SCWIST مدعو إلى مجلس العموم في أوتاوا

تمت دعوة SCWIST من قبل مجلس العموم للمرة الثانية لتقديمه إلى اللجنة الدائمة المعنية بوضع المرأة في 23 أبريل 2015.

 

ساندي متحمسة لتقديمها إلى اللجنة الدائمة

ساندي متحمسة لتقديمها إلى اللجنة الدائمة

سافرت سكرتيرتنا ، دانييل ليفينغود ، والمديرة السابقة للتواصل ، ساندي إيكس ، إلى أوتاوا إلى مجلس العموم وتحدثا عن التغييرات الإيجابية في تمثيل المرأة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات التي يهيمن عليها الذكور تقليديًا ، ولكن لا يزال يتعين القيام بالمزيد من العمل. فيما يلي بعض الأسباب:

  • من المرجح أن تكون النساء الحاصلات على درجات علمية في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات عاطلات عن العمل أو يعملن في مجالات لا تتطلب درجة علمية مقارنة بالرجال الحاصلين على درجات مماثلة ؛
  • تشغل النساء 15٪ فقط من الأستاذية الكاملة في العلوم بشكل عام ، و 8٪ فقط من الأستاذية الكاملة في الهندسة ، مقارنة بـ 31٪ في العلوم الإنسانية ؛
  • 3.3٪ فقط من أفضل 25 متلقي منحة NSERC (وفقًا لحجم المنحة) تشمل النساء ؛
  • في شركات التكنولوجيا الفائقة مثل Facebook و LinkedIn و Google ، 35٪ من القوى العاملة لديها من النساء ، لكن النساء يمثلن 15-17٪ فقط من الموظفين الفنيين و 20-25٪ فقط من كبار الموظفين.

واصل دانييل وساندي إقناع اللجنة الدائمة لماذا يعد التنوع بين الجنسين مفتاح الابتكار:

Danniele جاهز وواثق لتقديمه

Danniele جاهز وواثق لتقديمه

  • تربط الدراسات التي أجراها مجلس المؤتمر الكندي وحوكمة الشركات التنوع بين الجنسين ليس فقط برضا الموظفين ، ولكن أيضًا بتحسين الحوكمة والابتكار والفوائد الاقتصادية للشركات ؛
  • يرتفع الذكاء الجماعي في مجموعة تضم المزيد من النساء ؛
  • إن وجود ما لا يقل عن 30٪ من النساء في مجلس الإدارة يقلل "التفكير الجماعي" ، بينما تعمل مديرات النساء على تحسين قدرة الشركة على التعامل مع القضايا الإستراتيجية المعقدة.

ما يمكن أن نتعلمه من هذه الدراسات هو أن نقص النساء في قيادة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات لا يمثل مشكلة للمرأة الطموحة فحسب - بل هو عامل يحد من قدرة الباحثين والشركات الكندية على الازدهار والنمو. بعبارة أخرى ، تحتاج STEM إلى قيادات نسائية.

 

للنهوض بالمرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، نحتاج إلى معالجة الحواجز:

  1. لا يمكننا التوقف عن دعم المبادرات التي نجحت حتى الآن. هذا يتضمن شبكات الدعم والدعوة مثل SCWIST و DAWEG و WWEST وكراسي NSERC للنساء في العلوم والهندسة.  يتضمن برامج إرشادية للفتيات والشابات مثل SCWIST السيدة اللانهاية، وأمسية شبكات Double-X. ويتضمن أيضًا فرصًا لبناء المهارات مثل SCWIST النساء المهاجرات في العلوم، كود التعلم للسيدات ، ومعسكرات العلوم والتكنولوجيا للفتيات.
  2. يجب علينا الاستثمار في أنظمة لمساعدة المتخصصين في الموارد البشرية والمعلمين فهم ومواجهة تحيزاتهم. سيساعد هذا في ضمان عدم استمرار التحيزات المنهجية اللاواعية ضد المرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات كحواجز.
  3. يجب علينا التعرف والاحتفال بالمنظمات التي تمثل نماذج للتنوع  وتحكي قصة كيف استفادوا. على سبيل المثال ، نحن نعلم أن شركات Fortune 500 التي تضم أكبر عدد من النساء في مجالس إدارتها تتفوق بكثير في الأداء على الشركات ذات العدد الأقل.
  4. يجب علينا أن نعمل بناء وتوصيل ودمج الشبكات الحالية للإرشاد ودعم الأقران للنساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. نحن بحاجة إلى تشجيع المبادرات التي تجمع المنظمات ذات التفكير المماثل معًا لتحقيق أهداف مشتركة. فمثلا، جعل ذلك ممكنا عملت مع WWEST لمراجعة ونشر النتائج الرئيسية حول المرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

