络和灵感的问题。”

STEM中的妇女及其盟友还有许多工作要做,以向加拿大提供21年来必要的STEM领导才能st 世纪及以后。 到目前为止,我们所取得的进步证明了我们在应对下一组挑战时的乐观态度和进一步的支持。

[/展开] [展开,请参阅参考文献列表]

http://news.ubc.ca/2015/02/20/ubc-engineering-enrols-record-number-of-women-in-2014/

http://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/Women-Femmes/index_eng.asp

http://www.scienceadvice.ca/uploads/eng/assessments%20and%20publications%20and%20news%20releases/women_university_research/wur_fullreporten.pdf.pdf

http://www.caut.ca/docs/default-source/almanac/almanac_2013-2014_print_finalE20A5E5CA0EA6529968D1CAF.pdf?sfvrsn=2

 http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75-006-x/2013001/article/11874-eng.htm

http://www.census.gov/prod/2013pubs/acs-24.pdf

http://www.bced.gov.bc.ca/irp/transforming_curriculum.php

http://www.conferenceboard.ca/e-library/abstract.aspx?did=374

http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/1467-8683.00011/abstract;jsessionid=AAE4E88C363D087A8C830F3AF5D9AC0B.f02t03?deniedAccessCustomisedMessage=&userIsAuthenticated=false

https://hbr.org/2011/06/defend-your-research-what-makes-a-team-smarter-more-women/ar/1

http://www.aabri.com/manuscripts/131516.pdf

http://www.rbc.com/diversity/pdf/rbc-diversity-blueprint.pdf

http://www.canadastop100.com/diversity/

Moss-Racusin,C。等。 (2012)。 理科教授的细微性别偏向偏爱男学生。 美利坚合众国国家科学院院刊, 109(41),16474-16479。

https://implicit.harvard.edu/implicit/

http://www.kcl.ac.uk/ioppn/news/previous-events-and-podcasts/Paper-Same-Gender-Role-Models-Lockwood.pdf

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bechdel_test

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Finkbeiner_test

家庭DNS

http://www.canadastop100.com/diversity/

http://www.catalyst.org/knowledge/bottom-line-corporate-performance-and-womens-representation-boards-20042008

[/扩大]

SCWIST Invited to House of Commons in Ottawa

SCWIST was invited by the House of Commons for the second time to present to the Standing Committee on the Status of Women on April 23, 2015.

 

Sandy excited to present to the Standing Committee

Sandy excited to present to the Standing Committee

Our secretary, Danniele Livengood, and past Director of Outreach, Sandy Eix, traveled to Ottawa to the House of Commons and spoke about positive changes in the representation of women in the traditionally male-dominated STEM fields but more work still needs to be done.  Below are some of the reasons:

  • Women with STEM degrees are more likely to be unemployed or employed in fields which do not require a degree compared to men with similar degrees;
  • Women hold only 15% of full professorships in science overall, and only 8% of full professorships in engineering, as compared to 31% in humanities;
  • Only 3.3 % of the top 25 NSERC grantees (as measured by grant size) involve women;
  • In high tech companies like Facebook, LinkedIn and Google, 35% of their workforce is women, but women represent only 15-17% of their technical employees and only 20-25% of senior staff.

Danniele and Sandy continued to convince the Standing Committee why gender diversity is key to innovation:

Danniele ready and confident to present

Danniele ready and confident to present

  • Studies by the Conference Board of Canada and Corporate Governance link gender diversity not just to employee satisfaction, but also to improved governance, innovation, and economic benefits for corporations;
  • Collective intelligence rises in a group with more women;
  • The presence of at least 30% women on a board decreases “groupthink”, while women directors improve a firm’s ability to navigate complex strategic issues.

What we can learn from these studies is that a lack of women in STEM leadership isn’t just a problem for ambitious women – it’s a limiting factor in the ability of Canada’s researchers and corporations to thrive and grow. In other words, STEM needs female leaders.

 

To advance women in STEM, we need to address the barriers:

  1. We cannot stop supporting the initiatives that have worked well so far.  This includes support and advocacy networks like SCWIST, DAWEG, WWEST, the NSERC Chairs for Women in Science and Engineering.  It includes mentorship programs for girls and young women like SCWIST’s ms infinity, and our double-X networking evening. It also includes skill-building opportunities like SCWIST’s Immigrating Women in Science, Ladies Learning Code, and science and tech camps for girls.
  2. We must invest in systems to help HR professionals and educators understand and counteract their biases. This will help ensure that unconscious systemic biases against women in STEM will not continue as barriers.
  3. We must recognize and celebrate organizations that are models of diversity  and tell the story of how they have benefited. For example, we know that the Fortune 500 companies with the most women on their boards of directors far outperform the companies with the fewest.
  4. We must work to build, connect and integrate the existing networks of mentorship and peer support for women in STEM. We need to encourage initiatives that bring like-minded organizations together for common goals. For example, Make Possible worked with WWEST to review and publish key findings about women in STEM.

