SCWIST لتقديمه إلى اللجنة الدائمة حول وضع المرأة في أوتاوا في 18 نوفمبر 2014

صباح الخير أيها الأعضاء المحترمون. اسمي فاريبا باتشيل ، أنا مهندسة والرئيسة الحالية لجمعية النساء الكنديات في العلوم والتكنولوجيا SCWIST. على مدار الثلاثين عامًا الماضية ، كان SCWIST يدعم ويمكّن النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، "STEM". نحن نعلم أنه بالنسبة للنساء ، هناك حاجة للتغييرات. كما يقول المثل الصيني القديم ، "المرأة ترفع نصف السماء".

تم توثيق قضايا عدم المساواة وأسبابها بشكل جيد في المقالات التالية: تقرير 2010 "لماذا قلة" الذي يحدد العوائق المنهجية التي تعترض النساء في مكان العمل العلمي ؛ فرقة عمل المرأة في كولومبيا البريطانية في الهندسة وعلوم الأرض بشأن استمرار عدم المساواة بين الجنسين في مهن الهندسة وعلوم الأرض ؛ هارفارد بيزنس ريفيو لشهر سبتمبر 2013 ، حول المرأة بشكل عام: "نهوض المرأة: الحواجز غير المرئية". …وغيرها الكثير.

هذه تصف - ما يجب علينا تغييره.

هناك أيضًا دراسات تشير إلى أن حل هذه المشكلات قد يكون أمرًا جيدًا ، وليس مجرد تمرين عملي. أظهرت دراسة DELL أن الشركات التي تضم عددًا أكبر من النساء في مجالس إدارتها تتفوق على الشركات الأقل عددًا بنسبة تصل إلى 66٪ ؛ ينص "المنظور العالمي" لشركة Deloitte على أن التنوع هو قضية تجارية ؛ وجد سبنسر ستيوارت أن التنوع في غرفة الاجتماعات "يؤدي إلى زيادة القيمة للمساهمين".

 يصعب تجاهل الحقائق: التنوع ، وخاصة التنوع بين الجنسين ، له أهمية اقتصادية قصوى.

 وبالتالي ، لم يعد وجود النساء على متن السفينة "مجرد قضية إنصاف" ، بل ثبت أنه منطقي من الناحية الاقتصادية. ... ولا يمكنك أن تنسى أن النساء هن نصف ناخبيك - وهن أمهاتك وأخواتك وبناتك.

 هذا هو سبب التغيير.

 ترغب النساء في المساهمة في الاقتصاد ، وهن متعلمات جيدًا وقادرات بشكل بارز ، وهناك الكثير منهن على استعداد - لكن قلة منهن قد خرقن الحواجز العملية والثقافية التي تحول دون تحقيق إمكاناتهن. هذه ليست قضية أقلية - فالمرأة ليست أقلية - إنها قضية تاريخية وثقافية.

 لا تتحدث النساء بصوت موحد - فهن متنوعات مثل كندا نفسها - لذا - كيف نتغير؟

 الخطوة الأولى المعتادة هي تحديد المشكلة. لقد كنا نفعل هذا على مدار الثلاثين عامًا الماضية - لذا لن أسرد كل الأشياء التي لا تعمل من أجل النساء - جميعكم تعلمون هذه. بدلاً من ذلك ، سأزودك ببعض الحلول أو عناصر العمل أو على الأقل أفكارًا للتفكير فيها - على عدد من المستويات: الحكومية ، والشركات ، والمجتمع ، والشخصي.

 أولاً خطوات العمل على المستوى الحكومي:

- نحن بحاجة إلى فريق عمل لفحص جميع مشاريع القوانين والسياسات لتحديد تأثيرها على النساء الكنديات ؛ [شكرًا لك ، الرايت أونورابل كيم كامبل!] ؛ وواحد يأخذ في الاعتبار الحلول وبنود العمل للمنتدى الاقتصادي في كولومبيا البريطانية - النساء كمحفزات للنمو.

- نحن بحاجة إلى زيادة التمويل للعلوم والبحث العلمي وتعليم العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات - لأنه في الاقتصاد القائم على المعرفة ، يكون هذا هو مصدر الأفكار المستقبلية والموظفين الحاليين المدربين تدريباً عالياً ؛

- نحن بحاجة إلى دعم لتعليم محدد للمهاجرين الجدد لتحويل تحيزاتهم الثقافية وتاريخهم المستورد ، لترسيخ القيم الكندية ؛

- نحن بحاجة إلى سياسة عامة ، كما هو الحال في أوروبا ، موجهة إلى الشركات من أجل "الامتثال أو شرح" التوزيع الجنساني لمجالسها و "C-Suites" - ويجب علينا إنشاء الجوائز والمكافآت ذات الصلة ؛