 

[وسّع اقرأ الخطاب بأكمله ...]

كلمة ألقيت أمام اللجنة الدائمة لأوضاع المرأة

بواسطة دانييل ليفينجود وساندرا إيكس

شكرا سيدتي الرئيسة. اسمي Danniele Livengood وهذه ساندرا إيكس. نحن هنا نمثل جمعية المرأة الكندية في العلوم والتكنولوجيا ، المعروفة باسم SCWIST.

لأكثر من 30 عامًا ، يدعم SCWIST ويدافع عن النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. خلال هذا الوقت ، شهدنا العديد من التغييرات الإيجابية في تمثيل المرأة في هذه المجالات التي يهيمن عليها الذكور تقليديًا.

تمثل النساء الآن 39٪ من الطلاب المسجلين في برامج العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، وفي هذا العام فقط ، حققت جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية أرقامًا قياسية لتسجيل النساء في برامجها الهندسية التي تضم الآن 29٪ من النساء مقابل 19٪ في عام 2010. على مستوى هيئة التدريس ، تشكل النساء 35٪ من باحثي علوم الحياة و 15٪ في العلوم الفيزيائية وعلوم الكمبيوتر والهندسة والرياضيات.

سيكون من المغري أن نهنئ أنفسنا ونقول إنه حتى لو لم تحقق النساء تمثيلًا عادلًا في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، فقد قمنا على الأقل بتنفيذ جزء رئيسي من الحل: تشجيع ودعم الشابات اللائي يدخلن برامج العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

ومع ذلك ، فإن نظرة فاحصة تشير إلى أنه لا يزال هناك عمل يتعين القيام به.

على سبيل المثال ، ذكرت هيئة الإحصاء الكندية أنه بالمقارنة مع الرجال الحاصلين على درجات STEM ، فإن النساء الحاصلات على درجات STEM أكثر عرضة للبطالة أو العمل في المجالات التي لا تتطلب درجة. تُظهر بيانات الولايات المتحدة لعام 2011 أنه في القوى العاملة غير الأكاديمية ، كان 26٪ فقط من العاملين في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات من النساء. ومع ذلك فنحن نعلم أن النساء بشكل عام يشكلن حوالي 48٪ من القوة العاملة.

والأهم من ذلك أنه لا يزال هناك غياب مفزع للمرأة على مستوى القيادة ، سواء في البحث الأكاديمي أو في الصناعة.

تُظهر إحصاءات 2013-2014 أن النساء يشغلن 15٪ فقط من الأستاذية الكاملة في العلوم بشكل عام ، و 8٪ فقط من الأستاذية الكاملة في الهندسة ، مقارنة بـ 31٪ في العلوم الإنسانية.

أيضًا ، فإن 3.3٪ فقط من أفضل 25 متلقيًا من NSERC (وفقًا لحجم المنحة) تشمل النساء.

القصة مماثلة خارج الأوساط الأكاديمية. تعرض شركات التكنولوجيا الضخمة Facebook و LinkedIn و Google إحصاءات تنوع واعدة - عادة ما تكون حوالي 35٪ من قوتها العاملة من النساء ، لكن النساء يمثلن 15-17٪ فقط من موظفيها التقنيين و 20-25٪ فقط من كبار الموظفين.

إلى أن نفهم القوى التاريخية والثقافية التي تمنع النساء من قيادة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ونعمل على مواجهتها ، فقد حللنا فقط جزءًا من المشكلة.

