SCWIST将于18年2014月XNUMX日向渥太华妇女地位常务委员会致辞

各位早上好。 我叫Fariba Pacheleh,我是SCWIST的工程师,现为加拿大女性科学技术协会主席。 在过去的30年中,SCWIST一直在“ STEM”领域为科学,技术,工程和数学领域的妇女提供支持和赋权。 我们知道,对于妇女来说,需要改变。 正如中国古老的谚语所说:“妇女举起半边天”。

不平等问题及其原因在以下文章中得到了充分证明:2010年的“为什么如此少”报告确定了科学工作场所对妇女的系统性障碍; 卑诗省工程与地球科学女性工作组就工程与地球科学专业中持续存在的性别不平等问题进行了研究; 2013年XNUMX月的《哈佛商业评论》,主题是女性:“女性崛起:看不见的障碍”。 …还有许多其他

这些描述了–我们应该改变的地方。

也有研究表明,解决这些问题可能是一件好事,而不仅仅是做功。 DELL的研究表明,董事会中女性人数较多的公司要比女性人数最少的公司跑赢66%; 德勤的“全球视野”指出,多样性是一个商业问题。 斯宾塞·斯图尔特(Spencer Stuart)发现,董事会的多元化“为股东带来了更高的价值”。

 事实不容忽视:多样性,特别是性别多样性,在经济上至关重要。

 因此,拥有妇女不再是“公平问题”,事实证明,这样做具有良好的经济意义。 ……而且您不能忘记,女性是您选民的一半,而她们是您的母亲,姐妹,女儿。

 那就是为什么我们应该改变。

 妇女希望为经济做出贡献,受过良好教育,能力很强,其中许多人蓄势待发,但很少有人突破妨碍她们发挥潜力的实际和文化障碍。 这不是少数群体的问题-妇女不是少数群体-这是历史的文化问题。

 妇女讲话的声音并不统一-它们与加拿大本身一样多元-因此-我们如何改变?

 通常的第一步是确定问题。 在过去的30年中,我们一直在这样做-因此,我不会列出所有对女性不利的事情-大家都知道。 相反,我将为您提供一些解决方案,行动项目或至少可以考虑的想法-在多个级别:政府,公司,社区和个人。

 首先是政府一级的行动步骤:

–我们需要一个工作队来审查所有法案和政策,以确定其对加拿大女性的影响; [谢谢你,金·坎贝尔议员!]; 其中一项考虑了卑诗省经济论坛的解决方案和行动项目–妇女作为促进增长的催化剂。

–我们需要增加用于科学研究和STEM教育的资金–因为在知识型经济中,这是未来构想和现有训练有素的人员的源泉;

–我们需要支持新移民的特殊教育,以改变他们的进口文化偏见和历史,巩固加拿大的价值观;

–我们需要像欧洲一样的公共政策,针对公司“遵守或解释”其董事会和“ C-Suite”的性别分布,并且我们应设立相关的奖励和奖牌;

–我们需要政府赞助的与工业界和学术界的男性领导人举行的圆桌会议,并需要男性的主要参与来确定具体的实施战略;

–我们需要相关政策来规范媒体,尤其是广告,以妇女作为对象的表现形式:面对美国媒体的猛烈攻击,我们已经实现了加拿大和双语的内容–我们可以实现媒体对多样性的尊重和支持。 这里也需要“遵守或解释”;

–最后,我们真的需要在公共政策层面解决托儿问题–促进家庭参与不断发展的经济。

 第二,公司层面:

–如果工作场所政策和高级管理人员之间的差异不够大,这一次需要向股东“遵守或解释”。

–应要求那些参与招聘过程的人员通过哈佛内隐偏见测试-找出偏见并减轻偏见;

–我们需要新的招聘政策和做法,以便根据与多样性无关的应用程序中的技能来选择申请人;

–公司需要与工会合作,通过提供灵活性来支持员工; 并提供日托服务;

–需要由女性组成的高级职员套房,为其他登上公司阶梯的女性提供榜样;

–公司需要继任计划和 积极赞助 将会增加多样性的妇女;

–公司需要营造一种工作氛围,不仅要雇用女性,还要通过明确的工作场所包容和合规政策,工作灵活性,积极的赞助以及与榜样和导师的接触来挽留妇女。

 第三,社区基层,我们有以下行动项目:

–我们需要创建网络,提供榜样和指导机会的计划,例如SCWIST的MakePossible。 这是一项在线课程,旨在为STEM中的女性提供基于技能的指导,该课程由加拿大妇女地位局资助(谢谢!!!); [我们为这个计划感到骄傲,并邀请你们每个人参加!]

–我们必须创建各种各样的STEM程序,以支持儿童的教育和对多样化工作场所以及确保他们未来发展的主题的理解。

 在个人的最后一级,需要:

–应对自己的偏见–再一次,我推荐哈佛内隐偏见测验–因为知道是令人惊讶的第一步……

–我们需要仔细检查家庭中的个人价值观和文化背景,以防止进步; 审查女孩如何被社会化以及文化期望如何对女孩及其未来施加限制;

妇女知道这一点,加拿大妇女地位局正在以多种方式解决这一问题-但我们发现自己“很重视合唱团”。 当“妇女”一词逃脱某人的嘴,或者出现在标题或讨论中时,我们的男同事便会跳出来。 你调出来了吗? 这不是给房间里妇女的信息。 这个名单是给男人的。 我们需要“一些善良的人”,他们有聪明才智,当他们看到善良的事物时,就会根据经济需要采取行动,从而为所有加拿大人创造机会,因为我们共同繁荣。

SCWIST to present to the Standing Committee on the Status of Women in Ottawa on Nov 18, 2014

Good morning, Honourable Members. My name is Fariba Pacheleh, I am an engineer and the current president of the Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology, SCWIST. For the past 30 years, SCWIST has been supporting and empowering women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, “the STEM” fields. We know that for women, changes are needed. As the old Chinese proverb says, “women hold up half the sky”.

