24-25 أكتوبر: تحقيق النجاح في اتحاد STEM (ESS)


تشرفت SCWIST بحضور الدورة السنوية الثالثة
ESS ندوة (تحقيق النجاح في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات) في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية هذا الأسبوع الماضي. جمعت الندوة الجامعات والجمعيات المهنية ومؤسسات تعليم العلوم ووكلاء التغيير غير الربحيين ووكلاء الهندسة والبحث لتعزيز دمج الفتيات والنساء ونجاحهن في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

ESS هي شراكة بحثية تعاونية تضم علماء الاجتماع وخبراء العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات وأصحاب المصلحة في صناعات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات والتعليم. باستخدام نهج قائم على الأدلة لكسر التحيزات التي تواجهها الفتيات والنساء في مساراتهن إلى النجاح ، أنشأت الشراكة أربعة مشاريع: المشروع تسلق (الطفولة: تغيير تعلم التحيزات الضمنية في الرياضيات) ، مشروع PRISM (المراهقة: تعزيز الإدماج المتزايد وتحفيز العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات) ، مشروع سينك (الجامعة: تشكيل ثقافات الشبكة الشاملة) ، ومشروع ترتفع (مهنة مبكرة: تحقيق بيئات آمنة للهوية).

باعتبارها واحدة من ESS وكلاء التغيير ، SCWIST تشارك في المشروع ترتفع. مشروع ترتفع يهدف إلى إحداث تغيير ثقافي إيجابي للنساء والرجال في العلوم والهندسة من خلال:

  1.     تثقيف المشاركين حول التحيز الضمني ،
  2.     تعزيز التفاعلات الداعمة والمحترمة بين الرجال والنساء في المنظمة ، و
  3.     تزويدهم بفهم واضح لكيفية مكافحة التحيز.

 إن عمق وجودة البحث الذي يتم إجراؤه ، وكذلك البرامج التي يتم تطويرها لدعم هذه الأهداف ، أمر لا يصدق. تسلط البرامج الضوء على إمكانات المرأة غير المستغلة ، وتزود النساء باستراتيجيات للتعامل مع تهديد الهوية الاجتماعية ، وتمكين الرجال ليصبحوا حلفاء فعالين من أجل المساواة. SCWIST فخورة للغاية بالشراكة والتعاون مع مثل هذا البرنامج بعيد المدى والتفكير المستقبلي. اقرأ المزيد عن ESS هنا.

Oct 24-25:  Engendering Success in STEM (ESS) Consortium


SCWIST was honoured to attend the third annual
ESS (Engendering Success in STEM) Symposium at UBC this past week. The symposium brought together universities, professional associations, science education institutions, non-profit change agents, and engineering and research agents to foster girls’ and women’s inclusion and success in STEM.

ESS is a collaborative research partnership that includes social scientists, STEM experts, and stakeholders in STEM industries and education. Using an evidence-based approach to break down the biases girls and women face on their pathways to success, the partnership has created four projects: Project CLIMB (Childhood: Changing the Learning of Implicit Math Biases), Project PRISM (Adolescence: Promoting Rising Inclusion and STEM Motivation), Project SINC (University: Shaping Inclusive Network Cultures), and Project RISE (Early Career: Realising Identity Safe Environments).

As one of the ESS change agents, SCWIST is involved with Project RISE.  Project RISE aims to create positive cultural change for women and men in science and engineering by:

  1.     Educating participants about implicit bias,
  2.     Fostering supportive and respectful interactions between men and women in the organization, and
  3.     Providing them with a clear understanding of how to combat bias.

 The depth and quality of the research being done, as well as the programs being developed to support these aims, are incredible. The programs highlight women’s untapped potential, equip women with strategies for coping with social identity threat, and empower men to become effective allies for equality. SCWIST is extremely proud to partner and collaborate with such a far-reaching and forward-thinking program. Read more about ESS here.