في 21st قرن وما بعده ، التحديات التي تواجه كندا والعالم ليست بسيطة ، وستكون هناك حاجة لأنواع جديدة من التفكير لمواجهة هذه التحديات. إدراكًا لذلك ، تتطور أنظمة التعليم في جميع أنحاء كندا للتركيز على الإبداع والابتكار والتواصل والتعاون وحل المشكلات والتفكير النقدي.

سواء كنا نتصدى لتغير المناخ أو الأمراض الجديدة أو إدارة اقتصاد المعلومات أو إطعام عدد متزايد من السكان ، فنحن بحاجة إلى التفكير بشكل مختلف. يمكن للقادة الذين يفكرون خارج النموذج الأصلي المستنير تاريخيًا أن يجلبوا وجهات نظر جديدة لحل المشكلات المعقدة والمترابطة.

يخبرنا أكثر من 20 عامًا من البحث أن التنوع بين الجنسين هو مفتاح هذا النوع من الابتكار. تربط الدراسات التي أجراها مجلس المؤتمر الكندي وحوكمة الشركات التنوع بين الجنسين ليس فقط برضا الموظفين ، ولكن أيضًا بتحسين الحوكمة والابتكار والفوائد الاقتصادية للشركات. أوضحت دراسة نُشرت في The Harvard Business Review أن الذكاء الجماعي يرتفع في مجموعة تضم عددًا أكبر من النساء ، ووجدت دراسات في مجلة أخلاقيات العمل أن وجود ما لا يقل عن 30٪ من النساء في مجلس الإدارة يقلل "التفكير الجماعي" ، بينما تتحسن مديرات النساء قدرة الشركة على التعامل مع القضايا الإستراتيجية المعقدة.

ما يمكن أن نتعلمه من هذه الدراسات هو أن نقص النساء في قيادة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات لا يمثل مشكلة للمرأة الطموحة فحسب - بل هو عامل يحد من قدرة الباحثين والشركات الكندية على الازدهار والنمو. بعبارة أخرى ، تحتاج STEM إلى قيادات نسائية.

على الرغم من أن المؤسسات والشركات الجديدة تكون عادة أكثر تنوعًا ، فمن الممكن أن تتغير المؤسسات القديمة. من خلال سياسات وممارسات الشركات القوية حول التنوع ، فإن Royal Bank of Canada وجامعة كولومبيا البريطانية والعديد من المؤسسات الكبيرة الأخرى قد خطوا خطوات تنوع هائلة لذلك يستطيع ينبغي القيام به.

تحدد النساء العاملات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات العديد من العوائق التي تحول دون نجاحهن.

بعضها في شكل بنية تحتية وأنظمة تعيقها.

يرتبط بعضها بالثقافة التنظيمية أو في مكان العمل.

يرتبط بعضها بالمواقف حول قدرات المرأة في هذه المجالات.

بمرور الوقت ، تخلصت النساء القويات وأنصارهن ، المدعومين بالسياسة العامة والقانون ، بشكل كبير من أكثر هذه الحواجز وضوحًا ، لدرجة أن الحواجز المتبقية كانت خفية ويصعب أحيانًا توضيحها. يتطلب كسر هذه الحواجز النهائية تغيير طريقة تفكيرنا ويتطلب مستوى من التفكير الذاتي.

مقارنةً بما كان عليه الحال قبل 30 عامًا ، تغيرت المواقف المجتمعية حول من يمكنه ويجب عليه المشاركة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات بشكل كبير. من الثابت أنه لا توجد علاقة فطرية بين الجنس والقدرة الرياضية أو العلمية. تشريعات حقوق الإنسان تجعل ممارسات التوظيف التمييزية غير قانونية.

