心理学中的性别分层问题

通过卡桑德拉·伯德(Kassandra Burd)

当人们想到心理学领域时,他们可能会意识到,主修该学科的大多数学生是女性。 仅假定学术和领导职位都主要由妇女担任是有道理的。 为什么一个由女性占很大比例的领域将由男性主导? 不幸的是,当今学术界的性别等级制紧迫问题是当今心理学的悲惨现实。

作为在英国攻读认知神经心理学硕士学位的研究生,我不禁注意到在进行论文研究时,男女之间在研究引用方面存在差异。 与绝大多数选择从事整体心理学工作的女性不同,认知神经心理学(研究与心理过程有关的大脑结构和功能)的子领域大约为50/50。 如果我的专长是男女之间的平衡,那么为什么我的文献中的研究出版物主要搜索男性作家? 女研究人员在哪里进行研究? 不幸的是,由女性作家领导的心理学研究学术出版物很难获得。 结果,我决定更深入地研究这个问题,并惊讶地发现令人沮丧的统计数据。 例如,在加拿大,NSERC的数据发现,在每个职业阶段,尤其是在研究生和博士后研究之间的过渡时期,女性认知科学家的比例逐渐下降(Titone,Piv和Pexman,2018年)。 在英国,从事STEM领域的人员中只有13%是女性(Rigby,2015年)。 在STEM领域和领导职位上女性的不幸发现并不仅仅适用于加拿大和英国:在全球范围内,担任任何作者职位(唯一,第一或最后一位作者)的女性的研究论文被引用的人数大大少于拥有以下职位的男性的论文:这些作者职位(Larivière等,2013)。

心理学中的性别等级问题是一个严重的问题,需要格外注意。 在我的发现中,我偶然发现了一篇文章,证实与女性相比,心理学系的绝大多数是男性。 美国的一项研究发现,只有34%的女性担任教职,而男性只有56%; 这些数字在包括加拿大在内的其他国家被认为是相似的(Vaid&Geraci,2016年)。 此外,在认知心理学领域,只有不到15%的女性获得了终身职业成就奖(Vaid&Geraci,2016年)。 显然,该领域的女性没有获得与男性相同的机会,这最终减少了女性的努力,并使她们在学术界不那么显眼。

此外,妇女缺乏领导能力和知名度正在导致其信心下降。 最近的一项研究发现,女性不太可能分享自己的想法,而更有可能因为做得好的工作而忽略赞美,而无视自己的能力(Gerdeman,2019)。 由于性别差异(特别是在女性占主导地位的领域,应该明智地雇用更多女性担任权力职位),很容易看出为什么女性可能会对自己的能力和技能产生怀疑。 由于恐吓和卑鄙的感觉,在STEM中缺乏女性的知名度可能会阻止她们从事该领域的职业。 顺便提一句,需要指出的是,在STEM中缺乏女性领导能力的原因不仅仅是由于女性没有申请这些更高的职位,而是很多时候,由于存在``相似性''问题而没有雇用女性担任领导职位(Agarwal,2018年) )。 例如,

由于女性通常被认为是更“关怀”,“培育”的类型,因此许多人认为拥有这些特征的女性不适合领导。 但是,如果女性具有更多以男性为导向的特征,那么她就会被认为过于激进,表现出不必要的“卑鄙”。 为什么这些特征被认为有利于当权者而不是女人? 在这种情况下,妇女总是处于失败的一面。

此外,在担任STEM老师的女性中,超过50%的女性受到男同事的身体和性骚扰,这迫使她们中的许多人辞职(Novotney,2019)。 实际上,在STEM中必须处理的骚扰是军方以外任何部门中最严重的(Johnson,Widnall,Benya,2018)。 有色女人和性少数女人甚至更有可能受到骚扰,这突显了学术界仍然存在种族主义/性别歧视/同性恋恐惧症的文化。 去年,神经科学家BethAnn McLaughlin在Twitter上启动了标签``MeTooSTEM'',这使STEM妇女可以分享他们的骚扰经历(Corbyn,2019年)。 在高等教育中往往不认真对待女学生和教职员工这一事实令人困惑,这就是为什么我们必须作出巨大的努力来拆除这一制度的原因。

妇女在学术界还面临许多其他问题,例如收入低于男性。 在工资方面,美国心理学会(American Psychological Association)最近报告说,心理学领域的女性仅赚取该领域男性收入的78%(Novotney,2019)。 例如,2015年,麦克马斯特大学发现,在考虑其他因素(例如年龄,任期和资历)后,男女教师的薪水之间存在3,515美元的差距,而女性的薪水差距要大得多(Humphreys,2015)。 为了解决这个问题,大学为女教师提供了3,515美元的加薪。 这是朝着正确方向迈出的积极一步,但更多的学术机构需要解决男女收入之间的差距。

显然,这些问题为妇女在整个心理学和学术界创造了巨大的障碍。 我们可以采取哪些步骤来改善该问题? 首先,至关重要的是,当权者要为妇女代言并充当我们的盟友,而不是阻碍妇女前进的障碍。 其次,重要的是,STEM雇主必须意识到性别差异问题,以便他们能够在雇用更多妇女和制衡其机构内部任何歧视性做法方面取得长足进步。 一个例子可以包括制定性别多样性目标,其中工作场所应积极跟踪其雇用做法,并鼓励更多的妇女应聘。 实际上,事实证明,采用性别均衡管理的组织可以产生更好的绩效成果(科学与技术委员会,2014年)。

尽管我们对当今社会中STEM妇女面临的众多问题越来越了解,但在学术界对妇女的待遇以及担任领导职务方面的平等方面,我们仍然远未达到平等。 现在是时候让我们想起妇女在各种STEM领域可以而且将会取得的巨大成就,并确保她们的声音被听到,她们的成就可见。

The Gender Hierarchy Problem in Psychology

by Kassandra Burd

When people think of the field of Psychology, they may be aware that the majority of students who major in this discipline are female; it would only make sense to assume that both academic and leadership positions would primarily be occupied by women. Why would a field that is significantly made up of women be dominated by men? Unfortunately, the pressing issue of gender hierarchy in academia is the sad reality of Psychology today.