 

Speech Delivered in front of the Standing Committee on Status of Women

by Danniele Livengood & Sandra Eix

Thank-you Madam Chair. My name is Danniele Livengood and this is Sandra Eix.  We are here representing the Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology, fondly known as SCWIST.

For more than 30 years, SCWIST has been supporting and advocating for women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.  Over this time, we have seen many positive changes in the representation of women in these traditionally male-dominated fields.

Women now account for 39% of students enrolled in STEM programs, and just this year, the University of British Columbia achieved record numbers for enrolling women in their engineering programs that now boast 29% women up from 19% in 2010. At the faculty level, women are 35% of life sciences researchers and 15% in physical sciences, computer science, engineering, and mathematics.

It would be tempting to congratulate ourselves and to say that, even if women haven’t completely achieved equitable representation in STEM fields, we have at least implemented a key part of the solution: encouraging and supporting young women entering STEM programs.

However, a closer look indicates that there is still work to be done.

For example, Statistics Canada reports that in comparison to men with STEM degrees, women with STEM degrees are more likely to be unemployed or employed in fields which do not require a degree. 2011 US data shows that in the non-academic workforce only 26 % of STEM workers were women. Yet we know that overall women make up around 48% of the workforce.

More significantly there is still an alarming absence of women at the leadership level, both in academic research and in industry.

Statistics from 2013-2014 show that women hold only 15% of full professorships in science overall, and only 8% of full professorships in engineering, as compared to 31% in humanities.

Also, only 3.3 % of the top 25 NSERC grantees (as measured by grant size) involve women.

The story is similar outside academia. Huge tech companies Facebook, LinkedIn and Google show promising diversity statistics – typically around 35% of their workforce is women, but women represent only 15-17% of their technical employees and only 20-25% of senior staff.

Until we understand and act to counter the historical and cultural forces that keep women from STEM leadership, we’ve only solved part of the problem.

In the 21st century and beyond, the challenges that face Canada and the world are not simple, and new kinds of thinking will be required to take them on.  Recognizing this, education systems across Canada are evolving to focus on creativity, innovation, communication, collaboration, problem solving and critical thinking.

Whether addressing climate change, new diseases, management of an information economy or feeding a growing population, we need to think differently.  Leaders who think outside of the historically informed archetype can bring fresh perspectives to solve complex, interconnected problems.

Over 20 years of research tells us that gender diversity is key to this kind of innovation.  Studies by the Conference Board of Canada and Corporate Governance link gender diversity not just to employee satisfaction, but also to improved governance, innovation, and economic benefits for corporations. A study published in The Harvard Business Review illustrated that collective intelligence rises in a group with more women, and studies in the Journal of Business Ethics found that the presence of at least 30% women on a board decreases “groupthink”, while women directors improve a firm’s ability to navigate complex strategic issues.

What we can learn from these studies is that a lack of women in STEM leadership isn’t just a problem for ambitious women – it’s a limiting factor in the ability of Canada’s researchers and corporations to thrive and grow. In other words, STEM needs female leaders.

Although newer institutions and businesses are typically more diverse it is possible for older institutions to change. With solid corporate policies and practices around diversity, the Royal Bank of Canada, the University of British Columbia and many other large institutions have been making huge diversity strides so it can be done.

Women working in STEM identify many barriers to their success.

Some of these are in the form of infrastructure and systems that hold them back.

Some are related to organizational or workplace culture.

Some are related to attitudes about women’s abilities in these fields.

Over time, strong women and their supporters, bolstered by public policy and law, have chipped away significantly at the most obvious of these barriers, to the point that the remaining roadblocks are subtle and sometimes hard to articulate. Breaking down these final barriers requires us to change how we think and requires a level of self-reflection.

Compared to 30 years ago, societal attitudes about who can and should participate in STEM have changed enormously.  It’s well established that there is no innate connection between gender and mathematical or scientific ability. Human rights legislation makes discriminatory hiring practices illegal.

However, most people are not aware of implicit biases which cause them to make small assumptions without realizing it. This is a critical barrier to women advancing in STEM, since even the best-intentioned teachers, guidance counselors, professors and hiring managers have implicit biases. To illustrate the effects of implicit bias on women’s advancement to leadership positions, a study presented a CV to several science professors and asked them to evaluate the candidate for a lab manager position. The male candidate was offered 12% higher salary, more mentorship and was rated more competent and hireable than the female candidate – even though the only difference in their CVs was the name at the top.

Regular and repeated use of instruments like the Harvard Implicit Bias Test can help educators, managers and HR professionals become aware of and combat biases. Being aware is the first step.