ومع ذلك ، فإن معظم الناس لا يدركون التحيزات الضمنية التي تجعلهم يقومون بافتراضات صغيرة دون إدراك ذلك. يعد هذا عائقًا حاسمًا أمام تقدم النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) ، نظرًا لأنه حتى المعلمات الأفضل نواياًا ، ومستشارو التوجيه ، والأساتذة ومديرو التوظيف لديهم تحيزات ضمنية. لتوضيح آثار التحيز الضمني على تقدم المرأة إلى المناصب القيادية ، قدمت دراسة سيرة ذاتية للعديد من أساتذة العلوم وطلبت منهم تقييم المرشح لمنصب مدير المختبر. عُرض على المرشح الذكر راتباً أعلى بنسبة 12٪ ، ومزيد من الإرشاد ، وصُنف على أنه أكثر كفاءة وقابلية للتوظيف من المرشحة - على الرغم من أن الاختلاف الوحيد في سيرته الذاتية كان الاسم في الأعلى.

يمكن أن يساعد الاستخدام المنتظم والمتكرر لأدوات مثل اختبار التحيز الضمني بجامعة هارفارد المعلمين والمديرين وخبراء الموارد البشرية على إدراك التحيزات ومكافحتها. الوعي هو الخطوة الأولى.

إن أهمية النماذج التي يحتذى بها في تشجيع النساء عند دخولهن المجالات غير التقليدية معترف بها على نطاق واسع وهي سبب وجود العديد من البرامج الناجحة مثل SCWIST's Make Possible و ms infinity ، بالإضافة إلى Let's Talk Science والعلماء والمبدعين في المدارس وغيرها الكثير.

ومع ذلك ، عندما يتم التعرف على النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات والاحتفاء بها في وسائل الإعلام ، فإن القصص غالبًا ما تعكس الصور النمطية المجتمعية المتأصلة. يمكن أن تساعد الاختبارات الحاسمة لوسائل الإعلام مثل اختبار Bechdel للأفلام في تحديد التحيزات بين الجنسين التي اعتدنا على رؤيتها. يعمل اختبار مماثل ، اختبار Finkbeiner ، على استدعاء تمثيلات النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات التي تحدد نجاحاتهن في سياق جنسهن. لاجتياز هذا الاختبار ، يجب ألا تذكر المقالات المتعلقة بالمرأة في STEM (من بين معايير أخرى) حقيقة أنها امرأة أو وظيفة زوجها أو ترتيبات رعاية أطفالها أو كيف أنها "أول امرأة ..." قد تبدو هذه العناصر طبيعية - جدير بالثناء - لتضمينه في قصة عن امرأة ناجحة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، لكن علينا أن نسأل أنفسنا: هل نقول هذه الأشياء عن رجل في نفس المجال. بينما نحتاج إلى رؤية المزيد من النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ممثلة في وسائل الإعلام ، من الضروري أن نضع في اعتبارنا كيفية تصويرهن.

كما ترون ، لا يزال تمثيل المرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات مفقودًا على مستوى القيادة. هذا يحتاج إلى التغيير ، لأن نماذج القيادة الأكثر تنوعًا هي ما تحتاجه كندا لتلبية 21st تحديات القرن. تمت إزالة العديد من حواجز الطريق أمام نجاح المرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، وبعض الحواجز المتبقية خفية مثل التحيز الضمني وتمثيل وسائل الإعلام. للمضي قدمًا ، نحتاج إلى الاستمرار في دعم أفضل الممارسات التي طورت النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات حتى الآن ، كما نحتاج إلى معالجة العوائق المتبقية.

أولاً ، لا يمكننا التوقف عن دعم المبادرات التي نجحت بشكل جيد حتى الآن. وهذا يشمل شبكات الدعم والدعوة مثل SCWIST و DAWEG و WWEST وكراسي NSERC للنساء في العلوم والهندسة. ويتضمن برامج إرشادية للفتيات والشابات مثل MS infinity لـ SCWIST ، وأمسية شبكات Double-X الخاصة بنا. كما يتضمن فرصًا لبناء المهارات مثل النساء المهاجرات في العلوم التابع لـ SCWIST ، وقانون تعليم السيدات ، ومعسكرات العلوم والتكنولوجيا للفتيات.

ثانيًا ، يجب أن نستثمر في أنظمة لمساعدة متخصصي الموارد البشرية والمعلمين على فهم تحيزاتهم والتصدي لها. سيساعد هذا في ضمان عدم استمرار التحيزات المنهجية اللاواعية ضد المرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات كحواجز.

