妇女地位委员会声明

自2014年以来,SCWIST第三次应邀在下议院妇女地位常务委员会讲话。 这次的研究是关于加拿大妇女的经济安全的.

我们的“让一切成为可能”的总监Danniele Livengood在电视会议上通过 16年XNUMX月,3017. SCWIST的演讲重点在于我们可以采取哪些措施来增加女性在传统上以男性为主的领域和领导职位中的参与度。 我们试图解决委员会研究的以下内容:
d)查明影响妇女收入的问题,包括性别工资差距,职业隔离,无法进入关键增长部门;
e)确定可能的工具,以加强妇女的经济安全,包括政府计划并支持育儿假和育儿;
f)研究增加妇女在领导和高薪职位(包括在私营和公共部门,公司董事会,男性主导的职业以及科学,技术,工程和数学中)的进入,参与,保留和代表性的方法;

以下是提交委员会的评论:

 谢谢主席女士。 我叫Danniele Livengood,我代表加拿大科学技术妇女协会(SCWIST)。 我们很荣幸被邀请对您有关妇女经济安全和平等参与加拿大经济的研究发表评论。 在35年以上在科学,技术,工程和数学(或STEM)方面为妇女提供支持的基础上,SCWIST将寻求解决《会议常规》第108部分第2部分中提出的研究项目d,e和f。

多年来,通过为妇女提供技能培训,使她们在高薪和领导职位上发挥作用,为解决她们的技能问题做出了很多努力; 但是,技能不再是使妇女脱离这些职位的主要问题。 获得这些职位是主要问题。 妇女被排除在可以为她们提供平等的经济安全措施的职位上,而在STEM领域,这主要是由于性别歧视她们。 如果拒绝进入,增强妇女的个人权能,教育或技能不会增加妇女的存在。

要解决妇女在关键增长部门和领导职位上缺乏代表性的问题,就需要改变体制,而不是改变妇女。

我们还想认识到,许多加拿大妇女由于其身份方面而面临其他经济挑战,例如:种族,种族,宗教,能力,性别认同,性取向,移民身份和年龄。 我们希望在建议针对妇女的扶持政策时,这些其他方面将受到我们整体文化改善的积极影响。

获得这些关键职位的机会受到加拿大文化的影响。 这种文化在政府,公司,社区和个人层面都得到维护。 我们就如何在以下各个层面影响文化提出了建议:

首先是政府级别:

我们建议对所有经济和社会政策进行无党派,基于性别的分析,包括增加进行这些分析的资金投入。 确保仔细检查所有政策对妇女的短期和长期影响,将防止现有政策阻碍新的努力。

根据英国,德国和荷兰实施的“遵守或解释”政策,我们应该期望加拿大的公司达到一定的薪酬公平性和领导力多元化标准。 政府这样做的一种方法是修改采购政策,要求组织遵守确保妇女充分参与的标准。

我们建议联邦资助计划奖励合作而不是竞争,并让他们的申请者对团队的多样性及其提议对女性的影响负责。

这适用于媒体项目,有助于塑造加拿大的文化规范。 这适用于创业或小型企业的资金,因为事实证明,尽管女性投资较安全,但对男性的投资却明显少于男性。

当然,这也适用于研究经费,因为女性比男性参与竞争性申请程序的可能性更低,而优胜者与失败者的竞争文化仅秉持一种观念,即与许多不同观点的协作相比,奇异的思想更有价值。 。

我们需要制定政策来规范媒体,尤其是广告方面的女性形象。 加拿大以两种官方语言开发了广泛的高质量加拿大内容; 我们可以并且应该要求加拿大媒体尊重和支持多样性。 媒体是构建我们的文化以及个人偏见的重要组成部分,如果我们想要一个未来,让更多的女性在高薪和男性主导的行业中担任领导者,我们需要向加拿大人证明这是正常的。

我们需要一项有关托儿和产假的联邦政策,以确保妇女充分参与经济。 这将有助于留住妇女,减缓年轻工人的离职,并节省新员工和再培训的总体费用。 为妇女提供抚养所需的支持,以使她们在养育家庭的同时还能留在劳动力大军中,这将使她们有机会竞争领导职位并保持薪资水平,而不必承担高昂的托儿费用。

接下来,我们建议企业采取以下措施:

与政府层面一样,我们建议公众消费者和股东采取“遵守或解释”的方式,以使公司对拥有多样化的领导团队负责。

为了遵守此类标准,公司将需要解决其雇用,保留和晋升的做法,以确保这些系统中没有偏见。

盲目的雇用,家庭友好型政策,处理骚扰实例的支持性政策以及有意的多样化继任计划,这些都将支持妇女充分参与工作。

第三,我们向社区推荐以下内容:

我们需要支持和扩展创建网络,提供榜样并确保男性主导行业中的女性获得指导机会的计划。 SCWIST的MakePossible.ca是一个基于技能的在线在线指导平台,是Status of Women Canada有意投资的结果,该投资进一步支持女性从事STEM职业。 当我们要求政府和企业层面探索影响文化的新方法时,我们必须保持基层工作,这已经使我们走到了这一步。

我们建议社区积极参与关于不支持包容性文化的行为实例的公开且持续的对话。 继续进行对话将使社区成员可以共享这些斗争,并就如何最好地解决系统性偏见进行协作。

最后,在个人层面:

我们需要以自己的偏见来达成协议。 每个人都有。 我们建议您使用哈佛隐式偏见测试-因为有时了解是令人惊讶的第一步。

在每个级别,我们都需要建立一种文化,使妇女有机会担任这些重要职务。 如果我们允许他们访问,它们将不再被视为“问题”,而是解决加拿大和全球许多问题所需的创新的关键。

感谢。

 

要查看原始字母,请点击 此处.