The importance of role models in encouraging women as they enter non-traditional fields is widely recognized and is the raison d’être of many successful programs like SCWIST’s Make Possible, and ms infinity programs, as well as Let’s Talk Science, Scientists and Innovators in the Schools, and many more.

However, when women in STEM are recognized and celebrated in the media, the stories often reflect inherent societal stereotypes. Media critical tests like the Bechdel test for movies can help identify the gender biases that we are so used to seeing. An analogous test, the Finkbeiner test, serves to call out representations of women in STEM fields that define their successes in the context of their gender. To pass this test, articles about a woman in STEM must not mention (among other criteria) the fact that she’s a woman, her husband’s job, her child care arrangements or how she’s the “first woman to…” These items may seem normal –even laudable – to include in a story about a successful women in STEM, but we have to ask ourselves: would we say these things about a man in the same field. While we need to see more women in STEM represented in the media it’s essential to be mindful of HOW they are portrayed.

As you can see, the representation of women in STEM is still lacking at the leadership level.  This needs to change, because more diverse models of leadership are what Canada needs to meet 21st century challenges.  Many of the roadblocks to women’s success in STEM have been removed, and some of the barriers that remain are subtle like implicit bias and media representation.  To move forward, we need to continue to support the best practices that have advanced women in STEM thus far, and we also need to address the remaining barriers.

First, we cannot stop supporting the initiatives that have worked well so far.  This includes support and advocacy networks like SCWIST, DAWEG, WWEST, the NSERC Chairs for Women in Science and Engineering.  It includes mentorship programs for girls and young women like SCWIST’s ms infinity, and our double-X networking evening. It also includes skill-building opportunities like SCWIST’s Immigrating Women in Science, Ladies Learning Code, and science and tech camps for girls.

Second, we must invest in systems to help HR professionals and educators understand and counteract their biases. This will help ensure that unconscious systemic biases against women in STEM will not continue as barriers.

Workshops for professionals and academics, supported by the sharing of best practices for combating biases could change the landscape greatly. Promising initiatives in this area include the WinSETT workshop series, Make Possible’s HR Inclusion Workshop, and the HR toolkit on diversity being developed by Digital Nova Scotia

Third, we must recognize and celebrate organizations that are models of diversity  and tell the story of how they have benefited. For example, we know that the Fortune 500 companies with the most women on their boards of directors far outperform the companies with the fewest. Motivating change in well established institutions and corporations will be easier when the business case for diversity is widely understood.

Finally, we must work to build, connect and integrate the existing networks of mentorship and peer support for women in STEM. We need to encourage initiatives that bring like-minded organizations together for common goals. For example, Make Possible worked with WWEST to review and publish key findings about women in STEM.  Creating Connections is a conference in Metro Vancouver where university and college STEM students meet with organizations that support women in STEM to “bring together people of all genders … to discuss issues of personal and professional development, networking, and inspiration.”

Women in STEM and their allies have a lot of work still to do, to provide Canada with the STEM leadership necessary for the 21st century and beyond. The advances we’ve made thus far justify optimism and further support as we take on the next set of challenges.

http://news.ubc.ca/2015/02/20/ubc-engineering-enrols-record-number-of-women-in-2014/

http://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/Women-Femmes/index_eng.asp

http://www.scienceadvice.ca/uploads/eng/assessments%20and%20publications%20and%20news%20releases/women_university_research/wur_fullreporten.pdf.pdf

http://www.caut.ca/docs/default-source/almanac/almanac_2013-2014_print_finalE20A5E5CA0EA6529968D1CAF.pdf?sfvrsn=2

 http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75-006-x/2013001/article/11874-eng.htm

http://www.census.gov/prod/2013pubs/acs-24.pdf

http://www.bced.gov.bc.ca/irp/transforming_curriculum.php

http://www.conferenceboard.ca/e-library/abstract.aspx?did=374

http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/1467-8683.00011/abstract;jsessionid=AAE4E88C363D087A8C830F3AF5D9AC0B.f02t03?deniedAccessCustomisedMessage=&userIsAuthenticated=false

https://hbr.org/2011/06/defend-your-research-what-makes-a-team-smarter-more-women/ar/1

http://www.aabri.com/manuscripts/131516.pdf

http://www.rbc.com/diversity/pdf/rbc-diversity-blueprint.pdf

http://www.canadastop100.com/diversity/

Moss-Racusin, C. et al. (2012). Science faculty’s subtle gender biases favor male students. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 109(41), 16474-16479.

https://implicit.harvard.edu/implicit/

http://www.kcl.ac.uk/ioppn/news/previous-events-and-podcasts/Paper-Same-Gender-Role-Models-Lockwood.pdf

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bechdel_test

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Finkbeiner_test

http://www.digitalnovascotia.com

http://www.canadastop100.com/diversity/

http://www.catalyst.org/knowledge/bottom-line-corporate-performance-and-womens-representation-boards-20042008