ورش العمل للمهنيين والأكاديميين ، مدعومة بمشاركة أفضل الممارسات لمكافحة التحيزات ، يمكن أن تغير المشهد بشكل كبير. تشمل المبادرات الواعدة في هذا المجال سلسلة ورش عمل WinSETT ، وورشة عمل دمج الموارد البشرية في Make Possible ، ومجموعة أدوات الموارد البشرية حول التنوع التي يتم تطويرها بواسطة Digital Nova Scotia

ثالثًا ، يجب أن ندرك ونحتفل بالمنظمات التي تمثل نماذج للتنوع ونحكي قصة كيف استفادوا. على سبيل المثال ، نحن نعلم أن شركات Fortune 500 التي تضم أكبر عدد من النساء في مجالس إدارتها تتفوق بكثير في الأداء على الشركات ذات العدد الأقل. سيكون تحفيز التغيير في المؤسسات والشركات الراسخة أسهل عندما تكون دراسة الجدوى الخاصة بالتنوع مفهومة على نطاق واسع.

أخيرًا ، يجب أن نعمل على بناء وتوصيل ودمج الشبكات الحالية للإرشاد ودعم الأقران للنساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. نحن بحاجة إلى تشجيع المبادرات التي تجمع المنظمات ذات التفكير المماثل معًا لتحقيق أهداف مشتركة. على سبيل المثال ، عملت Make Possible مع WWEST لمراجعة ونشر النتائج الرئيسية حول النساء في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. يُعد إنشاء الاتصالات مؤتمرًا في مترو فانكوفر حيث يلتقي طلاب الجامعات والكليات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) مع المنظمات التي تدعم النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) "للجمع بين الناس من جميع الأجناس ... لمناقشة قضايا التطوير الشخصي والمهني ، والتواصل ، والإلهام".

لا يزال أمام النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات وحلفائهن الكثير من العمل الذي يتعين عليهن القيام به ، لتزويد كندا بقيادة STEM اللازمة لـ 21st قرن وما بعده. إن التقدم الذي أحرزناه حتى الآن يبرر التفاؤل والمزيد من الدعم بينما نتصدى للمجموعة التالية من التحديات.

[/ Expand] [Expand See List of References]

http://news.ubc.ca/2015/02/20/ubc-engineering-enrols-record-number-of-women-in-2014/

http://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/Women-Femmes/index_eng.asp

http://www.scienceadvice.ca/uploads/eng/assessments%20and%20publications%20and%20news%20releases/women_university_research/wur_fullreporten.pdf.pdf

http://www.caut.ca/docs/default-source/almanac/almanac_2013-2014_print_finalE20A5E5CA0EA6529968D1CAF.pdf?sfvrsn=2

 http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75-006-x/2013001/article/11874-eng.htm

http://www.census.gov/prod/2013pubs/acs-24.pdf

http://www.bced.gov.bc.ca/irp/transforming_curriculum.php

http://www.conferenceboard.ca/e-library/abstract.aspx?did=374

http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/1467-8683.00011/abstract;jsessionid=AAE4E88C363D087A8C830F3AF5D9AC0B.f02t03?deniedAccessCustomisedMessage=&userIsAuthenticated=false

https://hbr.org/2011/06/defend-your-research-what-makes-a-team-smarter-more-women/ar/1

http://www.aabri.com/manuscripts/131516.pdf

http://www.rbc.com/diversity/pdf/rbc-diversity-blueprint.pdf

http://www.canadastop100.com/diversity/

Moss-Racusin، C. et al. (2012). التحيزات الدقيقة بين الجنسين في كلية العلوم تفضل الطلاب الذكور. وقائع الأكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، شنومكس (شنومكس)، شنومكس-شنومكس.

https://implicit.harvard.edu/implicit/

http://www.kcl.ac.uk/ioppn/news/previous-events-and-podcasts/Paper-Same-Gender-Role-Models-Lockwood.pdf

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bechdel_test

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Finkbeiner_test

المنزل

http://www.canadastop100.com/diversity/

http://www.catalyst.org/knowledge/bottom-line-corporate-performance-and-womens-representation-boards-20042008

[/وسعت]

SCWIST Invited to House of Commons in Ottawa

SCWIST was invited by the House of Commons for the second time to present to the Standing Committee on the Status of Women on April 23, 2015.