Statement to Status of Women Committee

For the third time since 2014, SCWIST was invited to address the House of Commons Standing Committee on the Status of Women. This time the study was on the Economic Security of Women in Canada.

Our Director of Make Possible, Danniele Livengood, addressed the committee via teleconference on May 16, 3017. SCWIST’s address focused on what we can do to increase the participation of women in traditionally male-dominated fields and leadership positions. We sought to address the following components of the committee’s study:
d)    identify the problems affecting women’s income, including gender pay gap, occupational segregation, lack of access to key growth sectors;
e)    identify possible tools to strengthen women’s economic security including government programs and support parental leave and child care;
f)    examine ways to increase women’s entry, participation, retention and representation in leadership and high paying positions, including in private and public sectors, in corporate boards, in male-dominated occupations and in science, technology, engineering and mathematics;

Below are the comments delivered to the committee:

 Thank you, Madam Chair. My name is Danniele Livengood and I am representing the Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology, also known as SCWIST. We are honoured to be called upon to comment on your study about women’s economic security and equal participation in the Canadian economy. Based on over 35 years of supporting women in science, technology, engineering and math (or STEM), SCWIST will seek to address items d, e & f of the study proposed in Standing Order 108 part 2.

Over the years, much effort has been put toward addressing the skillsets of women by providing them with training to make them effective in high paying and leadership positions; however, skills are no longer the primary issue keeping women out of these positions. Access to these positions is the main issue. Women are excluded from positions that could provide them an equal measure of economic security, and in STEM fields this is largely due to gender biases against them. No amount of women’s personal empowerment, education, or skill will increase women’s presence if access is denied.

Addressing women’s lack of representation in key growth sectors and leadership positions requires changing the systems, not the women.

We would also like to recognize that many Canadian women face additional economic challenges due to aspects of their identity, such as: race, ethnicity, religion, abilities, gender identity, sexual orientation, immigration status, and age. We hope that in recommending supportive policies for women, that these other facets will be positively influenced by the improvement in our culture overall.

Access to these key positions is influenced by Canadian culture. This culture is upheld at the government level, the corporate level, the community level, as well as the individual level. We have made recommendations for how to influence culture at these various levels:

First is the level of government:

We recommend the implementation of non-partisan, gender-based analysis of all economic and social policies, including increased funding commitments to conduct these analyses. Ensuring that all policies are scrutinized for their short and long term impact on women will prevent existing policies from hindering new efforts.

Based on the “comply or explain” policies enacted in the UK, Germany, and the Netherlands, we should expect that companies in Canada meet certain pay equity and leadership diversity standards. One way for the government to do so is to amend procurement policies to require that organizations are compliant with standards which ensure the full participation of women.

We recommend that federal funding programs reward collaboration rather than competition as well as hold their applicants accountable for the diversity of their team and the impact their proposals will have on women.

This applies for media projects, which help shape the cultural norms in Canada. This applies for entrepreneurial or small business funding as women have been shown to receive significantly less investment for small businesses than men, despite being a more secure investment.

And of course, this also applies to research funding as women are less likely to participate in competitive application processes than men are, and the competitive culture of winners versus losers only upholds the perception that singular minds are more valued than the collaboration of many diverse perspectives.

We need policies to regulate the media, and especially advertising, with respect to their representations of women. Canada has developed extensive, high-quality Canadian content in both official languages; we can and should require that Canadian media respect and support diversity. Media is an essential piece of what builds our culture and thus our personal biases, if we want a future where more women are leaders in high paying and male-dominated industries, we need to show Canadians that it’s normal.

We need a federal policy on child care and family leave to ensure the full participation of women in the economy. This will help retain women, slow the departure of young workers, and save money overall on new hires and retraining. Giving women the support they need to stay in the workforce while raising a family will allow them the opportunity to compete for leadership positions and maintain their salary trajectory, while not being burdened with high child care costs.

Next, the actions we recommend for the corporate level:

Like the government level, we recommend a “comply or explain” approach for public consumers as well as shareholders to keep companies accountable for having diverse leadership teams.

To comply with such standards, corporations will need to address their hiring, retention, and promotion practices to ensure biases are not inherent in these systems.

Blind hiring, family-friendly policies, supportive policies for dealing with instances of harassment, and intentionally diverse succession planning are all things that would support women’s full participation in the workforce.

Third, we recommend the following to the community level:

We need to support and expand programs that create networks, provide role-models and ensure mentorship opportunities for women in male-dominated industries. SCWIST’s MakePossible.ca, an online skill-based mentoring platform, is a result of intentional investment by Status of Women Canada which further supports women to pursue STEM careers. While we ask the government and corporate levels to explore new ways to influence culture, we must keep up the grassroots work that has gotten us this far.

We recommend that communities actively engage in an open and ongoing conversation about instances of behaviour that do not support a culture of inclusion. Keeping a dialogue going will allow community members to share these struggles and collaborate on how best to address systemic biases.

And finally, at the personal level:

We need to come to terms with our own biases. Everyone has them. We recommend the Harvard Implicit Bias Tests – because knowing is sometimes a surprising first step.

At each level, we need build a culture where women are given access to these important positions. If we give them access, they will no longer be seen as the “problem” but rather the key to the innovation required to solve many problems, both Canadian and global.

Thank you.

 

To see the original letter please click here.