林静:入围“加拿大移民25强奖”

SCWIST自豪地宣布,青年成员委员会成员兼青年拓展总监Vienna Chichi Lam被选为加拿大前75名移民之一。 她现在是加拿大移民25强奖的决赛入围者,该奖项因她的社区服务,领导才能和学术成就而获得提名。

小林的游牧生活方式极大地影响了她今天的这个人。 她在香港一个贫穷的地区长大,在慷慨的邻居的热情款待下住了温暖。 随着时间和距离的推移,她的家人使她从青年时期的工业水道到不列颠哥伦比亚省美丽的海岸线都倍受鼓舞。 作为一个从他人的善良中受益匪浅的移民,她一直将自己的工作视为回报的机会。 在西蒙弗雷泽大学法医学研究中心和犯罪学学院的研究中,她与当地新移民社区开展了有关水安全的工作,以减少溺水的风险。 在野外,她对骨头分解进行了染色体研究,并使用遥感技术帮助死亡调查员寻找失踪和被谋杀的人。

三级理事会机构是加拿大开展的许多研究的监督和资金来源。 在2018年,该机构以她的学科在加拿大排名第8位(约瑟夫·阿曼·庞巴迪加拿大研究生奖学金),使她获得了顶级博士学位之一。 这些奖项将有助于她继续从事预防溺水和恢复水生生物的工作。

她的其他学术成就包括获得SFU的Provost杰出奖,两次获得SFU副总统研究奖,并且在2016年和2018年均赢得了加拿大法医学会的教育奖。作为研究人员,法医科学基金会和CRC出版社将她评为本年度“学生旅行奖”和“图书奖”的得分最高者。 通过排名第一,Lam可以在国际论坛上分享她的研究成果。 

在业余时间,Lam代表科学技术妇女协会(SCWIST)担任Infinity女士导师(角色模型和研讨会负责人),在公共图书馆和学校中分享她对人体解剖学的热爱。 她在不列颠哥伦比亚省旅行时,曾帮助为服务欠缺的社区组织和举办研讨会,以帮助人们更容易地接受科学教育。 作为SCWIST的青年参与总监,她还帮助获得了助学金,以确保其指导计划的长期性,以及SCWIST为明天的年轻领导人提供奖学金的能力。

今天就投票支持维也纳!*

*2021-03-10更新:请注意,投票现已关闭。

Vienna Lam: finalist, Top 25 Canadian Immigrant Award

SCWIST is proud to announce that Vienna Chichi Lam, Board Member and Director for Youth Outreach, has been chosen as one of the Top 75 Canadian Immigrants. She is now a finalist for the Top 25 Canadian Immigrant Award, nominated for her community service, leadership and academic accomplishments.

Let’s support Vienna by voting for her at: https://canadianimmigrant.ca/canadas-top-25-immigrants/vote

Vienna Lam’s nomadic lifestyle as a child has greatly impacted the person she is today. Growing up in an impoverished district of Hong Kong, she took warmth and shelter under the hospitality of generous neighbours. With time and distance, her family spirited her from away from the industrial waterways of her youth to the beautiful shorelines of British Columbia. As an immigrant who has benefited greatly from the kindness of others, she has always viewed her work as an opportunity to reciprocate. In her research at Simon Fraser University’s Centre for Forensic Research and School of Criminology, she engages with local newcomer communities about water safety to reduce the risk of drowning. Out in the field, she conducts taphonomic studies on bone decomposition and use of remote sensing technology to help death investigators in their search for the missing and murdered.

The Tri-Council Agencies serve as the oversight and funding source for much of the research that takes place in Canada. In 2018, the agency ranked Lam 8th in the nation for her discipline (Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarship), allowing her to secure one of the top Ph.D. awards that would help her continue her work on drowning prevention and aquatic body recovery.

Her other academic highlights include receiving the Provost Prize of Distinction from SFU, being a two-time winner of SFU’s Vice-President Research Award, and has won the Canadian Society for Forensic Science Education Award in both 2016 and 2018. Because of her early gains as a researcher, the Forensic Sciences Foundation and CRC Press named her the top-scoring recipient of this year’s Student Travel Award and Book Prize. By taking first place, Lam was able to share her research on an international forum. 

In her spare time, Lam shares her love of human anatomy at public libraries and schools as a Ms. Infinity mentor (role model and workshop leader) on behalf of the Society of Women in Science and Technology (SCWIST). Travelling across British Columbia, she has helped organize and run workshops for underserved communities to help make science education more accessible. It is also as a Director of Youth Engagement for SCWIST that she has helped secure grants to ensure the longevity of their mentorship programming, and SCWIST’s ability to provide scholarships to the young leaders of tomorrow.