 

Sandy excited to present to the Standing Committee

Sandy excited to present to the Standing Committee

Our secretary, Danniele Livengood, and past Director of Outreach, Sandy Eix, traveled to Ottawa to the House of Commons and spoke about positive changes in the representation of women in the traditionally male-dominated STEM fields but more work still needs to be done.  Below are some of the reasons:

  • Women with STEM degrees are more likely to be unemployed or employed in fields which do not require a degree compared to men with similar degrees;
  • Women hold only 15% of full professorships in science overall, and only 8% of full professorships in engineering, as compared to 31% in humanities;
  • Only 3.3 % of the top 25 NSERC grantees (as measured by grant size) involve women;
  • In high tech companies like Facebook, LinkedIn and Google, 35% of their workforce is women, but women represent only 15-17% of their technical employees and only 20-25% of senior staff.

Danniele and Sandy continued to convince the Standing Committee why gender diversity is key to innovation:

Danniele ready and confident to present

Danniele ready and confident to present

  • Studies by the Conference Board of Canada and Corporate Governance link gender diversity not just to employee satisfaction, but also to improved governance, innovation, and economic benefits for corporations;
  • Collective intelligence rises in a group with more women;
  • The presence of at least 30% women on a board decreases “groupthink”, while women directors improve a firm’s ability to navigate complex strategic issues.

What we can learn from these studies is that a lack of women in STEM leadership isn’t just a problem for ambitious women – it’s a limiting factor in the ability of Canada’s researchers and corporations to thrive and grow. In other words, STEM needs female leaders.

 

To advance women in STEM, we need to address the barriers:

  1. We cannot stop supporting the initiatives that have worked well so far.  This includes support and advocacy networks like SCWIST, DAWEG, WWEST, the NSERC Chairs for Women in Science and Engineering.  It includes mentorship programs for girls and young women like SCWIST’s ms infinity, and our double-X networking evening. It also includes skill-building opportunities like SCWIST’s Immigrating Women in Science, Ladies Learning Code, and science and tech camps for girls.
  2. We must invest in systems to help HR professionals and educators understand and counteract their biases. This will help ensure that unconscious systemic biases against women in STEM will not continue as barriers.
  3. We must recognize and celebrate organizations that are models of diversity  and tell the story of how they have benefited. For example, we know that the Fortune 500 companies with the most women on their boards of directors far outperform the companies with the fewest.
  4. We must work to build, connect and integrate the existing networks of mentorship and peer support for women in STEM. We need to encourage initiatives that bring like-minded organizations together for common goals. For example, Make Possible worked with WWEST to review and publish key findings about women in STEM.

 

Speech Delivered in front of the Standing Committee on Status of Women

by Danniele Livengood & Sandra Eix

Thank-you Madam Chair. My name is Danniele Livengood and this is Sandra Eix.  We are here representing the Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology, fondly known as SCWIST.

For more than 30 years, SCWIST has been supporting and advocating for women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.  Over this time, we have seen many positive changes in the representation of women in these traditionally male-dominated fields.

Women now account for 39% of students enrolled in STEM programs, and just this year, the University of British Columbia achieved record numbers for enrolling women in their engineering programs that now boast 29% women up from 19% in 2010. At the faculty level, women are 35% of life sciences researchers and 15% in physical sciences, computer science, engineering, and mathematics.

It would be tempting to congratulate ourselves and to say that, even if women haven’t completely achieved equitable representation in STEM fields, we have at least implemented a key part of the solution: encouraging and supporting young women entering STEM programs.

However, a closer look indicates that there is still work to be done.

For example, Statistics Canada reports that in comparison to men with STEM degrees, women with STEM degrees are more likely to be unemployed or employed in fields which do not require a degree. 2011 US data shows that in the non-academic workforce only 26 % of STEM workers were women. Yet we know that overall women make up around 48% of the workforce.

More significantly there is still an alarming absence of women at the leadership level, both in academic research and in industry.

