研讨会套件– 2017年XNUMX月

撰写者; 詹妮·麦昆(Jenny McQueen),外展总监

 

我们一直受到不列颠哥伦比亚省年轻妇女的启发,这些妇女正在创办科学俱乐部并发起会议。 我们希望培养这种领导能力,因此启动了一项新计划,向加拿大各地的科学俱乐部和科学会议发送科学研讨会工具包。 我们的首个研讨会工具包于去年XNUMX月由萨里弗兰克赫特中学的科学俱乐部进行了测试。 我们勇敢的测试飞行员Becca Lim举办了关于科学过程的研讨会。 Becca于XNUMX月在Science Expo举办时曾是该研讨会的参与者。

 

在这个工作坊中,要求参与者弄清楚“ whatchamacallit”管的内部工作原理。 参与者无需打开即可以任何方式对其进行探索。 在研讨会结束时,提出了一个问题,“这就像在做科学吗?”。 我将让贝卡解释发生了什么。

 

“当被问及与学校所讲授的过程相比,那天遵循的过程时,许多人都同意他们遵循相同的一般模式,但是这项活动并不那么正式,并且对日常科学思维的感受更为现实。 例如,他们通过修补试管提出了一个假设,一旦他们建立了设计,他们就可以决定是否支持其假设-但他们没有有意识地逐步进行或编写出一份实验室报告。

 

我注意到的是他们的设计与学生在Science Expo上创作的设计之间的相似之处。 人们的想法似乎与他人的想法越一致,我认为我们就越接近实际的解决方案。”

 

我喜欢Becca的观察结果的是,她确定了科学的两个部分,而这两个部分在高中科学课中经常被忽略。 假设通常是经过一些玩耍,观察和获取知识后形成的。 通过精心选择的假设参加科学课,不会给学生提供提出要测试的问题的机会。 这可能是科学研究中令人振奋且深具个人魅力的部分。 第二个观察结果是,通过分享想法,他们可以更接近更好的答案,这突出了科学过程的重要组成部分。 通过会议,会议,海报,出版物甚至咖啡共享信息的文化对于做好科学至关重要。

 

Becca还向我们提供了一些很好的反馈,这些反馈将帮助我们使这些研讨会更轻松,更具吸引力。 如果您对我们感兴趣,请向您发送研讨会工具包,请联系 [电子邮件保护].

Workshopkitsphoto-1

Workshop Kits – February 2017

Written by; Jenny McQueen, director outreach

 

We are continuously inspired by the young women in BC who are starting science clubs and initiating conferences. We want to foster this leadership and have thus launched a new program to send science workshop kits to science clubs and science conferences throughout Canada. Our inaugural workshop kit was tested this past December by a science club at Frank Hurt Secondary School in Surrey. Becca Lim, our brave test pilot, ran a workshop on the scientific process. Becca had been a participant in this workshop when it was run at Science Expo in November.

 

In this workshop, participants are asked to figure out the inner workings of a “whatchamacallit” tube. Participants can explore it any way they would like without opening it. At the end of the workshop the question is posed, “is this like doing science?”. I will let Becca explain what happened.

 

“When asked about the process they followed that day compared to the process taught in school, many agreed that they followed the same general pattern, but this activity was not as formal, and was more realistic to what everyday scientific thinking is like.  For example, they came up with a hypothesis by tinkering with the tubes, and once they built their design, they could decide if their hypothesis was supported or not – but they weren’t consciously moving through a step-by-step process or writing up a lab report.

 

Something I noticed was the similarity between their designs and the designs students created at Science Expo.  The more people’s ideas seem to agree with other’s ideas, the closer to the actual solution I think we come.”

 

What I like about Becca’s observations is that she has pinpointed two parts of science that are often overlooked in high school science classes. Hypotheses are usually developed after a bit of playing around, making observations and acquiring knowledge. Arriving in a science class with a carefully pre-selected hypothesis doesn’t give students a chance to come up with a question to test. Which can be an exhilarating and deeply personal part of doing science. The second observation made was that by sharing ideas they got closer to a better answer which highlights an essential part of the scientific process. The culture of sharing information through conferences, meetings, posters, publications and even over coffee is critical to doing good science.

 

Becca also gave us some great feedback that will help us make these workshops easier and more engaging. If you are interested in us sending you a workshop kit please contact msinfinity@scwist.ca.

workshopkitsphoto-1