- نحتاج إلى اجتماعات مائدة مستديرة ترعاها الحكومة مع قادة رجال في الصناعة والأوساط الأكاديمية ، ومشاركة الذكور السائدة لإعطاء الأولوية لاستراتيجيات محددة للتنفيذ ؛

- نحتاج إلى سياسات لتنظيم وسائل الإعلام ، وخاصة الإعلان ، فيما يتعلق بتقديمها للمرأة ككائن: في مواجهة هجوم وسائل الإعلام الأمريكية ، حققنا محتوى كنديًا وثنائي اللغة - يمكننا تحقيق احترام وسائل الإعلام ودعمها للتنوع . هنا أيضًا ، هناك حاجة إلى "الامتثال أو التوضيح" ؛

- وأخيرًا ، نحتاج حقًا إلى معالجة قضية رعاية الأطفال على مستوى السياسة العامة - لتسهيل مشاركة العائلات في تحسين الاقتصاد.

 في المستوى الثاني ، مستوى الشركة:

- يجب أن يكون هناك "امتثال أو شرح" - هذه المرة للمساهمين - إذا لم تكن سياسات مكان العمل والأجنحة التنفيذية متنوعة بما فيه الكفاية.

- يجب أن يُطلب من المشاركين في عملية التوظيف العمل من خلال اختبارات هارفارد للانحياز الضمني - لتحديد تحيزاتهم والتخفيف منها ؛

- نحن بحاجة إلى سياسات وممارسات توظيف جديدة بحيث يتم اختيار المتقدمين بناءً على المهارات ، من تطبيقات محايدة التنوع ؛

- تحتاج الشركات إلى التعاون مع النقابات لدعم الموظفين من خلال توفير المرونة ؛ ومن خلال توفير الرعاية النهارية ؛

- هناك حاجة إلى جناح C يسكنه نساء بشكل جيد لتقديم نماذج يحتذى بها للنساء الأخريات اللائي يصعدن سلم الشركات ؛

- تحتاج الشركات إلى تخطيط الخلافة و رعاية نشطة النساء التي من شأنها تعزيز التنوع ؛

- تحتاج الشركات إلى خلق مناخ عمل لا يوظف النساء فحسب ، بل يحتفظ بهن من خلال سياسات واضحة في مكان العمل تشمل الإدماج والزمالة ، ومرونة العمل ، والرعاية النشطة ، والوصول إلى النماذج والموجهين.

 في المستوى الثالث ، المجتمع المحلي ، لدينا عناصر العمل التالية:

- نحن بحاجة إلى برامج تنشئ شبكات ، وتوفر نماذج يحتذى بها وفرص إرشاد مثل برنامج "MakePossible" الخاص بـ SCWIST. هذا برنامج عبر الإنترنت للتوجيه القائم على المهارات للنساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، وهو ممول من خلال وضع المرأة ، كندا (شكرًا لك !!!) ؛ [نحن فخورون بهذا البرنامج وندعو كل واحد منكم للمشاركة!]

- يجب علينا إنشاء مجموعة متنوعة من برامج العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) التي تدعم تعليم الأطفال وفهمهم لمكان العمل المتنوع والمواضيع التي تضمن مستقبلهم.

 في المستوى الشخصي النهائي هناك حاجة إلى:

- التصالح مع تحيزات الفرد - مرة أخرى ، أوصي باختبار التحيز الضمني في جامعة هارفارد - لأن المعرفة هي الخطوة الأولى المفاجئة ...

- نحن بحاجة إلى تمحيص القيم الشخصية والسياقات الثقافية في المنزل التي تمنع التقدم ؛ مراجعة كيفية تكوين الفتيات اجتماعياً وكيف تضع التوقعات الثقافية قيوداً عليهن وعلى مستقبلهن ؛

تعرف النساء ذلك ، وتعالج منظمة "مركز المرأة الكندية" هذا بعدة طرق - لكننا نجد أنفسنا "نعظ الجوقة". في اللحظة التي تهرب فيها كلمة "نساء" من شفاه شخص ما ، أو تظهر في عنوان أو مناقشة - قام زملاؤنا الذكور بضبط النفس. هل ضبطت؟ لم تكن هذه رسالة إلى النساء في الغرفة. كانت هذه القائمة للرجال. نحن بحاجة إلى "عدد قليل من الرجال الطيبين" - الذين لديهم أذكياء للتعرف على شيء جيد عندما يرونه - يتصرفون وفقًا للحتمية الاقتصادية وبالتالي خلق الفرص لجميع الكنديين - لأننا ننجح معًا.

SCWIST to present to the Standing Committee on the Status of Women in Ottawa on Nov 18, 2014

Good morning, Honourable Members. My name is Fariba Pacheleh, I am an engineer and the current president of the Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology, SCWIST. For the past 30 years, SCWIST has been supporting and empowering women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, “the STEM” fields. We know that for women, changes are needed. As the old Chinese proverb says, “women hold up half the sky”.