Statistics from 2013-2014 show that women hold only 15% of full professorships in science overall, and only 8% of full professorships in engineering, as compared to 31% in humanities.

Also, only 3.3 % of the top 25 NSERC grantees (as measured by grant size) involve women.

The story is similar outside academia. Huge tech companies Facebook, LinkedIn and Google show promising diversity statistics – typically around 35% of their workforce is women, but women represent only 15-17% of their technical employees and only 20-25% of senior staff.

Until we understand and act to counter the historical and cultural forces that keep women from STEM leadership, we’ve only solved part of the problem.

In the 21st century and beyond, the challenges that face Canada and the world are not simple, and new kinds of thinking will be required to take them on.  Recognizing this, education systems across Canada are evolving to focus on creativity, innovation, communication, collaboration, problem solving and critical thinking.

Whether addressing climate change, new diseases, management of an information economy or feeding a growing population, we need to think differently.  Leaders who think outside of the historically informed archetype can bring fresh perspectives to solve complex, interconnected problems.

Over 20 years of research tells us that gender diversity is key to this kind of innovation.  Studies by the Conference Board of Canada and Corporate Governance link gender diversity not just to employee satisfaction, but also to improved governance, innovation, and economic benefits for corporations. A study published in The Harvard Business Review illustrated that collective intelligence rises in a group with more women, and studies in the Journal of Business Ethics found that the presence of at least 30% women on a board decreases “groupthink”, while women directors improve a firm’s ability to navigate complex strategic issues.

What we can learn from these studies is that a lack of women in STEM leadership isn’t just a problem for ambitious women – it’s a limiting factor in the ability of Canada’s researchers and corporations to thrive and grow. In other words, STEM needs female leaders.

Although newer institutions and businesses are typically more diverse it is possible for older institutions to change. With solid corporate policies and practices around diversity, the Royal Bank of Canada, the University of British Columbia and many other large institutions have been making huge diversity strides so it can be done.

Women working in STEM identify many barriers to their success.

Some of these are in the form of infrastructure and systems that hold them back.

Some are related to organizational or workplace culture.

Some are related to attitudes about women’s abilities in these fields.

Over time, strong women and their supporters, bolstered by public policy and law, have chipped away significantly at the most obvious of these barriers, to the point that the remaining roadblocks are subtle and sometimes hard to articulate. Breaking down these final barriers requires us to change how we think and requires a level of self-reflection.

Compared to 30 years ago, societal attitudes about who can and should participate in STEM have changed enormously.  It’s well established that there is no innate connection between gender and mathematical or scientific ability. Human rights legislation makes discriminatory hiring practices illegal.

However, most people are not aware of implicit biases which cause them to make small assumptions without realizing it. This is a critical barrier to women advancing in STEM, since even the best-intentioned teachers, guidance counselors, professors and hiring managers have implicit biases. To illustrate the effects of implicit bias on women’s advancement to leadership positions, a study presented a CV to several science professors and asked them to evaluate the candidate for a lab manager position. The male candidate was offered 12% higher salary, more mentorship and was rated more competent and hireable than the female candidate – even though the only difference in their CVs was the name at the top.

Regular and repeated use of instruments like the Harvard Implicit Bias Test can help educators, managers and HR professionals become aware of and combat biases. Being aware is the first step.

The importance of role models in encouraging women as they enter non-traditional fields is widely recognized and is the raison d’être of many successful programs like SCWIST’s Make Possible, and ms infinity programs, as well as Let’s Talk Science, Scientists and Innovators in the Schools, and many more.

However, when women in STEM are recognized and celebrated in the media, the stories often reflect inherent societal stereotypes. Media critical tests like the Bechdel test for movies can help identify the gender biases that we are so used to seeing. An analogous test, the Finkbeiner test, serves to call out representations of women in STEM fields that define their successes in the context of their gender. To pass this test, articles about a woman in STEM must not mention (among other criteria) the fact that she’s a woman, her husband’s job, her child care arrangements or how she’s the “first woman to…” These items may seem normal –even laudable – to include in a story about a successful women in STEM, but we have to ask ourselves: would we say these things about a man in the same field. While we need to see more women in STEM represented in the media it’s essential to be mindful of HOW they are portrayed.