As a graduate student pursuing my Master’s degree in Cognitive Neuropsychology in the UK, I couldn’t help but notice the disparity in research citations between men and women while conducting research for my thesis. Unlike the overwhelming majority of women who choose to pursue a career in Psychology as a whole, the subfield of Cognitive Neuropsychology (the study of structure and function of the brain associated with psychological processes) is roughly 50/50 male and female. If my specialization is comprised of a balance of men and women, why are the research publications in my literature searches predominantly male authors? Where are the studies conducted by women researchers? Unfortunately, academic publications in psychological studies led by female authors were hard to come by. As a result, I decided to delve deeper into the issue and was surprised to find discouraging statistics. For instance, in Canada, data from the NSERC has found a progressive decline in the proportion of female cognitive scientists at each career stage, particularly at the transition between graduate and postdoctoral studies (Titone, Piv, & Pexman, 2018). In the UK, only 13% employed in STEM fields are women (Rigby, 2015). Unfortunate findings for women in STEM fields and leadership positions are not just true for Canada and the UK: Globally, research papers by women in any authorship position (sole, first, or last authorship) are cited substantially less than men who hold any one of these authorship positions (Larivière et al., 2013).

The gender hierarchy problem in Psychology is a serious issue that requires extra attention. In my findings, I stumbled upon an article confirming an overwhelming majority of Psychology male faculty compared to women. A study in the U.S. has found that only 34% of women occupy faculty positions compared to 56% of men; these figures are presumed to be similar in other nations, including Canada (Vaid & Geraci, 2016). Moreover, less than 15% of women in Cognitive Psychology are recipients of lifetime career achievements awards (Vaid & Geraci, 2016). It is evident that women in the field are not procuring the same opportunities as the men, which ultimately diminishes women’s efforts, and renders them less visible in the academic community.

In addition, lack of leadership and visibility for women is contributing to a decrease in their confidence. A recent study discovered that women are less likely to share their ideas, and more likely to dismiss praise for a job well done, and disregard their own capabilities (Gerdeman, 2019). Due to the gender disparity–especially in a field that is predominately female and should sensibly hire more women in positions of power–it is easy to see why women might doubt their own competence and skills. Lack of visibility of women in STEM may play a role in deterring them from pursuing careers in this area due to intimidation and feelings of unworthiness. Incidentally, it is important to note that lack of women leadership in STEM is not simply due to women not applying for these higher positions, but rather, often times, women are not hired for leadership positions due to “likeability” problems (Agarwal, 2018). For instance,

since women are often perceived as the more “caring,” “nurturing” type, many believe that women possessing these traits are not fit to lead. However, if women possess more male-oriented traits, she is perceived as being overly aggressive and displaying unnecessary “bitchiness.” Why are these traits perceived as favorable for a man in power, but not a woman? In these circumstances, women are always on the losing side.

Furthermore, over 50% of women who do work as STEM faculty have been physically and sexually harassed by their male colleagues, which forces many of them to step down (Novotney, 2019). In fact, the harassment women have to deal with in STEM is the worst of any sector outside of the military (Johnson, Widnall, Benya, 2018). Women of color and sexual minority women are even more likely to be harassed, which underscores a still racist/sexist/ homophobic culture in academia. Last year, Neuroscientist, BethAnn McLaughlin started the hashtag “MeTooSTEM” on Twitter, which allowed STEM women to share their experiences with harassment (Corbyn, 2019). The fact that female students and faculty alike are often not taken seriously in higher education is baffling, which is why we must put forth considerable effort to dismantle the system.

Women face a myriad of other problems in academia, such as earning lower pay than men. In terms of wages, the American Psychological Association recently reported that women in Psychology make only 78% of what men in the field earn (Novotney, 2019). For example, in 2015, McMaster University found a $3,515 gap between male and female faculty salaries, with women making significantly less, even after taking into account other factors such as age, tenure, and seniority (Humphreys, 2015). To rectify the problem, the university granted its female faculty a raise of $3,515. While it’s a positive step in the right direction, more academic institutions need to address the disparity between women and men’s earnings.

It is clear that these issues create interminable obstacles for women in Psychology and academia in its entirety. What are some steps we can take to ameliorate the problem? First, it is critical that men in positions of power speak up for women and serve as our allies, rather than as hurdles that prevent women from advancing in their careers. Second, it is important that STEM employers are aware of the gender disparity problem so that they can make strides in hiring more women and counteracting any discriminatory practices transpiring within their institutions. An example could include making gender diversity objectives, where workplaces actively keep track of their hiring practices and encourage more women to apply. In fact, organizations with gender-balanced management are shown to yield stronger performance outcomes (Science & Technology Committee, 2014).

While we are becoming more educated about the myriad of issues STEM women face in today’s society, we are still far from attaining equality when it comes to the treatment of women in academia, as well as equality in the fulfillment of leadership positions. It is time to remind ourselves of the incredible contributions that women can, and will, achieve in various STEM fields, and to make sure that their voices are being heard, and their accomplishments made visible.