The issues of inequity and the reasons for them are well documented in the following articles: The 2010 “Why so Few” report that identifies systemic barriers to women in the scientific workplace; the the BC Women in Engineering and Geoscience Task Force on the continuing gender inequity in the engineering and geoscience professions; the Harvard Business Review of September 2013, on women in general: “Women Rising: The Unseen Barriers.” …and many others.

These describe – WHAT we should change.

There are also studies that suggest that solving these problems may be a good thing, not just a make-work exercise. The DELL study showed that companies with more women on the board of directors outperform those with the fewest by up to 66 %; Deloitte’s “Global Perspective”, states that diversity is a business issue; Spencer Stuart found that diversity in the boardroom “results in increased value for shareholders.”

 The facts are difficult to ignore: diversity, especially gender diversity, is of paramount economic importance.

 Thus it is no longer “just an equity issue” to have women aboard, it is proven to make good economic sense. … and you can’t forget, women are half of your electorate – and they are your mothers, sisters, daughters.

 That is WHY we should change.

 Women want to contribute to the economy, are well-educated and eminently capable, and there are many of them, poised – yet few have breached the practical and cultural barriers that prevent reaching their potential. This is not a minority issue   – women are not a minority – it is a historical, cultural issue.

 Women do not speak with a uniform voice – they are as diverse as Canada itself – so – HOW do we change?

 The usual first step is to identify the problem. We have been doing this for the past 30 years – so I will not list all the things that are not working for women – you all know these. Instead, I will provide you with some solutions, action items or at least ideas to ponder – at a number of levels: the governmental, the corporate, the community, and the personal.

 First are the action steps at the government level:

–       We need a task force to scrutinize all bills and policies to determine their impact on women Canadians; [Thank you, Right Honourable Kim Campbell!]; and one that takes into consideration the solutions and action items of the BC Economic Forum – Women as Catalysts for Growth.

–       We need increased funding for science and scientific research and STEM education – because in a knowledge-based economy, that is the source of future ideas and current highly trained personnel;

–       We need support for specific education of new immigrants to transform their imported cultural biases and histories, to cement Canadian values;

–       We need public policy, as in Europe, that is directed at companies to “comply or explain” the gender distribution of their Boards and “C-Suites” – and we should create relevant awards and pillories;

–       We need government-sponsored round-table events with men leaders of industry and academia, and predominant male participation to prioritize specific strategies for implementation;

–       We need policies to regulate the media, and especially advertising, with respect to their presentation of women as objects: in the face of the US media onslaught, we have achieved Canadian and bilingual content – we can achieve the media’s respect and support of diversity. Here too, there is a need for “comply or explain”;

–       And finally we really need to address the issue of childcare at the public policy level – to facilitate families’ participation in the improving economy.

 At the second, corporation level:

–       There needs to be “comply or explain” –this time to shareholders- if the workplace policies and C-suites are not sufficiently diverse.

–       Those involved in the hiring process, should be required to work through the Harvard Implicit Bias Tests – to identify their biases and mitigate them;

–       We need new hiring policies and practices so that applicants are selected based on skills, from diversity-neutral applications;

–       Corporations need to collaborate with unions to support employees by providing flexibility; and by providing daycare;

–       There is a need for a C-suite well populated by women to provide role-models for other women climbing the corporate ladder;

–       Corporations need succession planning and active sponsorship of women that will enhance diversity;

–       Corporations need to create a work climate that not only hires women, but retains them through clear workplace policies of inclusion and collegiality, work flexibility, active sponsorship and access to role-models and mentors.

 At the third, community, grassroots level we have the following action items:

–       We need programs that create networks, provide role-models and mentorship opportunities such as SCWIST’s MakePossible. This is an online program of skill-based mentoring for women in STEM, funded through Status of Women, Canada (Thank you!!!); [We are proud of this program and invite each of you to participate!]

–       We must create a wide variety of STEM programming that supports children’s education and understanding of a diverse workplace and the subjects that ensure their future.

 At the final, personal level there is a need for:

–       coming to terms with one’s own biases – again, I recommend the Harvard Implicit Bias Test  – because knowing is the surprising first step …

–       we need to scrutinize the personal values and cultural contexts in the home, that prevent progress; review how girls are socialized and how cultural expectations place limitations on them and their futures;

Women know this, Status of Women Canada is tackling this in many ways – but we find ourselves “preaching to the choir”. The moment the word “women” escapes someone’s lips, or appears in a title or discussion – our male colleagues tune out. Did you tune out? This was not a message to the women in the room. This list was for the men. We need “a few good men” – who have the smarts to recognize a good thing when they see it – act upon the economic imperative and thereby create opportunities for all Canadians – because we prosper together.