As you can see, the representation of women in STEM is still lacking at the leadership level.  This needs to change, because more diverse models of leadership are what Canada needs to meet 21st century challenges.  Many of the roadblocks to women’s success in STEM have been removed, and some of the barriers that remain are subtle like implicit bias and media representation.  To move forward, we need to continue to support the best practices that have advanced women in STEM thus far, and we also need to address the remaining barriers.

First, we cannot stop supporting the initiatives that have worked well so far.  This includes support and advocacy networks like SCWIST, DAWEG, WWEST, the NSERC Chairs for Women in Science and Engineering.  It includes mentorship programs for girls and young women like SCWIST’s ms infinity, and our double-X networking evening. It also includes skill-building opportunities like SCWIST’s Immigrating Women in Science, Ladies Learning Code, and science and tech camps for girls.

Second, we must invest in systems to help HR professionals and educators understand and counteract their biases. This will help ensure that unconscious systemic biases against women in STEM will not continue as barriers.

Workshops for professionals and academics, supported by the sharing of best practices for combating biases could change the landscape greatly. Promising initiatives in this area include the WinSETT workshop series, Make Possible’s HR Inclusion Workshop, and the HR toolkit on diversity being developed by Digital Nova Scotia

Third, we must recognize and celebrate organizations that are models of diversity  and tell the story of how they have benefited. For example, we know that the Fortune 500 companies with the most women on their boards of directors far outperform the companies with the fewest. Motivating change in well established institutions and corporations will be easier when the business case for diversity is widely understood.

Finally, we must work to build, connect and integrate the existing networks of mentorship and peer support for women in STEM. We need to encourage initiatives that bring like-minded organizations together for common goals. For example, Make Possible worked with WWEST to review and publish key findings about women in STEM.  Creating Connections is a conference in Metro Vancouver where university and college STEM students meet with organizations that support women in STEM to “bring together people of all genders … to discuss issues of personal and professional development, networking, and inspiration.”

Women in STEM and their allies have a lot of work still to do, to provide Canada with the STEM leadership necessary for the 21st century and beyond. The advances we’ve made thus far justify optimism and further support as we take on the next set of challenges.

http://news.ubc.ca/2015/02/20/ubc-engineering-enrols-record-number-of-women-in-2014/

http://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/Women-Femmes/index_eng.asp

http://www.scienceadvice.ca/uploads/eng/assessments%20and%20publications%20and%20news%20releases/women_university_research/wur_fullreporten.pdf.pdf

http://www.caut.ca/docs/default-source/almanac/almanac_2013-2014_print_finalE20A5E5CA0EA6529968D1CAF.pdf?sfvrsn=2

 http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75-006-x/2013001/article/11874-eng.htm

http://www.census.gov/prod/2013pubs/acs-24.pdf

http://www.bced.gov.bc.ca/irp/transforming_curriculum.php

http://www.conferenceboard.ca/e-library/abstract.aspx?did=374

http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/1467-8683.00011/abstract;jsessionid=AAE4E88C363D087A8C830F3AF5D9AC0B.f02t03?deniedAccessCustomisedMessage=&userIsAuthenticated=false

https://hbr.org/2011/06/defend-your-research-what-makes-a-team-smarter-more-women/ar/1

http://www.aabri.com/manuscripts/131516.pdf

http://www.rbc.com/diversity/pdf/rbc-diversity-blueprint.pdf

http://www.canadastop100.com/diversity/

Moss-Racusin, C. et al. (2012). Science faculty’s subtle gender biases favor male students. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 109(41), 16474-16479.

https://implicit.harvard.edu/implicit/

http://www.kcl.ac.uk/ioppn/news/previous-events-and-podcasts/Paper-Same-Gender-Role-Models-Lockwood.pdf

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bechdel_test

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Finkbeiner_test

http://www.digitalnovascotia.com

http://www.canadastop100.com/diversity/

http://www.catalyst.org/knowledge/bottom-line-corporate-performance-and-womens-representation-boards-20042008