24月25日至XNUMX日:在STEM(ESS)联盟中取得成功


SCWIST很荣幸参加第三届年度
ESS 上周在UBC举行的(STEM成功实现)研讨会。 专题讨论会汇集了大学,专业协会,科学教育机构,非营利性变革代理人以及工程和研究代理人,以促进女孩和妇女在STEM中的包容和成功。

ESS 是一个合作研究伙伴关系,包括社会科学家,STEM专家以及STEM行业和教育领域的利益相关者。 伙伴关系采用基于证据的方法来消除男女在成功道路上所面临的偏见,建立了四个项目: (儿童期:改变内隐数学偏向的学习),项目 PRISM (青春期:促进不断上升的包容性和STEM动机),项目 SINC (大学:塑造包容性网络文化)和项目 RISE (早期职业:实现身份安全环境)。

为一体的 ESS 更改代理,SCWIST参与了该项目 RISE。 项目 RISE 旨在通过以下方式为科学和工程领域的男女创造积极的文化变革:

  1.     教育参与者有关内隐偏见的知识,
  2.     促进组织中男女之间的支持性和尊重性互动,以及
  3.     使他们清楚地了解如何消除偏见。

 正在进行的研究的深度和质量以及为支持这些目标而开发的程序令人难以置信。 这些方案突出了妇女尚未开发的潜力,为妇女提供了应对社会身份威胁的战略,并授权男子成为有效的平等盟友。 SCWIST非常荣幸能与这样一个具有深远意义和前瞻性的计划合作并进行合作。 进一步了解 ESS在这里.

Oct 24-25:  Engendering Success in STEM (ESS) Consortium


SCWIST was honoured to attend the third annual
ESS (Engendering Success in STEM) Symposium at UBC this past week. The symposium brought together universities, professional associations, science education institutions, non-profit change agents, and engineering and research agents to foster girls’ and women’s inclusion and success in STEM.

ESS is a collaborative research partnership that includes social scientists, STEM experts, and stakeholders in STEM industries and education. Using an evidence-based approach to break down the biases girls and women face on their pathways to success, the partnership has created four projects: Project CLIMB (Childhood: Changing the Learning of Implicit Math Biases), Project PRISM (Adolescence: Promoting Rising Inclusion and STEM Motivation), Project SINC (University: Shaping Inclusive Network Cultures), and Project RISE (Early Career: Realising Identity Safe Environments).

As one of the ESS change agents, SCWIST is involved with Project RISE.  Project RISE aims to create positive cultural change for women and men in science and engineering by:

  1.     Educating participants about implicit bias,
  2.     Fostering supportive and respectful interactions between men and women in the organization, and
  3.     Providing them with a clear understanding of how to combat bias.

 The depth and quality of the research being done, as well as the programs being developed to support these aims, are incredible. The programs highlight women’s untapped potential, equip women with strategies for coping with social identity threat, and empower men to become effective allies for equality. SCWIST is extremely proud to partner and collaborate with such a far-reaching and forward-thinking program. Read more about ESS here.