مجموعات ورش العمل - فبراير 2017

كتب بواسطة؛ جيني ماكوين ، مديرة التواصل

 

نستمد إلهامنا باستمرار من الشابات في كولومبيا البريطانية اللائي بدأن نوادي العلوم ويبدأن المؤتمرات. نريد تعزيز هذه القيادة وبالتالي أطلقنا برنامجًا جديدًا لإرسال مجموعات ورش العمل العلمية إلى نوادي العلوم والمؤتمرات العلمية في جميع أنحاء كندا. تم اختبار مجموعة ورشة العمل الافتتاحية الخاصة بنا في ديسمبر الماضي من قبل نادي علمي في مدرسة فرانك هيرت الثانوية في ساري. بيكا ليم ، طيار الاختبار الشجاع لدينا ، أدار ورشة عمل حول العملية العلمية. كانت Becca أحد المشاركين في ورشة العمل هذه عندما أقيمت في Science Expo في نوفمبر.

 

في ورشة العمل هذه ، يُطلب من المشاركين معرفة الأعمال الداخلية لأنبوب "whatchamacallit". يمكن للمشاركين استكشافها بالطريقة التي يرغبون فيها دون فتحها. في نهاية ورشة العمل ، يتم طرح السؤال ، "هل هذا مثل العلم؟". سأدع بيكا يشرح ما حدث.

 

عندما سُئلوا عن العملية التي اتبعوها في ذلك اليوم مقارنة بالعملية التي تم تدريسها في المدرسة ، اتفق الكثيرون على أنهم اتبعوا نفس النمط العام ، لكن هذا النشاط لم يكن رسميًا ، وكان أكثر واقعية لما يشبه التفكير العلمي اليومي. على سبيل المثال ، توصلوا إلى فرضية من خلال العبث بالأنابيب ، وبمجرد قيامهم ببناء تصميمهم ، يمكنهم تحديد ما إذا كانت فرضيتهم مدعومة أم لا - لكنهم لم يتحركوا بوعي من خلال عملية خطوة بخطوة أو الكتابة حتى تقرير معمل.

 

ما لاحظته هو التشابه بين تصميماتهم والتصاميم التي ابتكرها الطلاب في معرض العلوم. كلما بدا أن أفكار الأشخاص تتفق مع أفكار الآخرين ، كلما اقتربنا من الحل الفعلي ".

 

ما أحبه في ملاحظات بيكا هو أنها حددت بدقة جزأين من العلوم غالبًا ما يتم تجاهلهما في فصول العلوم بالمدارس الثانوية. عادة ما يتم تطوير الفرضيات بعد قليل من اللعب ، وإجراء الملاحظات واكتساب المعرفة. لا يمنح الوصول إلى فصل العلوم بفرضية محددة مسبقًا للطلاب فرصة لطرح سؤال للاختبار. يمكن أن يكون ذلك جزءًا ممتعًا وشخصيًا للغاية في ممارسة العلوم. الملاحظة الثانية كانت أنه من خلال تبادل الأفكار اقتربوا من إجابة أفضل تسلط الضوء على جزء أساسي من العملية العلمية. إن ثقافة مشاركة المعلومات من خلال المؤتمرات والاجتماعات والملصقات والمنشورات وحتى تناول القهوة أمر بالغ الأهمية للقيام بالعلوم الجيدة.

 

كما قدمت لنا Becca بعض الملاحظات الرائعة التي ستساعدنا في جعل ورش العمل هذه أسهل وأكثر جاذبية. إذا كنت مهتمًا بإرسال مجموعة ورشة عمل إلينا ، يرجى الاتصال [البريد الإلكتروني محمي].

مجموعات ورشة العملالصورة 1

Workshop Kits – February 2017

Written by; Jenny McQueen, director outreach

 

We are continuously inspired by the young women in BC who are starting science clubs and initiating conferences. We want to foster this leadership and have thus launched a new program to send science workshop kits to science clubs and science conferences throughout Canada. Our inaugural workshop kit was tested this past December by a science club at Frank Hurt Secondary School in Surrey. Becca Lim, our brave test pilot, ran a workshop on the scientific process. Becca had been a participant in this workshop when it was run at Science Expo in November.

 

In this workshop, participants are asked to figure out the inner workings of a “whatchamacallit” tube. Participants can explore it any way they would like without opening it. At the end of the workshop the question is posed, “is this like doing science?”. I will let Becca explain what happened.

 

“When asked about the process they followed that day compared to the process taught in school, many agreed that they followed the same general pattern, but this activity was not as formal, and was more realistic to what everyday scientific thinking is like.  For example, they came up with a hypothesis by tinkering with the tubes, and once they built their design, they could decide if their hypothesis was supported or not – but they weren’t consciously moving through a step-by-step process or writing up a lab report.

 

Something I noticed was the similarity between their designs and the designs students created at Science Expo.  The more people’s ideas seem to agree with other’s ideas, the closer to the actual solution I think we come.”

 

What I like about Becca’s observations is that she has pinpointed two parts of science that are often overlooked in high school science classes. Hypotheses are usually developed after a bit of playing around, making observations and acquiring knowledge. Arriving in a science class with a carefully pre-selected hypothesis doesn’t give students a chance to come up with a question to test. Which can be an exhilarating and deeply personal part of doing science. The second observation made was that by sharing ideas they got closer to a better answer which highlights an essential part of the scientific process. The culture of sharing information through conferences, meetings, posters, publications and even over coffee is critical to doing good science.

 

Becca also gave us some great feedback that will help us make these workshops easier and more engaging. If you are interested in us sending you a workshop kit please contact msinfinity@scwist.ca.

workshopkitsphoto-1