The issues of inequity and the reasons for them are well documented in the following articles: The 2010 “Why so Few” report that identifies systemic barriers to women in the scientific workplace; the the BC Women in Engineering and Geoscience Task Force on the continuing gender inequity in the engineering and geoscience professions; the Harvard Business Review of September 2013, on women in general: “Women Rising: The Unseen Barriers.” …and many others.

These describe – WHAT we should change.

There are also studies that suggest that solving these problems may be a good thing, not just a make-work exercise. The DELL study showed that companies with more women on the board of directors outperform those with the fewest by up to 66 %; Deloitte’s “Global Perspective”, states that diversity is a business issue; Spencer Stuart found that diversity in the boardroom “results in increased value for shareholders.”

 The facts are difficult to ignore: diversity, especially gender diversity, is of paramount economic importance.

 Thus it is no longer “just an equity issue” to have women aboard, it is proven to make good economic sense. … and you can’t forget, women are half of your electorate – and they are your mothers, sisters, daughters.

 That is WHY we should change.

 Women want to contribute to the economy, are well-educated and eminently capable, and there are many of them, poised – yet few have breached the practical and cultural barriers that prevent reaching their potential. This is not a minority issue   – women are not a minority – it is a historical, cultural issue.

 Women do not speak with a uniform voice – they are as diverse as Canada itself – so – HOW do we change?

 The usual first step is to identify the problem. We have been doing this for the past 30 years – so I will not list all the things that are not working for women – you all know these. Instead, I will provide you with some solutions, action items or at least ideas to ponder – at a number of levels: the governmental, the corporate, the community, and the personal.

 First are the action steps at the government level:

–       We need a task force to scrutinize all bills and policies to determine their impact on women Canadians; [Thank you, Right Honourable Kim Campbell!]; and one that takes into consideration the solutions and action items of the BC Economic Forum – Women as Catalysts for Growth.

–       We need increased funding for science and scientific research and STEM education – because in a knowledge-based economy, that is the source of future ideas and current highly trained personnel;

–       We need support for specific education of new immigrants to transform their imported cultural biases and histories, to cement Canadian values;

–       We need public policy, as in Europe, that is directed at companies to “comply or explain” the gender distribution of their Boards and “C-Suites” – and we should create relevant awards and pillories;

–       We need government-sponsored round-table events with men leaders of industry and academia, and predominant male participation to prioritize specific strategies for implementation;

–       We need policies to regulate the media, and especially advertising, with respect to their presentation of women as objects: in the face of the US media onslaught, we have achieved Canadian and bilingual content – we can achieve the media’s respect and support of diversity. Here too, there is a need for “comply or explain”;

–       And finally we really need to address the issue of childcare at the public policy level – to facilitate families’ participation in the improving economy.

 At the second, corporation level:

–       There needs to be “comply or explain” –this time to shareholders- if the workplace policies and C-suites are not sufficiently diverse.

–       Those involved in the hiring process, should be required to work through the Harvard Implicit Bias Tests – to identify their biases and mitigate them;

–       We need new hiring policies and practices so that applicants are selected based on skills, from diversity-neutral applications;

–       Corporations need to collaborate with unions to support employees by providing flexibility; and by providing daycare;

–       There is a need for a C-suite well populated by women to provide role-models for other women climbing the corporate ladder;

–       Corporations need succession planning and active sponsorship of women that will enhance diversity;

–       Corporations need to create a work climate that not only hires women, but retains them through clear workplace policies of inclusion and collegiality, work flexibility, active sponsorship and access to role-models and mentors.

 At the third, community, grassroots level we have the following action items:

–       We need programs that create networks, provide role-models and mentorship opportunities such as SCWIST’s MakePossible. This is an online program of skill-based mentoring for women in STEM, funded through Status of Women, Canada (Thank you!!!); [We are proud of this program and invite each of you to participate!]

–       We must create a wide variety of STEM programming that supports children’s education and understanding of a diverse workplace and the subjects that ensure their future.

 At the final, personal level there is a need for:

–       coming to terms with one’s own biases – again, I recommend the Harvard Implicit Bias Test  – because knowing is the surprising first step …

–       we need to scrutinize the personal values and cultural contexts in the home, that prevent progress; review how girls are socialized and how cultural expectations place limitations on them and their futures;

Women know this, Status of Women Canada is tackling this in many ways – but we find ourselves “preaching to the choir”. The moment the word “women” escapes someone’s lips, or appears in a title or discussion – our male colleagues tune out. Did you tune out? This was not a message to the women in the room. This list was for the men. We need “a few good men” – who have the smarts to recognize a good thing when they see it – act upon the economic imperative and thereby create opportunities for all Canadians – because we prosper together.